Need help with R4i Gold firmware...

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by spyromv, Feb 7, 2011.

Feb 7, 2011
  1. spyromv
    OP

    Newcomer spyromv Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Argentina
    I just downloaded the Wood R4i Gold firmware (1.23) and after I boot the DSi up and subsequently select the R4i in the cartidge box the screen goes black and the following text appears:

    "An error has occured. Press and hold the Power Button to turn the system off. Please see the Nintendo DSi Operations Manual for help troubleshooting."

    What's the problem? I'm using a 2GB Kingston Micro SD and alternatively a new 2GB Verbatim Micro SD and this is the box of my R4i Gold:

    [​IMG]

    Please, I would very much appreciate if anyone could tell me how to get the firmware working. I love Wood R4, it was the best whilst I had my old DS Lite. If nothing works then... okay, just tell me the best firmware that'll allow me to play Kingdom Hearts RE: Coded, please >.<

    Thanks in advance.
     


  2. Stevetry

    Banned Stevetry Most perverted person in GBATEMP

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,294
    Location:
    Puertorico
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    that R4 is crap it cant use it
     
  3. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    I'm pretty sure that error is related to the card not working on the DSi, not the Wood menu (which as Stevetry said, won't work).
    Most likely, your DSi is on v1.4.1 and the card is, as per the label, v1.4 only.

    The majority of crappy R4 clones, all R4s that aren't 1:1 clones of the original, are not update-able. They're produced by people who's only interest is to get $5~10 out of your pocket and then move on to the next sap, offering little to no support or updates. Their solution to the 1.4.1 update is the same solution they had for the 1.4 update: buy a new card.
    Maybe this time you'll do some research before buying a card and get one that has support for a menu that is consistently updated.
     
  4. spyromv
    OP

    Newcomer spyromv Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Argentina
    I realize now that I did zero research but... Is this it? I just wasted money on this R4i Gold and that's it? There's no way around it, at all?

    I don't wanna sound annoying but this is kind of shocking. If there's anything I could do in order to get a different firmware that'll work, that would be good enough for me.

    Sorry for being a n00b... But I'll be real happy if someone can help me. o.o
     
  5. Etalon

    Member Etalon Former Akaio Fanboy

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,205
    Country:
    Morocco
    It's your own fault.

    You can only throw it away now. (Or you can use it in an old DS)
     
  6. spyromv
    OP

    Newcomer spyromv Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Argentina
    I know it's my fault, no need to remind me, I'm here looking for an alternate solution to throwing it away.

    What's curious is, before I uploaded the Wood R4i Gold firmware, my friend had been given a firmware by the guys who sold me the R4i Gold (My friend went to pick it up for me) and loaded it to one of my mem cards. This firmware was an odd menu with anime backdrops (as far as I can recall) and it had Golden Sun: Dark Dawn on it, playing perfectly no less...

    I decided to change to Wood R4i Gold due to it not being able to play Kingdom hearts RE: Coded and Ghost Trick, but now I get that error...

    My lingering doubt is: Why did it work a few hours ago with a different firmware and now it won't work with anything (Beside that one firmware from before) else? It's mind-boggling. I don't quite understand what the problem is... other than the simple digit (.1) that one of you mentioned, since it differs to the "V1.4" label on the R4i Gold box.

    What do you think?
     
  7. Etalon

    Member Etalon Former Akaio Fanboy

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,205
    Country:
    Morocco
    You updated your Nintendo to 1.4.1 and killed your crap card with that. That's what I think.

    No matter how much you're writing here: This card will never work again on your DSi.

    Never. Nerver. Never. Never. Nerver. Never.

    Got it? [​IMG]
     
  8. spyromv
    OP

    Newcomer spyromv Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Argentina
    Is it not possible to go back to 1.4, without the .1? Surely you must know.
     
  9. RoMee

    Member RoMee ??

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,316
    Location:
    ??
    Country:
    United States
    don't listen to etalon, he dosen't know anything and alway thinks his opinion is fact

    easy answer is, your R4 clone CAN NOT use wood firmware

    Your R4 clone does not work on the DSi's 1.4.1 firmware, so if you updated your dsi, than your only option is to buy a new cart, unless you have a ds lite than you can still use your R4 on the DS lite
     
  10. spyromv
    OP

    Newcomer spyromv Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Argentina
    Alright. My R4i Gold is a clone, I guess I'll have to live with that.

    It won't be able to use Wood Firmware, it's really a pity as I wanted it...

    So uhm, kind sir, is there any other firmware that I'll be able to use without the black screen with the white text appearing? I'd really like to play 999, Trauma Center 2, KH Re: Coded and many others...

    Edit: F*ck... I guess that really is it. I'm gonna try returning this cart tomorrow and see if I can't get a different one. I think they only have R4s there... is there any you would recommend to me with my current system?
     
  11. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Etalon was right in this case.

    There's no upgrade for the cart (the "firmware" you think of as the system files is NOT the actual firmware, that's known as an OS) and no way to downgrade your DS.

    You bought a clone that will not work on your DS ever again.

    Do they sell ANYTHING that's not an R4 clone, at all?
     
  12. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Funny... cuz that's EXACTLY what Eatlon said.
    But I'm sure I'm just being negative (as usual according to you) and most likely flaming (by stating facts)... but hey! It's your lie and you can tell it however you want.
     
  13. ars25

    Member ars25 I like tacos and pie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    800
    Location:
    the world that never was
    Country:
    United States
    probably you won't be able to return it if you cant sell it and save up for and r4i gold wood supported an ackard or a scds2
     
  14. Etalon

    Member Etalon Former Akaio Fanboy

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,205
    Country:
    Morocco
    lol. You just repeated what I already said. Are you drunk again? [​IMG]
     
  15. Stevetry

    Banned Stevetry Most perverted person in GBATEMP

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,294
    Location:
    Puertorico
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    look at my post i say everything you guys say
     
  16. spyromv
    OP

    Newcomer spyromv Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Argentina
    I'm going to go return it and get another one today.

    Let's say, hypothetically, that they only work with R4s and R4is... And let's say there's many other options to R4i Gold v1.4... Sorry for being slow, but what should the 'box' say, for me to know it's not a clone and an actual flash card that will work fine?

    Also, what are other names (and ways to identify if they're 'good') for good DSi flashcarts?

    Thank you bunches for the comprehensive replies, everyone, I'll be done quick and will try to research more like at this very moment, in the future. ^^;

    As always, I appreciate, in advance, any support you might be able to bring.
     
  17. RoMee

    Member RoMee ??

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,316
    Location:
    ??
    Country:
    United States
  18. Jakob95

    Suspended Jakob95 I am the Avatar

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,344
    Location:
    New York City
    Country:
    United States
    All R4s that can be used on the DSi are clones. Check if they have an Acekard 2i, EZ-Flash Vi, Supercard DStwo, or Supercard DSonei. If they don't have any of those carts then you can get the M3i Zero the cart is crap but it can still run WoodM3 and it will work on your DSi. If they only have R4s then make sure on the box it says compatible with 1.4.1.
     
  19. spyromv
    OP

    Newcomer spyromv Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Argentina
    RoMee, Jakob, thanks bunches for your help. Basically, all I need to do is search for any R4 that explicitally says it'll work with 1.4.1.

    That sounds simple enough for even a n00b like me to do. Sigh, I only hope they have it.

    I'll keep you guys posted ^-^
     
  20. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
     

Share This Page