nesDS on R4/Simply

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Artimes, Apr 25, 2007.

Apr 25, 2007

nesDS on R4/Simply by Artimes at 5:36 AM (967 Views / 0 Likes) 5 replies

  1. Artimes
    OP

    Newcomer Artimes Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    59
    Location:
    Toronto Area, Ontario, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Anyone know why there is a 3MB file limit on the .nds rom when using nesDS on a R4/Simply slot1 card? It's a bit of a pain, I was hoping I could just dump all my NES roms into a single NDS rom.
     
  2. ejx982

    Newcomer ejx982 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    To my knowledge, nesDS doesn't support R4/Simply yet. They are in the work of adding DLDI support, but no one knows when that'll be done. On my M3 MiniSD, nesDS worked perfect, and I didn't bind any ROMS to the file. I just made a \NES folder and put all my roms in that.

    ejx982
     
  3. darksavior

    Member darksavior GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    231
    Country:
    United States
    despite not supporting it, it still works fine except saving.
     
  4. Artimes
    OP

    Newcomer Artimes Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    59
    Location:
    Toronto Area, Ontario, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I have mine working, but I have to use the batching program that came with it to compile a .nds rom and the .nds file cannot exceed 3MB in size or it simply won't work. Saving doesn't work either for me.
     
  5. OSW

    Former Staff OSW Wii King

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,796
    Country:
    Australia
    it's likely because it has to be laoded fully into the ds's ram (4mb) before playing.
     
  6. Artimes
    OP

    Newcomer Artimes Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    59
    Location:
    Toronto Area, Ontario, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    That probably explains why snesDS doesn't work on the R4. That is unless you only put Super Mario World in the ROM list. SMW is a very small ROM itself, most SNES ROMs are 3MB or higher.
     

Share This Page