Gaming Nethack DS

Tdon

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2003
Messages
275
Trophies
0
Location
Utrecht
Website
hencegames.com
XP
263
Country
Netherlands
Well, this topic is going to be a place where you can vent your nethack ds related stories, so:

Anyone else insanely hooked on nethack ds?
Why do(n't) you play it? Is there something in perticular that you don't like about the ds version?
How did you bind your keys?
Got killed by trying to mount your horse and slipped?

Tell us!
yaynds.gif
 

krazykirk

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2007
Messages
399
Trophies
0
Age
30
Location
Australia
Website
Visit site
XP
106
Country
Well I downloaded it and got sorta confused by how it works and gave up.. oh and I died reasonably quickly when i was trying to run over a monster or something? Oh and the graphics were a bit :/
 

Chrono_Tata

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2008
Messages
851
Trophies
0
XP
83
Country
Thailand
I've played the PC version a lot, but I can't really get into the DS version. The fact that you have to choose from a list of commands really turn me off. An on-screen keyboard as a command input method would be very welcoming (like the Pocket PC version). Plus, I have Shiren the Wanderer on the DS to fulfill my dungeon-crawling needs.
tongue.gif
 

Narin

The Cheat Master, kupo!
Former Staff
Joined
Feb 19, 2008
Messages
2,629
Trophies
0
Age
36
Website
cheats.gbatemp.net
XP
1,048
Country
United States
I perfer POWDER over Nethack DS, also as Chrono_Tata said, I was a little put off by having to select all the commands from a list like that
 

Tdon

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2003
Messages
275
Trophies
0
Location
Utrecht
Website
hencegames.com
XP
263
Country
Netherlands
Well, because the input method is totally customizable, I mapped a lot off button combos to various important commands.
It's a bit awkward at first, but works really well now.

I use a,b,x,y,select and r alone or in combination with one of the d-pad directions. wich makes for: 6x5 + 2 (start and l) = 32 commands.
I only have to visit the menu once in a while for specialized actions like dipping.

I also requested a customizable menu, so that the menu-command that have been mapped are removed.

I didn't get into POWDER all that much, probally because I tried nethack first. They are too different to be simular and too simular to be different.
Also I dislike using the touchscreen, so nethack is the better option for me.
 
D

Deleted User

Guest
I can't use it =\
It starts up and then a multicoloured flash appears across the screen and goes white, then there's nothing
frown.gif

Could someone help?
 

Chrono_Tata

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2008
Messages
851
Trophies
0
XP
83
Country
Thailand
Tdon said:
Well, because the input method is totally customizable, I mapped a lot off button combos to various important commands.
It's a bit awkward at first, but works really well now.

I use a,b,x,y,select and r alone or in combination with one of the d-pad directions. wich makes for: 6x5 + 2 (start and l) = 32 commands.
I only have to visit the menu once in a while for specialized actions like dipping.

I also requested a customizable menu, so that the menu-command that have been mapped are removed.

I didn't get into POWDER all that much, probally because I tried nethack first. They are too different to be simular and too simular to be different.
Also I dislike using the touchscreen, so nethack is the better option for me.

I'm terrible at remembering which command does what though. I even struggle with the four default hotkeys.
tongue.gif
Remembering which letters to press is much easier (q for quaff, k for kick, etc.) Including a touchscreen keyboard as an option would be good.

QUOTE(warmijwilfaain @ May 11 2008, 08:49 PM) I can't use it =\
It starts up and then a multicoloured flash appears across the screen and goes white, then there's nothing
frown.gif

Could someone help?

Which version are you using? I use 1.17 and it works perfectly on my M3Real.

Also, do you have the file structure right? The NetHack folder (with all the data files like defaults.nh and stuff) should be in the root of your card. NetHackDS.nds can be anywhere.
 

Tdon

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2003
Messages
275
Trophies
0
Location
Utrecht
Website
hencegames.com
XP
263
Country
Netherlands
Chrono_Tata said:
I'm terrible at remembering which command does what though. I even struggle with the four default hotkeys.
tongue.gif
Remembering which letters to press is much easier (q for quaff, k for kick, etc.) Including a touchscreen keyboard as an option would be good.

Actually, IIRC, there is an option to do everything with a onscreen keyboard. Check the defaults.nh, I'm sure it's there.
I never played nethack using a keyboard, so I can imagine if you got used to playing with one, you'l be wanting to use that.
Check it out!
 

Chrono_Tata

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2008
Messages
851
Trophies
0
XP
83
Country
Thailand
Tdon said:
Chrono_Tata said:
I'm terrible at remembering which command does what though. I even struggle with the four default hotkeys.
tongue.gif
Remembering which letters to press is much easier (q for quaff, k for kick, etc.) Including a touchscreen keyboard as an option would be good.

Actually, IIRC, there is an option to do everything with a onscreen keyboard. Check the defaults.nh, I'm sure it's there.
I never played nethack using a keyboard, so I can imagine if you got used to playing with one, you'l be wanting to use that.
Check it out!

Really? Then I shall.

EDIT: You're right. I feel like an idiot now. XP
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • MightyJAK @ MightyJAK:
    it can't be plugged into a USB reader (it's made from a regular SD card to USB adapter, but with the USB end modded to a Dreamcast serial plug)
    Gift
  • MightyJAK @ MightyJAK:
    It was working fine before I installed the GDEMU, but now the Dreamcast doesn't recognize it when I boot up Dreamshell.
    Gift
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    ahhh I gotcha. yeah haven't looked at it that much so I'm not super familiar with the hardware
    Gift
  • MightyJAK @ MightyJAK:
    Can't find any threads about this particular issue on GBAtemp or the wider intarwebz. Saw one video on YouTube that seemed relevant, but it was some dude with the same issue, no solutions offered in the comments. :/
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    my teacher was showing me something and i noticed they had gbatemp open in another window
    Gift
  • SpazzyShinobi @ SpazzyShinobi:
    when worlds collide
    +1
    Gift
  • MightyJAK @ MightyJAK:
    Your teacher is ONE OF US... ONE OF US...
    +2
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    they could be in this very chat, they could be any one of us
    Gift
  • MightyJAK @ MightyJAK:
    InB4 "Julie, get back to work on your homework, that assignment is due tomorrow."
    +1
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    god damn no one ever wants to talk to me but the MOMENT i start studying everyone got shit to say to me
    Gift
  • Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    (not you guys tho, you guys are cool :)
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    fuck how do i use emoticons within parenthesis
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    i left out the closing bracket but that just looks incomplete
    Gift
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    https://gbatemp.net/chat/message/110146/view
    Imagine if that teacher was, I dunno, pingpong or DinohScene or some other mod or admin...that'd be something, huh.
    +1
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    The teacher just wanted to know what kind of perverted debauchery Julie was watching on the school computer instead of studying.
    +2
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    what? no, i totalllyyyyy do all my schoolwork
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    aw, who am i kidding, if i did my work i wouldnt be talking to you guys right now
    +1
    Gift
  • Gift
  • Freezer6 @ Freezer6:
    That's right @Julie_Pilgrim
    +2
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    are there people out there actually insane enough to pay $20/month for photoshop
    Gift
  • Chaosta @ Chaosta:
    considering theres people out there who pay to watch anime. yeah.
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    If your job involves Photoshop, $20 is not much.
    Gift
  • Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    YEET
    Gift
    Veho @ Veho: YEET