Need help setting up WIFI on my pc

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic Chat' started by BoneMonkey, Jun 18, 2007.

Jun 18, 2007
  1. BoneMonkey
    OP

    Banned BoneMonkey The cheese stash is a lie.

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,226
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    trying to connect my pc to my sister's wifi router and here is my problem

    i find her network and i put the password in and when it tries to connect it says this

    aquiring network address

    then one moment later it says

    This connection has limited or no connectivity



    anyone know what could be wrong ?
     
  2. Jiggah

    Member Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,223
    Country:
    United States
    Uh...make sure the password is selected correctly when you input it. If it's WEP make sure you set the password to WEP. Also, to note, this "password/passphrase" is different than the one you use to access the actual router.
     
  3. xcalibur

    Member xcalibur Gbatemp's Chocolate Bear

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,166
    Location:
    Sacred Heart
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Could it be that the router is not suposed to take more than a certain amount of wireless devices?
    i have no real experience since theres only one computer in our house which uses the wireless (and my ds lol) so i dont know if his is true bu i have a friend whose house has like 2/3 computers and 2 laptops and one of their internets is always messing up since the router only suports a certain amount of devices.
    it could be the same case here. also make sure ur close to the router in case the walls of the room are pained wih leadbased paint since that could stop the signal from getting out..i know that sounds weird orstupid but ya never know ;D
    lastly, check if her dsl connection is alrigt as well
     
  4. BoneMonkey
    OP

    Banned BoneMonkey The cheese stash is a lie.

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,226
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    im getting a good signal my pc says the signal is excellent and its at 80 percent

    i think the problem is at my sisters end of the pc
     
  5. sipoon

    Member sipoon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    287
    Country:
    New Zealand
    check for mac filters on your router that might prevent your comp from goin on the intertubes
     
  6. reemixx

    Newcomer reemixx Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Your best bet is to turn off all security methods from the router first, including MAC address filtering, WEP or WPA or whatever you are using, and try to connect. If it works, you know where your problem lies.

    If it still doesn't work, consider these:

    Do you use a DHCP server? Try doing an ipconfig. If you're getting 169.254.x.x it's a APIPA address which won't let you access the net. Try manually setting an IP address.

    Do you use a PCI wireless adapter, or USB? Sometimes the USB port can be the culprit.

    Do you have Service Pack 2? There's a known bug in it, apparently. Have a read of this: http://www.pchell.com/support/limitedconnectivity.shtml

    Hope this helps.
     
  7. BoneMonkey
    OP

    Banned BoneMonkey The cheese stash is a lie.

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,226
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    i have windows xp pro service pack too
    this is the error im getting

    [​IMG]

    help me out guys :-(
     
  8. Samutz

    Member Samutz Wet Tissue Sample

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,598
    Location:
    See that hole in your wall?
    Country:
    United States
    With that error you're most likely not picking up DHCP.
    Check if the router (or another device on the network) is configured to act as a DHCP server (this is usually the router though, or the internet modem in some cases).
    If you can't look at the router (being that it's not yours), see if you can look at the other computers connected to your sister's router and see if they pick up DHCP.

    And did you try reemixx's suggestions yet?
     
  9. BoneMonkey
    OP

    Banned BoneMonkey The cheese stash is a lie.

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,226
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    its a USB wireless adapter

    we also desabled all the secruitey and still nothing :-(

    i might return this usb wireless adapter and get another one

    also my usb is 1.0 and my usb wireless adapter is 2.0 could that be a problem?
     
  10. blade85

    Member blade85 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Messages:
    174
    Country:
    United States
    it shouldnt be a problemif the adapter works with usb 1.0, sometimes those things have something on the box that says it works with older usb versions
     
  11. reemixx

    Newcomer reemixx Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Bingo.
    USB 2.0 devices (especially wireless adapters) need USB 2.0 ports. USB 1.1 just doesn't have the bandwidth.
     
  12. Jiggah

    Member Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,223
    Country:
    United States
    This makes a lot of sense I guess. Say your router is set to G mode only and you try putting in what you thing is a G mode USB adapter to a 1.1 USB, it'll probably downgrade it to B mode and therefore won't let you connect.
     

Share This Page