Need help starting in DS hacking/editing world

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by freetard, Nov 11, 2007.

Nov 11, 2007
  1. freetard
    OP

Newcomer freetard Member

Australia
    The title pretty much says it all. I'm new to the whole DS hacking/editing, in fact the entire game hacking/editing world and I'm currently trying to find a nice guide or some help in starting out.

Essentially what I'm looking to do is gain skills which will enable me to edit text and some graphics (strictly 2D) in DS games.

I've searched the forums but to no avail so I was hoping that perhaps some members could help me with the basics or alternatively direct me to some form of guide so I can learn myself.

I did some reading around prior to this and have equipped myslef with "dslazy" and "Nitro Explorer" from this I assume that basically I extract the files I want to edit, edit the files, then reinsert/recompile said files back into the rom.

My problem here is how does one go about editing these files, what tools will I need to use to edit them, what prior knowledge of skills would be useful (i.e. programming, graphic manipulation, hex editing, etc.) and what files would one target in order to edit text and graphics/pictures?

Finally, although I could probably worry about this after I manage to get the basics down, if I were to edit a game how would I be able to make it into a patch so as to be able to apply it to a clean rom (ala PPF files)

Thankyou for your time and assistance.

2. shadow1w2

Member shadow1w2 Still here.

United States
    Fisrt try classic game hacking. Then move up when the tools appear for the newer stuff.

Get a Hex editor and theres some good graphic editors out there too, though I cant think of them right now.

http://www.romhacking.net/
    May help get ya started if you look around.

There are some bits of how to hack audio and trimming tips on these forums but I dont think theres alot of data on general hacking.