New 2DS XL powers off after disassembly/self repair ("popping" off)

Kuramations

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 31, 2021
Messages
72
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
238
Country
United States
A strange situation I've come across.
After disassembling my New 2DS XL and trying to turn it back on, it automatically "pops" off.

The thing is that when it is disassembled, it turns on just fine. (Picture below)
IMG-9561.JPG



But yet, when I click everything back together (the bottom shell and everything), it automatically shuts off with a "pop."


Anything I can do?

Any help is much appreciated, and thank you in advance.
 

Apache Thunder

I have cameras in your head!
Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
4,291
Trophies
2
Age
34
Location
Levelland, Texas
Website
www.mariopc.co.nr
XP
6,059
Country
United States
Reseat the ribbon cables for the LCD screens. They are super sensitive and if they are inserted even a tiny bit crooked, that could cause this issue. I recently got a 2DS XL and popped the back off to check the power button since I noticed it was difficult to turn on/off. But determined that most likely it's just a terrible button design. :P Anyways after putting it back together the 3DS would crash if I tried to use the camera apps. I took the back off and reseated the camera ribbon cable and then it worked fine again. So should work in your case too.

it should power up without the back connected so you could power test the LCD screens before putting it back together. ;)

The missing cameras only cause issue when a game/camera app tries to use them so it should at least power up with the back removed.


Oh and I did have this exact issue with a DS LIte I reshelled in the early 2000s, I thought I broke it but then at some point I pulled it back apart and redid the connections and boom, it was working fine again. So yeah I'm 99% sure you just have to redo the LCD ribbon cable connections.

EDIT: Hmm actually after rereading your post it says it powers on fine when dissembled? Aka when you have the back pulled off and disconnected? Then perhaps if the camera cable isn't seated correctly that too could cause issues. Perhaps tries to power them on but there's a short so it turns off to prevent damage. That's my guess.

In my case the cable caused communication issue with the cameras that caused apps that tried to use them to crash but in my case it didn't cause power up to fail. I guess it just depends on how it was inserted. :P

So yeah try reseating the camera ribbon cable then if your power on issue is related to whether or not the back is connected/put on.

If that didn't fix it then perhaps you might have damaged the cable. Kinda terrible design for them to attach the cameras to the removable back panel. (doesn't help that they hid the battery inside instead of making it user replaceable so if the battery goes back you have to pull the back off and risk damaging that cable just to fix that) You might have to run it with them disconnected and wait for a replacement part to come in from ebay if you determine that the cable is defective.
 
Last edited by Apache Thunder,

Kuramations

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 31, 2021
Messages
72
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
238
Country
United States
Reseat the ribbon cables for the LCD screens. They are super sensitive and if they are inserted even a tiny bit crooked, that could cause this issue. I recently got a 2DS XL and popped the back off to check the power button since I noticed it was difficult to turn on/off. But determined that most likely it's just a terrible button design. :P Anyways after putting it back together the 3DS would crash if I tried to use the camera apps. I took the back off and reseated the camera ribbon cable and then it worked fine again. So should work in your case too.

it should power up without the back connected so you could power test the LCD screens before putting it back together. ;)

The missing cameras only cause issue when a game/camera app tries to use them so it should at least power up with the back removed.


Oh and I did have this exact issue with a DS LIte I reshelled in the early 2000s, I thought I broke it but then at some point I pulled it back apart and redid the connections and boom, it was working fine again. So yeah I'm 99% sure you just have to redo the LCD ribbon cable connections.

EDIT: Hmm actually after rereading your post it says it powers on fine when dissembled? Aka when you have the back pulled off and disconnected? Then perhaps if the camera cable isn't seated correctly that too could cause issues. Perhaps tries to power them on but there's a short so it turns off to prevent damage. That's my guess.

In my case the cable caused communication issue with the cameras that caused apps that tried to use them to crash but in my case it didn't cause power up to fail. I guess it just depends on how it was inserted. :P

So yeah try reseating the camera ribbon cable then if your power on issue is related to whether or not the back is connected/put on.

If that didn't fix it then perhaps you might have damaged the cable. Kinda terrible design for them to attach the cameras to the removable back panel. (doesn't help that they hid the battery inside instead of making it user replaceable so if the battery goes back you have to pull the back off and risk damaging that cable just to fix that) You might have to run it with them disconnected and wait for a replacement part to come in from ebay if you determine that the cable is defective.
I reseated the camera ribbon cable (the top middle one, right?) And it SEEMED to have worked. Then I tried giving it a shake just to make sure if it would work, then it shut off with a pop again.
 

Apache Thunder

I have cameras in your head!
Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
4,291
Trophies
2
Age
34
Location
Levelland, Texas
Website
www.mariopc.co.nr
XP
6,059
Country
United States
Oh if you pulled the PCB out then yeah try the LCD cables then. Reseat the ones you can reach first. If that didn't fix it, looks like you'll have to pull up the main board to reach that one on the underside. Annoying console to work on. :P
 

Vulpes-Vulpeos

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2018
Messages
175
Trophies
0
Age
29
Location
Украина
Website
Vulpes-Vulpeos.deviantart.com
XP
1,673
Country
Ukraine
Oh if you pulled the PCB out then yeah try the LCD cables then. Reseat the ones you can reach first. If that didn't fix it, looks like you'll have to pull up the main board to reach that one on the underside. Annoying console to work on. :P
There is only c-stick connector on the other side.

If he opened black connectors then there are 2 ways to solve this:
1. replace connectors.
2. put some pressure on top of the connector (one near analog stick is top priority). I used a stack of isolation tape glued to the backplate to solve this problem. In case of a tape it's easy to regulate the height of the stack.
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot 2022-01-29 at 09.59.20.png
    Screenshot 2022-01-29 at 09.59.20.png
    878 KB · Views: 27

Kuramations

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 31, 2021
Messages
72
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
238
Country
United States
There is only c-stick connector on the other side.

If he opened black connectors then there are 2 ways to solve this:
1. replace connectors.
2. put some pressure on top of the connector (one near analog stick is top priority). I used a stack of isolation tape glued to the backplate to solve this problem. In case of a tape it's easy to regulate the height of the stack.
Yeah, I figured out the root of my problem here. I’m supposed to apply pressure to this part here or else it won’t turn on
17D95E46-0104-41B5-B87D-E4BF162E59BC.jpeg
 

Kuramations

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 31, 2021
Messages
72
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
238
Country
United States
There is only c-stick connector on the other side.

If he opened black connectors then there are 2 ways to solve this:
1. replace connectors.
2. put some pressure on top of the connector (one near analog stick is top priority). I used a stack of isolation tape glued to the backplate to solve this problem. In case of a tape it's easy to regulate the height of the stack.
Quick question, how high did you make the stack?
 

Vulpes-Vulpeos

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2018
Messages
175
Trophies
0
Age
29
Location
Украина
Website
Vulpes-Vulpeos.deviantart.com
XP
1,673
Country
Ukraine
Quick question, how high did you make the stack?
insolation tape (aka electrical tape) already has glue. Just cut it into identical pieces and stack.
1. create a stack with same height as black part.
2. create a stack which will apply pressure.
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot 2022-01-30 at 08.02.44.png
    Screenshot 2022-01-30 at 08.02.44.png
    451.1 KB · Views: 23
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: So wee on your Wii lol