Need help with some MicroSD problems

Discussion in 'CycloDS' started by LuOmeoga, Aug 8, 2008.

Aug 8, 2008
  1. LuOmeoga
    OP

    Member LuOmeoga GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    123
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Country:
    United States
    So recently I was searching for a better SDHC to buy for my Cyclo and came upon a class 6 4GB A-DATA MircoSD. I'm not to savvy on flash memory, so is A-DATA a good company? Is it a reliable card?

    And sorry in advance if this is a noob question. D=
     
  2. DMPugh

    Newcomer DMPugh Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    Canada
    I ordered the same card a few days ago and am just waiting for it to come in the mail. I own 2 other A-Data cards though, a 1 gig and a 512 meg. Both run flawlessly with my CycloDS (and previously with my Supercard Lite). I can only imagine this new card will perform just as well, if not better (although I don't really know how it could perform any better).

    So while I can't speak for the actual 4GB card yet, in my experience A-Data is an excellent choice for flash memory.
     
  3. LuOmeoga
    OP

    Member LuOmeoga GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    123
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks, when you get your card please tell me about it!
     
  4. DeMoN

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    I would actually recommend not buying that one, it seems to have a lot of problems as of late. Plus, SDHCs are known to deplete battery life much faster than non-SDHC cards. My best recommendation is a Kingston 2GB Japanese card. Very fast and reliable, highly praised here with no problems.
     
  5. LuOmeoga
    OP

    Member LuOmeoga GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    123
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Country:
    United States
    The thing is I like having a lot of memory on one cards so I don't have to keep switching in and out cause I use A LOT of memory. So I picked a HC. But if Kingston had a HC it'd be no contest.

    Thanks for the advice though.
     
  6. DeMoN

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    Kingston does have Micro SDHC cards. You should look into it.
     
  7. LuOmeoga
    OP

    Member LuOmeoga GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    123
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Country:
    United States
    Wow they do. o.o
    But it's only class 4, would that still be better than a class 6 A-DATA?
     
  8. budrow66

    Member budrow66 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    194
    Location:
    T.N.
    Country:
    United States
    I have bought 2 of them. One for an M3Real and the other for my CycloEvo. They both work perfectly fine for me.
    Even PoR runs fine on it. Hope it helps.
     
  9. DeMoN

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    Class 4 and class 6 really makes no difference when it comes to playing games on the DS. Even the problematic games such as Downhill Jam and Portrait of Ruin play fine on either a Class 4 or Class 6. And the main difference here is the brands. Lately, I've seen a lot of complaints about the A-Data card so I think it's best to avoid it if you can. Although I still highly recommend a non-HC MicroSD card. Especially the Kingston 2GB Japanese MicroSD, I've never seen anyone complain about that card.
     
  10. LuOmeoga
    OP

    Member LuOmeoga GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    123
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks, and yeah it did help.
     
  11. LuOmeoga
    OP

    Member LuOmeoga GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    123
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Country:
    United States
    I see, and I've been hearing the Kingston 2GB was an excellent card, I dunno. 20 games? I know I'll be having a lot more games on one memory card and changing cards seems way too tedious for me. and I have to know which game is on which memory card and such and such.
    Thank you so much for the advice though. I might pick up the Kingston 4GB.
     
  12. AcIdPort

    Newcomer AcIdPort Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    Colombia
    I recommend you a Transcend microSDHC 4GB Class 6. That's really good and works flawlessly! I have one with my CycloDS and It's really great. Unlike the A-Data this does not give you any problems that have been posted on CycloDS forums.

    Greets.
     
  13. Sticks

    Member Sticks GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    215
    Country:
    Australia
    Recommended:
    1/2GB Kingston microSD (Made in Japan is recommended)
    4GB Kingston microSDHC Class 4(Japan here as well)
    4GB Transcend microSDHC Class 6
    8GB Sandisk microSDHC Class 4 (Mobile Ultra Class 6)

    It's been mentioned before, Class ratings have no effect on how the memory performs on a flashcart, you should only be worrying about class ratings when you use the memory for what it was intended for - heavy photo/video use in cameras, etc.
     
  14. DMPugh

    Newcomer DMPugh Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    Canada
    Alright, so tests were run. For some reason I'm not sure of, Ultimate Mortal Kombat for DS will just not run on this 4GB card. I tried it with a trimmed rom and the regular rom, and both just give me a black screen. The trimmed rom (and I am assuming untrimmed) will run though on my old Adata 1GB card.

    But everything else ran as it should (I ran 50+ roms), including the apparently problematic games like Portrait of Ruin and Mario Kart DS. So while I am somewhat mystified as to why UMK doesn't work, it's certainly a game I can live without. I'm gonna scour the internets to see if I can find a reason why this is happening.

    So I can't really give it a glowing review because of the one game it won't play, but that's not enough to stop me from recommending it.
     
  15. LuOmeoga
    OP

    Member LuOmeoga GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    123
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the review. I'm surprised PoR worked cause I know it doesn't work with the Sandisk 4GB. Thanks again for testing it. That's strange Mortal Combat didn't work though, not that I was going to play it anyway. That's actually like the first time I heard of that game. XD

    Thank you again to everyone that helped. I really appreciate it. =]
     
  16. DMPugh

    Newcomer DMPugh Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm just curious, what problems are being reported on the CycloDS forums for Adata memory?
     
  17. AcIdPort

    Newcomer AcIdPort Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    Colombia
  18. DMPugh

    Newcomer DMPugh Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    Canada
    Huh, no problems here with either my 1GB or my 4GB Adata card. Admittedly I hardly ever use the advanced menu so it's sort of a non-issue for me, but it takes just under 3 seconds to come up every time.
     

Share This Page