Hacking Need help with updating a semi-bricked Wii (Opera error)

Bobo34

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Apr 6, 2018
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
46
XP
21
Country
Japan
Did this eventually work for Master_yoda? I'm curious because I'm kind of in the same boat. I bought my wii over 10 years ago in Japan. I soldered the chip. Put it in my closet for years. Busted it out one day and threw in a US game and ran the update and semibricked it (can't access settings). Then it went back into the closet until this week when my son was interested in playing Mario Kart. I never installed HBC on it. I've tried almost everything (bannerbomb and everything in this thread) but nothing seems to work. The SD menu says it's reading my card and then either populates the menu with a question mark, corrupted files error, or just empty little windows. I really want to get the MAC address to try letterbomb or connect to WIFI but I need to get to the settings. Would getting a USB LAN adapter work? I've pulled it apart and couldn't locate the MAC address posted anywhere inside. I have version 4.x because I do have the SD card icon on the menu page. Now it's just a battle of wills to beat this pesky little device. Would getting some new game that has an update on it do the job and open up my settings again?
 

Jasjar

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 28, 2016
Messages
68
Trophies
0
Age
20
Location
Sydney
Website
www.wiibrew.org
XP
73
Country
Australia
Did this eventually work for Master_yoda? I'm curious because I'm kind of in the same boat. I bought my wii over 10 years ago in Japan. I soldered the chip. Put it in my closet for years. Busted it out one day and threw in a US game and ran the update and semibricked it (can't access settings). Then it went back into the closet until this week when my son was interested in playing Mario Kart. I never installed HBC on it. I've tried almost everything (bannerbomb and everything in this thread) but nothing seems to work. The SD menu says it's reading my card and then either populates the menu with a question mark, corrupted files error, or just empty little windows. I really want to get the MAC address to try letterbomb or connect to WIFI but I need to get to the settings. Would getting a USB LAN adapter work? I've pulled it apart and couldn't locate the MAC address posted anywhere inside. I have version 4.x because I do have the SD card icon on the menu page. Now it's just a battle of wills to beat this pesky little device. Would getting some new game that has an update on it do the job and open up my settings again?
Hmm, this kind of semi brick is a bit tricky to solve. Getting a usb adaptor would only be a useful on system menu 4.3, since you could run flashhax (an exploit that uses the internet channel). Usually just getting a game and updating will fix a semi brick, but the problem is that you updated with a US disk on a JPN Wii. Updating with a US disk will only semi brick again since you have JP systemmenu files on the NAND. (It's amazing that your Wii ended up only semibricked, usually doing something like that would result in a fullbrick.) So you need to update with a JP disk with 4.3 on the update partition. There's a chance of full-bricking though. Still, that's really the only sane, non-complicated way to fix it... Since you have a modchip, I'm guessing that the one you have has the ability to read burnt disks. If so, you don't have to worry about finding a JP disk, you can simply burn one from an iso found on the internet. (by the way, only DVD-R's work, DVD-RW's don't).
 
Last edited by Jasjar,

jpgatito

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Nov 10, 2019
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
23
Country
Mexico
excuse me my wii dont have hombrew launcher

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

excuse me my wii doesn't have the homebrew laucher
 
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
14,473
Trophies
3
Age
51
Location
Austria
XP
2,240
Country
Austria
excuse me my wii dont have hombrew launcher

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

excuse me my wii doesn't have the homebrew laucher

Hello.:)

That is a unfortunately a little small Information from you and your Wii.:(

Can you please tell us

- How did you Mod your Wii ?
- Which Tutorial/Manual did you use ?
- On which Wii System Software Version is your Wii please ?
- Which Applications/Tools for the Wii did you use ?
- Can you maybe post a sysCheck fro myour Wii for us ?
https://gbatemp.net/threads/posting-a-system-check.300279/

That would help a lot for us to helping you.:)

Thank you for your assistance.:)
 
  • Like
Reactions: jeannotte

verrypassant

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Mar 11, 2021
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
12
Country
Indonesia
hi hello.
i need help for my wii US. my wii state now is , my wii setting eror, it display screen "you tried to access the address mac EU .."

havent install hbc yet. so i cant submit sysCheck.
never been jailbreak / use memory card to install anything.

i dont know what happens before this error, me and kids using the wii about 10 years ago. cant remember why this happening.
please help. thank you
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Next gen will probably be all portable
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    Some things (like Super Famicom games) just feel right when you play them using the original hardware and a CRT
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    The PS tablet
    Gift
  • mthrnite tempBOT: @ mthrnite
    switches the box from tv to game
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    Not so sure about that - the tendency for "graphics uber alles" tends to lead to very high power consumption
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    If you look at what's now portability graphics are catching up to console quality
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Nintendy is a huge example of not everyone caring about powerful specs most that do will be hardcore PC players anyway
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    The thing is that the IATA rules impose a pretty hard limit of 100Wh on battery sizes for lithium batteries - and it doesn't look like Li is going away soon
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    So if you want (say) 4 hours of runtime you need a maximum system-level power consumption of 25W
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Yeah but we already have AAA titles looking fine on tablet form 1080p displays
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Human eye can only tell so much of a difference
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    For reference, the PS5 is rated at 350W and the Xbox series X at 275W - and that's console only, without any display
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    But the future always holds performance never know what the aliens will donate from their left over tech
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    Maybe :) - but batteries have turned out to be a pretty hard problem
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Like I said most that will truly care will already be hard core gaming pcers
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    And DF subscribers :)
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    I bet you could find a neighbor with a ps5 and they'd have no idea what the word spec means
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    Yeah probably - people on forums seem to care a lot, but they are heavily self-selected
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Most on forums try to get a good learning of actual tech
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    Papaya, so good
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Only 13 more titles to go on ps3 yay
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    I still have a remnant of the taste of the papaya
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    @KenniesNewName June will come sooner than the end of that process
    Gift
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    PS3 had horrible speeds off the drive
    Gift
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I always wondered why, but I am pretty sure it was trying to reduce costs
    Gift
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: I always wondered why, but I am pretty sure it was trying to reduce costs