NES Mario... How come the IPS patch isn't working?

Discussion in 'GBA - Game Development, ROM Hacks and Translations' started by Tac 21, Jul 7, 2009.

Jul 7, 2009
  1. Tac 21
    OP

    Member Tac 21 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    517
    Country:
    Canada
    whats wrong with the game?
     
  2. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    ...I don't think anybody is going to have any idea what you're talking about unless you're a bit more specific. We're not mind-readers ya know.
     
  3. MissingNo._

    Member MissingNo._ aka MissingNoL

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    748
    Location:
    Greater Bay Area, California
    Country:
    United States
    Some of us "are". [​IMG]

    But yea, be more specific, please.
     
  4. Tac 21
    OP

    Member Tac 21 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    517
    Country:
    Canada
    Classic NES mario. I got the patch from advance secne and used lunar IPS....

    you think it'd work, but when the game starts it still says "game pak error, turn power off"

    why? whats wrong?
     
  5. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,803
    Country:
    Antarctica
  6. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,184
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    I just used the patches posted in the download section and they worked fine
     
  7. Pliskron

    Banned Pliskron Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,276
    Country:
    United States
    Try different version of the game. You might be trying to patch the U release with an IPS made for the E release.
     
  8. toguro_max

    Member toguro_max GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Messages:
    380
    Location:
    São Vicente, Brazil
    Country:
    Brazil
    I'll try to help.
    Usually when an IPS patch does not work, it means you're using a dfferent rom version of the game, and by "different" I do not mean only different region, but different version.
    For instance, you may have the Super Mario Bros 2 (PRG 1 CHR 0) (U) version, but the IPS patch only works with the Super Mario Bros 2 (U) (PRG 1) one, got it?
    ou may need an Good tool to identify the version you have.
     

Share This Page