Misc New 3ds XL top black screen

grubgrub

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2015
Messages
271
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
912
Country
New Zealand
Hey, need some help with my new 3ds xls.
I have one from 2015 and was working great.
Also bought a brand new majoras mask new 3ds xl for decent price.

Thought it was a great idea to do a motherboard swap to save the hassel of learning how to hack the 3ds again and install all my stuff and mods.
Watched a video tutorial as i went along.
All seemed well until i booted one of the consoles, and noticed that the top screen stays black even though the backlight is on.
Checked the cables like 10 times and ensured that there is no tear on the ribbon cables.
So though to put toghether my older new 3ds xl and the same issue!
Now both consoles have a top screen that does not display anything.
I though it i may have damaged one console cables somehow but to happen on both consoles, now im not so sure.

If anyone had a similar issue and solution on how they fixed it will be much appreciated.
Been trying to sort this out for like 10 hours.
Probably would be better to get a minimum wage job and just buy another one with the amount of time in trying to fix both of them :'(


UPDATE:
Solved issue: See below for my response
TLDR version: had the cable in the wrong way.
 
Last edited by grubgrub,

KleinesSinchen

GBAtemp's Backup Reminder + Fearless Testing Sina
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 28, 2018
Messages
2,714
Trophies
2
XP
6,401
Country
Germany
Provide photos of the connectors/cables.

*sigh*
Thought it was a great idea to do a mothermoard swap to save the hassel of learning how to hack the 3ds again and install all my stuff and mods.
Installing custom firmware on a 3DS is extremely easy, almost fool-proof. The risk to damage something when following The Guide is more or less zero.
Messing with 3DS hardware on the other side isn't as easy. Connectors and cables can be damaged easily.
 

CoolMe

...
Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2019
Messages
1,135
Trophies
1
Age
26
XP
1,823
Country
United States
Thought it was a great idea to do a mothermoard swap to save the hassel of learning how to hack the 3ds again and install all my stuff and mods.
How is doing that easier than installing CFW on your newly bought 3DS? When you swapped the mb, did it require you to untangle/detach the upper screen's ribbon cable?
 

grubgrub

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2015
Messages
271
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
912
Country
New Zealand
Provide photos of the connectors/cables.

*sigh*

Installing custom firmware on a 3DS is extremely easy, almost fool-proof. The risk to damage something when following The Guide is more or less zero.
Messing with 3DS hardware on the other side isn't as easy. Connectors and cables can be damaged easily.


Here are photos o the first 3ds xl

17.jpeg
3.jpeg
2.jpeg
4.jpeg
6.jpeg
1.jpeg
7.jpeg
9.jpeg
18.jpeg
20.jpeg
12.jpeg
21.jpeg
22.jpeg
23.jpeg
 
Last edited by grubgrub,

grubgrub

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2015
Messages
271
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
912
Country
New Zealand
How is doing that easier than installing CFW on your newly bought 3DS? When you swapped the mb, did it require you to untangle/detach the upper screen's ribbon cable?

Unfortunatly i got over confident from doing many motherboard swaps for the switch recently.
 

grubgrub

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2015
Messages
271
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
912
Country
New Zealand
OK, thank f*** i got 1 console top screen working again.
I had the top screen ribbon cable in the wrong way.
I guess thats what i get for following some randon youtube channnel
I got the correct way from ifixit (https://www.ifixit.com/Teardown/Nintendo+3DS+XL+2015+Teardown/36346)

(I did try it once the right way but the console was not turining on so i though it was the cable, probably was something loose in the console before. )

The only issue is now the unresponsive home button
I'll check the zif connection again, probably loose now that i've opening up the console like 15 times.
Will have to press it down to fix it somehow

Will work on the second console and home button issue tonight

1638484641329.png


1638484578572.png



Is this the Home button zif connector?

1638485146620.png
 
Last edited by grubgrub,
  • Like
Reactions: KleinesSinchen

CoolMe

...
Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2019
Messages
1,135
Trophies
1
Age
26
XP
1,823
Country
United States
Unfortunatly i got over confident from doing many motherboard swaps for the switch recently.
Replacing the upper screen on them is a huge pain and everyone who's opened and worked on them will say the same. Nintendo really didn't want people to change/fix things themselves..
 
  • Like
Reactions: KleinesSinchen

KleinesSinchen

GBAtemp's Backup Reminder + Fearless Testing Sina
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 28, 2018
Messages
2,714
Trophies
2
XP
6,401
Country
Germany
Replacing the upper screen on them is a huge pain and everyone who's opened and worked on them will say the same. Nintendo really didn't want people to change/fix things themselves..
Yes, but this wasn't replacing the upper screen. The screen assembly stays as it is when swapping the motherboard.

@grubgrub
The last of the your detailed pictures above already shows the problem. The bend in the cable goes the opposite direction. Glad you solved the problem!
Thanks for sharing the solution. We have had some cables inserted the wrong way before and your photos will help to show anybody the correct orientation for the upper screen picture/data cable.
 
Last edited by KleinesSinchen,
  • Like
Reactions: CoolMe and grubgrub

grubgrub

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2015
Messages
271
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
912
Country
New Zealand
UPDATE:
Sorted out the 3ds 1: Got everyting working, even the home button is now functioning after i lightly pressed it down with a pin.

Got around to 3ds 2, but when i connected everything up, the 3ds blue light just goes on for a few seconds and i hear a pop from the speakers and it switched off.
Tried to clean the contacts and reassemble it a few times, but no luck.

Saw there was a few threads about other people experiencing the same issue but not really sure what the solution is.
Luckily this is the older new 3ds that i had, and the new majoras mask 3ds is the one working.

I'm happy just to keep or sell for parts/ but if there is a way to fix it that would be awesome.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie: https://youtube.com/shorts/KuAlJOEGaYk?feature=share