Need HELP!!!!!!! to un-brick Wii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by aria1810, Oct 17, 2009.

Oct 17, 2009
  1. aria1810
    OP

    Newcomer aria1810 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Country:
    Switzerland
    hey guys! I've had this problem a while now, and I get no answers anywhere I go(google, youtube). I have a Wii that I bought in Switzerland. It's logical that it's a E Wii.

    Well about a year ago, I tried to downgrade (don't ask me why, it was stupid of me) but something went wrong and I ended up haveing a Japanese System Menu. The firmware is now the latest 4.2J. I cannot play any europeean games, and I have not tryed playing anthers.

    The weird thing is that I dunno if it's semi bricked, cos I can go to the settings and such without any problems. I have kept homebrew channel(luckly).

    I tried Anyregion changer, but I get an error msg at the begining, wich still lets me get to the Region settings thingy but it says in red something like AREA/SYSTEMCONF MISMATCH. and then when it's halfway it gives me an error(something about Any title eraser).


    So yeah. PLZ IF YOU KNOW ANYTHING THAT WOULD HELP, TELL ME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  2. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    If your system menu is fully functional you're not bricked even if it's not the region you want. Still, I've never messed with ARC and don't know what that error is all about.
     
  3. aria1810
    OP

    Newcomer aria1810 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Country:
    Switzerland
    what do you think I should do then? Cos I tried to play SSBB or Mario Galaxy and both game don't work.
     
  4. aria1810
    OP

    Newcomer aria1810 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Wait. does that mean that I could just update a Wii System menu 4.2E? Sorry I'm a total newb... If yes how would I do that?
     
  5. G0dLiKe

    Member G0dLiKe who needs a title ;)

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,674
    Country:
    United States
    First of all install bootmii and make a nand backup.

    Afterwards you could try to install the corresponding 4.2E wad with wad manager.

    Make sure that you install all needed cIOS before.

    They are: cIOS 38 rev 14, Hermes cIOS 202, 222, 223(check your PM for a closer description).
     
  6. aria1810
    OP

    Newcomer aria1810 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Country:
    Switzerland
    ok I'll try but how do I do a nand backup?
     
  7. razorback78

    Member razorback78 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,183
    Country:
    Philippines
    the area/systemconf mismatch is a warning message of AnyRegion Changer that you had set an improper setting which conflict. for example your system menu region now is at 4.2J which is an NTSC but maybe your wii is set to a PAL setting. all you have to do is set all of the settings not conflicting with each other.

    you can reinstall back to system menu 4.2E using AnyRegion Changer but you will have to go back to 3.2E first because that software downgrades/upgrades the wii to 3.2. when you are already at 3.2E with all settings all jive together you could simply follow guides here to safely update to 4.2E.

    try to visit wiibrew.org for AnyRegion Changer info.
     
  8. aria1810
    OP

    Newcomer aria1810 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Country:
    Switzerland
    ok but how do I set the settings so that they don't conflict with each other? cos if it's something in the settings, I can't read it, it's in japanese.
     
  9. razorback78

    Member razorback78 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,183
    Country:
    Philippines
    no...i am not refering to the wii's system menu...i am refering to the settings on AnyRegion Changer that conflict. have you read the guide about AnyRegion Changer on the wiibrew.org site my friend? if not...please do.

    edit: btw i think this link may help you http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=175743

    your wii may not be the black wii but this tut includes region changing from japanese to english. i hope this helps. i could discuss this to you on details but it is already explained here. so good luck. [​IMG]
     
  10. aria1810
    OP

    Newcomer aria1810 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Hi! Boku mo Nihongin dessu! Yeah. don't ask me how I landed in Switzerland. Some thing about my dad's work. Kumon Kousai Gakuen...
    Yeah thatks for the post. I'm a total newb and did not get what the ARC thing on Wiibrew till I was going thrue G0dlike's post about the kuro Wii. I fixed it and it's working fine. Just the Warning thing is black and white at the beginning but it doesn't bother me at all, the rest is in color.

    So thanks everyone for helping me!!!! I guess I can now say that this thread IS CLOSED!!!
     
  11. aria1810
    OP

    Newcomer aria1810 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Actualy, another problem came up... Well my SSBB and Marion Galaxy froze before the "please put the strap on...."sign. so I formated my Wii. But when I tried to install the HBC again with Bannerbomb, it loads up bootmii but it tells me that "there are no vulnerable IOS etc... Please check for new up-date at http://......." I would like to install HBC so that I can check out Rock Band The Beatles...

    So what should I do?

    All help is welcome! And if you could reply asap it would be nice.

    Oh yeah btw, Bootmii installer is 0.6 the latest I think. And my system is 4.2E.
     

Share This Page