Need more USB ports

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by fwb, Feb 10, 2011.

Feb 10, 2011

Need more USB ports by fwb at 1:02 AM (2,834 Views / 0 Likes) 17 replies

  1. fwb
    OP

    Newcomer fwb Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    I want to play Wii Active 2 with two players, which means I need two USB receivers plugged in. I'd rather avoid having to unplug my USB hard drive and having to use my actual disk (yuck [​IMG]). Any way to avoid this with some type of USB hub or splitter?
     
  2. PPSainity

    Member PPSainity Blinded by Science

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    646
    Country:
    Canada
    I've heard that powered USB hubs do work with the Wii. If you have one lying around, try it out and post your results... I myself am looking forward to playing CoD:BO off of a USB Loader (USB HDD) with a USB headset and wired lan connector all at the same time; I'll post my results once I get everything together too...

    -[]D
     
  3. Kittymat

    Member Kittymat GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    589
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I use a small powered hub and it works fine with 2 x mic's plugged in on sing it games
     
  4. goku1980

    Member goku1980 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    638
    Country:
    United States
    i have a 4 port hub non-powered attached to mine i mainly use itfor geexbox when i take it to friends house to show them but as far as games idk
     
  5. PsyBlade

    Member PsyBlade Snake Charmer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Sol III
    Country:
    Germany
    afaik each and every device with a usb logo has to support hubs
    never heard of any problem with wii and usb hubs
    exept usb game loading but cios isnt exactly usb compatible
    normal homebrew should work with hubs iirc

    if you attach a hub and the drive to the wii and everything else to the hub it should work fine
     
  6. fwb
    OP

    Newcomer fwb Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
  7. Aijelsop

    Newcomer Aijelsop Question Asker

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,000
    Country:
    United States
  8. Viga Skywalker

    Newcomer Viga Skywalker Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    United States
    I will can plug the LAN Adapter with USB keyboard plugged in the multi-USB in a USB while other USB goes to HD??
     
  9. mechadylan

    Member mechadylan GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    776
    Country:
    United States
    I use the RB3 dongle that came with the keyboard as it doubles as a USB splitter as well. I've used the EA Active USB receiver plugged into this with no problems, but I have not tried two at the same time. I have however used two microphones on RB3, RB:Beatles, and some Disney singing games with no problems either.
     
  10. TheWon

    Member TheWon GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    382
    Country:
    United States
    I heard the Rockband adapter works fine! I'm going to get one of those USB hubs from the links above!
     
  11. Viga Skywalker

    Newcomer Viga Skywalker Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    United States
    Anyone??
     
  12. TheWon

    Member TheWon GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    382
    Country:
    United States
    http://www.amazon.com/High-Speed-USB-4-Por...e/dp/B001BYN0P6

    Has anyone who tried this had any success! I bought the second one suggested. It seems to work with Wiispeak, and a Lan adapter connected together. Leaving the Usb harddrive by it's self. When I try to use the headbanger instead I can't connect online or at least Black Ops. So I was going to have the splitter, connected to the USB HD, and the Headbanger. When I do that CFG doesn't even register a Hard drive is connected. Has anyone got it work, and if so what's your setup. Maybe I bought the wrong one!
     
  13. trumpet-205

    Member trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
    You need a self-powered USB hub, not a bus-powered hub. Meaning you need a USB hub that uses AC adaptor.
     
  14. TheWon

    Member TheWon GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    382
    Country:
    United States
    That makes sense thanks for the suggestion!
     
  15. PsyBlade

    Member PsyBlade Snake Charmer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Sol III
    Country:
    Germany
    Almost all USB hubs I've seen can do both modes, even if some come without an AC adaptor.
    If you're lucky you already have a compatible one.
     
  16. TheWon

    Member TheWon GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    382
    Country:
    United States
    Say what is your setup aka how is yours connected. I can't seem to get it too register the Headbanger. I have tried both sides Headbanger and Harddrive, and Headbanger, and Lan Adapter. Both connected to a powered USB 7 slot Hub. The Headbanger is on, but does not show up during Black Ops.

    Just to remind everyone. I want to play Black Ops off my hard drive. Then also be able to use the headbanger mic, and lan adapter.
     
  17. idulkoan

    Banned idulkoan Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    188
    Location:
    Dixon, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Use a USB Hub with External Power
     
  18. TheWon

    Member TheWon GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    382
    Country:
    United States

Share This Page