NeoGamma won't play my Luigi's Mansion

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Naito-Tanuki, Jun 3, 2011.

Jun 3, 2011
  1. Naito-Tanuki
    OP

    Member Naito-Tanuki GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    Saturn Valley
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    By the way I am using 4.3e!

    Everytime I try to load Luigi's Mansion from a burned Sony DVD-RW, it comes up with a DVD Err (Bad Download/Burn/Disc?). So I thought this might be to do with the ios and Mios. So I did the whole ios36 thing and installed it, but when I try to install the cMios by Wii Gator, it fails saying it needs a Trucha Bug Restorer which I have (1.4 Mod), it says Downgrade Failed!
    So I can't use Trucha Bug Restorer 1.14 -> WiiGator cMIOS Installer 0.1 -> Neo Gamma R9!
     
  2. Hielkenator

    Member Hielkenator GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,176
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Use modmii to mod your Wii from scratch.
    Look in the hacking stickies.
     
  3. Slimmmmmm

    Member Slimmmmmm GBAtemp MoNkEeE

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,687
    Location:
    the land of lol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    RW maybe the problem.

    Have you used these discs with other games that work ? This will let us know if they work or not.
    Do you have a normal DVD-R you could try Luigis Mansion on ? This will let us know if the game image is intact.
     
  4. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    If you get the error message "DVD+R/bad burn/DL problem?", it means that. If you didn't have a cIOS, it would return another error message.

    NeoGamma simply can't read the disc, and that's because you try to r**e your Wii drive with a -RW.
     
  5. Slimmmmmm

    Member Slimmmmmm GBAtemp MoNkEeE

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,687
    Location:
    the land of lol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That is a lot to do and imho wont help.


    Oh, also worth noting.... some Wiis can't read DL discs (these wiis sometimes refuse to play RW even with a mod chip that supports them on other peoples wiis). If you've been in the scene for long enough you'll remember Nintendo replacing a lot of Wiis when SSBB came out because of this problem, so answer my 2 questions above please.

    Now if you say the problem is the RW discs, this doesn't mean that NeoGamma+cMIOS cant read RW discs. It means either that is the problem, OR the Wii can't read them.

    If anyone is reading this and HAS managed to play games burned on DVD-RW using NeoGamma, then please post. I'm curious as fook now [​IMG]

    Other things you could try to narrow this down...

    - Load an original DL game EG: SSBB from the disc channel = if this fails, it's the Wii
    *EDIT* the other ideas can wait.
     
  6. Naito-Tanuki
    OP

    Member Naito-Tanuki GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    Saturn Valley
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have a blank DVD-R available I think, and I got the Wii in February 2009.

    EDIT: I FOUND a blank DVD-R I am riping it now.
    EDIT2: Err! DVD-R + no cIOS!
     
  7. Slimmmmmm

    Member Slimmmmmm GBAtemp MoNkEeE

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,687
    Location:
    the land of lol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  8. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    If the DVD-RW works after installing a cIOS, i'm sorry. But even if it works, i recommend to not put RWs in your Wii, they kill the drive. I expect you get the same error as before with your DVD-RW after installing a cIOS though.
     
  9. Naito-Tanuki
    OP

    Member Naito-Tanuki GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    Saturn Valley
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Eh?! Thanks for the advice about DVD-RW.
    EDIT: It works!!!!!!!! Thanks everyone.
     
  10. Slimmmmmm

    Member Slimmmmmm GBAtemp MoNkEeE

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,687
    Location:
    the land of lol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The RW works with NeoGamma ? So we get clarification.

    Oh and take WiiPowers tips, the Wii dvd drive is one of the weakest links, they break very easily sometimes.

    btw, glad you're sorted [​IMG]
     
  11. Naito-Tanuki
    OP

    Member Naito-Tanuki GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    Saturn Valley
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No, I used another DVD-R. But there is a MAJOR problem....how do I save? I have a memory card.
     
  12. Hielkenator

    Member Hielkenator GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,176
    Country:
    Netherlands
    If you read the TS 1st post you'd see he was messing with cios an mios. That's why I said to rehack.
    Turned out it helped him.
    And i would only have taken 5 minutes max using modmii. It's DEAD easy and safe.
     

Share This Page