Hacking Need Help With Replacing or Repairing Flash Cart Please!

Shadow Hado

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Hello,

This is my first time ever posting on the forums rather than ocassionally lurking in them lol, so if I created this topic in the wrong forum I apologize. Also, I've tried to use Google and the forum search tool to answer as many of my own questions as I could, but to be honest some of this stuff just confuses me, and when I find websites/forums with conflicting information, it doesn't really help. :P

Here's my current hardware:
NDS Lite
CycloDS Evolution
EZ-Flash 3in1 Expansion Pack (DS Lite Version)

So, this all began last week when I wanted to start playing Final Fantasy V Advance for GBA on my CycloDS / 3in1 cart, and the game kept telling me all of the save slots were corrupted. From what I've read and done, I'm assuming the SRAM in my 3in1 cart is screwed. Here's what I've done already:

- Tried SRAM / NOR modes in GBAexploader, as well as launching rom directly from CycloDS menu
- Tried other random RPGs that I know have saved before
- Updated GBAexploader version
- Replaced battery with brand new, identical model battery (CR1220)
- Used a blank SRAM.bin file to try and "erase" the SRAM on the cart
- Cleaned contacts on the cart
And finally, because I never saw a post suggest this until last night...
- Ran Cory's SRAM Test (v2 I believe?) and got a write error. Also got the same error with verify.

From what I understand, if you get an error in the SRAM Test, either your battery is dead, or your SRAM is. Looks like it's my SRAM. Another thing I should note, is that even now after replacing the battery in the cart, every time I run GBAexploader, it still asks if it can set Slot 2 to be used with GBAexploader.

So, with all of that out there, I have a few questions that I just couldn't seem to find a direct answer to, or I want to verify the information I found is correct.