Never Buy a G6

Discussion in 'Other Flashing Hardware & Software' started by CrEsPo, Dec 30, 2006.

Dec 30, 2006

Never Buy a G6 by CrEsPo at 9:53 PM (4,257 Views / 0 Likes) 47 replies

  1. CrEsPo
    OP

    Member CrEsPo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    190
    Country:
    Canada
    Well, the chip is just terribly made. The G6 is of the worst quality I've seen. I always had problems with putting it into the NDS because of this poor chip, but I just shrugged it off. I heard others had this problem also, but shrugged it off again. Well, after spending hours of playing FFIII at the final stage when there is no chance to save, I had the G6 do what it does best and stopped working.

    I would of assumed I had a bad chip, but when I seen others with this problem it's the actual G6 in how they make it. Obviously some may get lucky, but I'd advise not to buy this product to anyone looking for a slot-2 device. Not only do you have better homebrew support in all other slot-2 devices, but I never heard of anything like this.
     


  2. Golds

    Member Golds Old Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    373
    Country:
    United States
    h8ter
     
  3. rippon

    Newcomer rippon Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Messages:
    48
    Country:
    United States
    As much as I'd love to blame the G6, seeing as how it isn't the flash device that I own, and thus I hate it (heh), I own FFIII and I've had it lock up on my numerous times. It may not be the G6's fault, especially if it was a white screen while entering or returning from battle. It would seem the game has a problem with heap allocation from time to time.

    Actually, FFIII is pretty poorly programmed, if you ask me (not that you did). I demand an apology from Matrix Software on my desk by Tuesday!
     
  4. CatScam

    Member CatScam ScamaRama!

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    588
    Country:
    United States
    I’ve herd way to many problems with the G6 to ever recommend it.
    But every time anyone try’s to point them out someone blames the user,
    or you have someone saying I have a G6 & I don’t have that problem.
    But buy that theory if your dieing of cancer from smoking, I should be
    able to say I smoke & I’m not dieing of cancer, so the problem is you.
     
  5. Smuff

    Member Smuff Fossilized Gamer

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    Messages:
    1,024
    Location:
    By the sea
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok - I won't [​IMG]

    Quid pro quo.... Never eat yellow snow!
     
  6. CrEsPo
    OP

    Member CrEsPo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    190
    Country:
    Canada
    See, I would normally blame the game, except in this instance. The problem is unless you seat the G6 into the NDS perfectly, it won't startup. So if you bump the NDS by just a little it could unseat the G6 very easily. This is what happened because I was about to plug in the power cord when I put the NDS on the couch. When I came back to the NDS I couldn't do nothing within the FFIII game. When I rebooted the NDS I could no longer access the G6 until playing around with the G6 to get the G6 perfectly seated.

    By the way, it was not a white screen. The "freeze" I was referring to was the game "frozen" while walking around, so it was frozen without gameplay.
     
  7. Deaddy

    Member Deaddy GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    568
    Country:
    Canada
    Twice I inserted my brother's G6 into his ds lite and it didnt recognize it, but it worked each other time. With my own g6 I don't think I've had that problem, though several times the passcard 3 was not recognized and it booted directly into GBA mode. This occurred a few times with legit game cards as well so I don't know if the passcard is to blame for that.
     
  8. AWESOME_noob

    Member AWESOME_noob GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    266
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I HATE the G6 with a vengence!!!!
    I got the m3lite & never, EVER had a single prob with it.............just my 2 cents
     
  9. fr3kazoid

    Newcomer fr3kazoid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    Canada
    I have never had trouble putting the G6 into the NDS or having it not work on startup. I also switch carts quite often as I have 2 of them.

    There's only one way it fits into the NDS. At least with the lite anyway... stop putting it in backwards.
     
  10. springah

    Member springah GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    117
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    i had the same problems...

    until i got mine replaced on warranty. now all is good. so yeah, get your g6 swapped.
     
  11. Adventures_of_Lo

    Newcomer Adventures_of_Lo Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    73
    Country:
    Finland
    Lots of people complaining about g6 lite, so I guess there are some bad ones comming out of the factory. But if you do happen to get a good one, it's a great cart. I've never had any problems with mine.
     
  12. mr_blonde_88

    Member mr_blonde_88 Torture You? That's A Good Idea. I Like That

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    Messages:
    913
    Location:
    Bristol (UK)
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Wisest words anyone has said [​IMG]

    but yeah, fair enough, you don't like the G6 becuase you've had problems, but i, and many others havent ever had a problem

    dont go branding the G6 as a peice of crap, cus tho im pretty new to DS Flash cards, im sure the G6 is one of the best flash cards out there
     
  13. CrEsPo
    OP

    Member CrEsPo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    190
    Country:
    Canada
    I think I agree with that. If you happen to get a good cart, it's an amazing cart. It's really easy to use and most ROMS require no special settings to use. The problem is the actual manufacturing of the cart, it's quite obvious they don't spend enough time in that process. That's why I don't recommend it to anyone.
     
  14. Hypnotoad

    Member Hypnotoad GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    312
    Location:
    Space.
    Country:
    United States
    Between me and my friends, we own a total of six G6 units. Strangely enough we've never had any of problems that are posted here from time to time. We're using the older G6 3rd edtion and the newer G6 Lite carts.

    sidenote: Have you checked the CRC on the FFIII rom you're using? You may have a bad dump if it's freezing up on you. I've played many hours of FFIII on my G6 with no freezes (the JAP and US dumps). You might also want to check and make sure you're carts firmware and u-disk manager are up to date.
     
  15. CrEsPo
    OP

    Member CrEsPo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    190
    Country:
    Canada
    I used FFIII as an example. It only froze once, because of the G6. I just explained why it froze above your post.

    The G6 works perfectly in the U-Burner, no problems there. The problem is when you put the G6 in the NDS. That's why I'm getting ride of it for either an M3 or Supercard.
     
  16. trunksu

    Newcomer trunksu Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    i just receive mine today and everything is working great. might i add that www.psxbox.net is a great place to buy your g6 lite. quick s/h + good price.
     
  17. kohkindachi

    Member kohkindachi GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Messages:
    464
    Country:
    Singapore
    I got my G6 for about 2 months and got no problem with it. I think the only prob i got is FF3, it does not freeze, but dun know why the game always flicker, so i stopped playing FF.

    That's the game that give me prob, the rest is 100% OK
     
  18. juggernaut911

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
    u suk!!! I'm preparing to buy 1!!! [​IMG] u evil fartnugget (
     
  19. Opium

    Former Staff Opium PogoShell it to me ™

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,185
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    I'm on the other side of the fence. I love my G6 Lite, I've never had a problem with it....ever.

    It works like a charm, I just wish they'd be a bit faster with these software updates, I'm still waiting for loader 4.6D.
     
  20. juggernaut911

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
    HURRAH!!!!!!!! [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
    u got served by a famous dude!!!!! F***** all G6/Nintendo h8ers!!! [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    (the "*"'s in order are: "ARTON" [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] )
     

Share This Page