nesDS newest version - saving problem

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Fr0t3x, Jul 20, 2007.

Jul 20, 2007
  1. Fr0t3x
    OP

    Newcomer Fr0t3x Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Germany
    Ehm....hi.

    I got a problem with the newest version of nesDS.
    When I click "Save State", nothin happens.
    I am using a R4DS and a Kingston 1 gb MicroSD. Can someone help me plx?

    thx
     
  2. lagman

    Former Staff lagman I wish I was green.

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    4,071
    Location:
    Me, To You
    Country:
    Mexico
    Well, it freeze for like a second, but nothing else then you have to press "load state" to well... load the state.

    I tested it with Circus Charlie, what game are you using?
     
  3. Fr0t3x
    OP

    Newcomer Fr0t3x Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Germany
    I downloaded it once more and tried saving on Megaman 2.
    It worked ^^

    Thx for your help...^^
     
  4. jammer8

    Newcomer jammer8 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United States
    HELP


    I have an R4 and i have no idea how to save a game. i can run a game, i've played final fantasy and dragon warrior IV. only have the nes.ds file with about 18 games in a folder named NES. i can play any game but i save in game and when i restart i always start from the begining.

    is there a help file or something or can someone please help me?

    i have downloaded the lastest version and also firmware 1.10 on the R4

    i'm a nOOb

    sorry

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  5. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    After you save in the game, you have to write the file to the memory card. Touch the screen to bring up the menu, go into the "File" tab, and touch "Save SRAM".
     
  6. jammer8

    Newcomer jammer8 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United States
    thank you so much i didn't even know the menu was there. so now do i rename the nes.ds file to, in this case, finalfantays.nds ?

    then just run this? or should i just keep it the same? can you only save one game at a time?

    i am sorry for all the noob questions
     
  7. philco1

    Member philco1 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    163
    Country:
    United States
    Where are you finding this "newest" version?
     
  8. leetdude_007

    Member leetdude_007 Official GBAtemp Assassin That Has Never Killed An

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Country:
    United States
    Patch nesDS.nds MANUALLY with a DLDI patching program in order to save properly. http://chishm.drunkencoders.com/DLDI/
     
  9. jammer8

    Newcomer jammer8 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United States
    i am using firmware 1.10, so it worked fine. i'm currently playing dragon warrior IV, and it appears that you can only play one game at a time.

    my question is: can i rename the NesDS file to, lets say in this case, DragonwarIV.NDS? and for every game i play just have a new Nesds file and rename it to whatever game i want to save?
     
  10. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    NesDS can have saves for as many games as you have on your memory card. It creates one file per NES game for in-game saves (game_name.sav) and one for a save state (game_name.ss).

    If you have multiple copies of nesDS on the memory card, they will all use the same files. It won't make any difference which copy you run. You will get the same list of games, and the same save files will be used.
     
  11. zfunk007

    Newcomer zfunk007 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    I need help as well. I just got a Supercard DS One and nesDS works fine. However, is there any way for me to save my settings in nesDS? I have to reset my buttons and recalibrate the screen everytime I run the program because it resets the settings every time. I tried using the SRAM function to save but every time I come back into the program the settings are reset. Also, is there any way to break out of the emulator back into Moonshell? I generally have to reset my DS. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
     
  12. zfunk007

    Newcomer zfunk007 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    Anyone else having those problems?
     
  13. SpectralSounds

    Newcomer SpectralSounds Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Messages:
    95
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    My problem is the save states are buggy. Im in the middle of playing Legend of Zelda and sometimes when I save state it accidentally loads my old state and I have to start all over.

    It is really frustrating.
     
  14. TSPhoenix

    Member TSPhoenix GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    158
    Country:
    Australia
    I think its not so much a problem with the saving so much as a problem with a dodgy touch interface, as it never seems to do what I want it to.
     

Share This Page