1. Ace Gunman

    Ace Gunman ~••Lucky҉Shot••~
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2003
    Messages:
    6,385
    Country:
    Canada
  2. gamerdude71

    gamerdude71 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    i am using version 1.6 of visual boy advance
     
  3. Jojjy Ugnick

    Jojjy Ugnick shake your bonbon
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    1,006
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeah but there's no point because I can't use my saves from the Menace (E) release ( http://gbatemp.net/index.php?act=ST&f=16&t=13716 ) with this new one.

    If this can be fixed then I would be happy
     
  4. psxer2600

    psxer2600 Advanced Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    United States
    Is the fact that it is compatible with the Eurasia release intentional, or incidental? Because if it was done intentionally, I can't understand why the author chose to make it compatible with a broken, nuked release, rather than the Menace version. Oh well, the only benefit to using the US rom instead of the European one is that I could shrink it down to 12.8MB (102.4 Megabits) with that extreme rom stripping patch. But that still isn't enough to fit Pogoshell, Fire Emblem, Mario & Luigi, and Advance Wars 2 on the same cart [​IMG]
     
  5. Jojjy Ugnick

    Jojjy Ugnick shake your bonbon
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    1,006
    Country:
    Canada
    I don't know why anyone would even have the Eurasia version.
     
  6. matt1freek

    matt1freek GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    Messages:
    442
    Country:
    United States
    hah.. i do.. ive been playing thru it since it was already save patched and i could care less about that mini game thats thrown into every mario release.. bad dump.. yes.. worthless dump..not in my opinion..
     
  7. Smith

    Smith GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    360
    Country:
    Europe got Mario Kart Double Dash first as well, but only by a day or so.

    Which is a big difference. Usually when a European release is last, it takes months.
     
  8. Woxxy

    Woxxy GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    836
    Country:
    yeah, i guess you're right
     
  9. Hybrid Stigmata

    Hybrid Stigmata The New Build
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Messages:
    588
    Country:
    United States
    i cant get this patch to work at all
    yes i have the eurasia release
    yes im using smartips
     
  10. Titney

    Titney Newbie

    the patch is for this release, aka the US release.

    and for all the other posters... as for why i chose to make it compatible with the eurasia release... the eurasia release is perfectly fine if you remove the intro, which can be done with automated tools np. that's what i did and i played on the eurasia release. if u don't want the patch, no problem, but there's really no need to bitch about it.
    And there is no way to make it compatible with the menace release since that wasn't even patched [​IMG] if you played the menace release without a patch you won't need a patch for the US release either.

    there was an IND patch for the euro release. someone else can make a patch compatible with that, but I won't since i don't need it.
     
  11. psxer2600

    psxer2600 Advanced Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    United States
    I wasn't bitching, it was just a question. I just wondered why you chose the Eurasia release. You say you played through the Eurasia version, which is a perfectly good reason for making the patch that you spent your time and effort working on compatible with it. Don't take it personally, because I understand that without the work of people like you, lots of people couldn't play these games with weird save types. So, thanks, and sorry if I offended you [​IMG]
     
  12. Cynic

    Cynic Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Netherlands
    seems like a very nice game but i still can't play it on my card. time for another card i think Hey but i can play sword of mana so i'm enjoying myself
    [​IMG]
     
  13. docpan

    docpan Newbie

    Buy the game.
     
  14. Nagamooto

    Nagamooto Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Is the Mario Bros. in this game identical to the one in SMA3? Or are there some differences - and if so, what are they?
     
  15. Nagamooto

    Nagamooto Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Just one other question in addition to the previous: has anyone got the patch (which trims the game and sorts out the save) applied along with the BOMA patch (which allows soft resetting of the game, back to the loader menu of a flash cart)?
     
  16. X-Gamer

    X-Gamer GBATemp RPG Master
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Messages:
    2,646
    Country:
    Canada
    The Mario Bros. game is available in all the Mario Advance games in addition to this one and they're all the same. It's simply a remake of the classic Mario Bros. on the NES.
     
  17. Woxxy

    Woxxy GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    836
    Country:
    hmm... the nfo reads this:
    Here's another one for you collectors out there!
    It's not prepatched, as most software/patchers should support it by now.
    Since this game is awesome, please buy it and support Nintendo like we did.
    ----cut----

    according to this, programs should be able to patch that kind of eeprom already...
    does anyone know of an eeprom-patch-tool that is updated every once in a while?
    seems like fat v8 doesn't cut it anymore
     
  18. Cutman

    Cutman GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    324
    Country:
    United States
    So, uhhhhh.


    In my game Luigi totally pwns Mario.

    Mario could be out of the game and I still would of beat the game with ease.
     
  19. zloty

    zloty GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    342
    Country:
    havent people been complaining with the eurasia release, even if you do remove the intro, theres a section later on in the game that always freezes? i thought that was the reason it was nuked; along with mario bros not working
     
  20. Jojjy Ugnick

    Jojjy Ugnick shake your bonbon
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    1,006
    Country:
    Canada
    Well I just wanted an ultra trimmed rom [​IMG]
     
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Superstar, Mario, Luigi