Need help updating to 4.1 and installing Homebrew.

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by ThaDraGun, Oct 3, 2009.

  1. ThaDraGun
    OP

    Member ThaDraGun GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    263
    Country:
    Canada
    this is probably like the 6th wii Ive modded and I dont know why I'm having so many problems this time. Its usually really easy. I just follow the tutorials and never have any problems everything runs smooth.

    Its a BRAND NEW wii, Purchased yesturday at Zellers. It has 3.4u firmware.
    I modded it with a drivekey without any problems. Burned games work fine.

    Following this tutorial http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=171901
    using the 4.1 Online Method

    I get to this step

    I tried a couple times and keep getting the error. I tried just skipping the step and doing the 4.1 updater and that gave an error and it said it wouldnt install.
    I tried installing Cios 14 and that wouldnt install either.

    Usbloader wont work ofcourse. Just gives me a black screen.

    What do I need to do to get hombrew working on this?? I need to have it done by Sunday. I have a friend over from out of town and Im doing his wii and he's leaving on sunday.
     
  2. uimy

    Newcomer uimy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Country:
    United States
    It seems to me you don't have your WIFI setup, go into your Wii settings and disable Wiiconnect24 then add your connection SAY NO TO THE UPDATE then try again.
     
  3. ThaDraGun
    OP

    Member ThaDraGun GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    263
    Country:
    Canada
    the wifi is set up. and it works.
    Step 1a] for Trucha bug needs a network connection and that worked. The next step didnt work.
    Also when I tried to do the 4.1 updater it spent like 30min downloading the files and stuff then it said it failed to install.
     
  4. Grendel23

    Newcomer Grendel23 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United States
    Hi- I'm softmodding a Wii for the first time and running into this exact problem. Anyone know what's up?
     
  5. uimy

    Newcomer uimy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Country:
    United States
    Have you guys tried the offline method?
     
  6. ThaDraGun
    OP

    Member ThaDraGun GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    263
    Country:
    Canada

    If you were following the same tutorial that I was the error was because of the file he included in his mod package
    You need to use Dop-IOS v7 by Marc and then it will work.

    I used the offline method and Dop-IOS v7 and everything went fine.
     
  7. uimy

    Newcomer uimy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Country:
    United States
    That's odd, I just used the guide yesterday on a friends Wii with no problems, I'm guessing it's a network issue of some kind.
     
  8. ThaDraGun
    OP

    Member ThaDraGun GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    263
    Country:
    Canada
    Well using the Dop-IOS that he included even when I was doing it with the offline method didnt work. Just the IOS60 install didnt work. He said it was because he included the newest version. Others had the same problem. After he suggested using Dop-IOS v7 instead it worked. Maybe the one you downloaded had the older version.. or maybe the new version just doesnt work for some. i dunno
     
  9. Grendel23

    Newcomer Grendel23 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United States
    I was actually following this guide:
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=168890

    But I'll take a look at the one you used. Are you saying TBR didn't work at all and you just opted for Dop-IOS v7 alone? Does that do the same thing? Thanks in advance for your help!
     

Share This Page