NES

Discussion in 'Other Consoles & Oldies' started by TLSpartan, Feb 21, 2007.

Feb 21, 2007

NES by TLSpartan at 6:08 AM (1,016 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. TLSpartan
    OP

    Member TLSpartan Kills threads

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,053
    Country:
    Australia
    Hey all

    I was recently going through my drawers to find my solder sucker(behind my tv desk) and i found my old nes underneath a pile of av cables and crap. I plug it in and put in probotector(one of the greatest nes games ever) and it brings up the annoying screen where it just flashes grey for ever [​IMG] . i clean the contacts of the nes and games for nothing. I try every games i got around 25( good old antique shops). but nohing works. does anyone no how to fix my nes or anyones nes

    P.S its a front loader and i looked around inside for about a minute
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Any help is appreciated
     
  2. The Teej

    Former Staff The Teej Also known as The Tjalian

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    4,210
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Assuming it's no longer under warranty ([​IMG]), take it apart and see if it's dusty. If it is, get it off. I suggest a fan or something though, don't want a duster buster that's going to generate static electricity.
     
  3. suppachipmunk

    Member suppachipmunk GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    400
    Country:
    United States
    Like the Teej stated, try cleaning out the dust. Wal-mart has some anti-static wipes you can buy and clean the contacts.

    You may also want to check eBay for a new Gold-pinned connector set. I got one for like $15 plus it came with the tri-bit screwdriver. Replaced the old connectors and it works fine. Never had so much fun in quite a few years.

    Hope this helps.

    http://cgi.ebay.com/PREMIUM-GOLD-NES-NINTE...1QQcmdZViewItem

    Man, that is a long link. This is just an example of a gold-pin set you may look at.
     
  4. Shinji

    Member Shinji ҉҉ ҉҉

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,374
    Location:
    City of Delusion
    Country:
    United States
    This is what you do...
    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]
     
  5. serious_sean

    Member serious_sean GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    246
    Country:
    United States
    ah, probotector. you crazy europeans and your anti-violence
     
  6. Bali

    Member Bali GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    105
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Can you still get replacement parts for the NES?
     
  7. BoneMonkey

    Banned BoneMonkey The cheese stash is a lie.

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,226
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    your best bet is to play the gam eon a emulator on your computer lol
     
  8. TLSpartan
    OP

    Member TLSpartan Kills threads

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,053
    Country:
    Australia
    but you get the nostaglia and many memories like sore fingers, wasted hours and what not. you cant get that with an emulator sqadzookie80. thats preety cool shinji is it yours or what
     
  9. shurf

    Newcomer shurf Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    United States
    Its been buried under junk for a while, so I'm sure all that excess dust and whatever must be interfering.


    Yup, just do what Teej said.
     
  10. TanookiSuit

    Member TanookiSuit Game Reviewer/Writer -- formerly Vampire Hunter D

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,552
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    Country:
    United States
    I found a 50/50 mix of isopropyl alcohol and tap water with qtips did wonders. I'd gut the full setup and seperate all the pieces, give EVERYTHING a shiny wipe down. Also I'd eyeball the connector and if needed I'd use a needle(like needle n' thread needle) and bend the pins up towards center to make for a tighter fit.

    Doing all that would make the games come up first time as the connection was tight again and things were clean of interference from dust n things.
     
  11. TLSpartan
    OP

    Member TLSpartan Kills threads

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,053
    Country:
    Australia
    well. well. well. I have to replace the connectors. i think there meant to be a bronzey goldey colour and mine are the colour of tin. I cleaned it though. thanks for the help guys. now i have to use 15 dollars to buy a connector. im gonna go through the trading post and have a look see
     
  12. OSW

    Former Staff OSW Wii King

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,796
    Country:
    Australia
    i guess my story's kinda relevant. i have my n64 (love it so much) and i play it once a month or so. the thing is, half the time games don't boot, i have to blow on the contact, shove it in hard or smack it a few times. it always works great after that ^^. Its all in good fun.

    well enough of my story, good luck on gettin your nes to work. pity i never had one.
     
  13. TLSpartan
    OP

    Member TLSpartan Kills threads

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,053
    Country:
    Australia
    go to ebay or the trading post and get one. they rule. ecspecially top loaders. my friend rob has a top loader and he keeps it packed away because they were only made for one year
     

Share This Page