Need website help

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic Chat' started by legendofphil, Oct 25, 2007.

Oct 25, 2007

Need website help by legendofphil at 8:57 PM (548 Views / 0 Likes) 5 replies

  1. legendofphil
    OP

    Member legendofphil Phil no Densetsu

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,214
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have been updating my uni web site for my second year.
    I decided to add a things bits and pieces such as ajax.
    The problem I'm having is that my website works perfectly on my ISP's webspace (windows server) but not my uni space (linux server).
    The external files don't show up in the main page when called in.
    Can anyone help?

    website

    EDIT: Please ignore the design, its a WIP.
     
  2. Sinkhead

    Former Staff Sinkhead yay p1ngpong.

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,692
    Location:
    Across the pond
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Windows is not case sensitive to filenames, Linux is. Maybe that is the problem.

    - Sam
     
  3. legendofphil
    OP

    Member legendofphil Phil no Densetsu

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,214
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Only if its a problem with variables in javascript, all the file names are lower case.
     
  4. sirAnger

    Member sirAnger GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    359
    Location:
    Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    To start I'd highly recommend a few firefox plugins for web development if you don't already have them:

    Firebug
    Web Developer

    Those really help debugging JS-heavy pages. They're easily found via google.

    Using these, we can see the AJAX response:
    Code:
    405 Method Not Allowed
    
    Method Not Allowed
    The requested method POST is not allowed for the URL /pjevans/temp/test1.html.
    Looking at the source of js/ajax.js it seems the default method of sending the XMLHTTP request is via POST (which Apache doesn't seem to like). Try changing line 11 to read:
    Code:
    this.method = "GET";
    If that doesn't work, there's probably a setting in Apache that needs to be futzed with. I'm not too familiar with Apache so I can't help you there, but it's a start.
     
  5. legendofphil
    OP

    Member legendofphil Phil no Densetsu

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,214
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Changing line 11 of the ajax.js worked, thank you so much.
     
  6. sirAnger

    Member sirAnger GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    359
    Location:
    Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    You're very welcome. Glad to help.
     

Share This Page