Need help playing wii roms from USB device via USB Loader GX

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Yoshisaur, Feb 24, 2016.

1. Yoshisaur
    OP

Yoshisaur Newbie

Newcomer
    Feb 24, 2016
    Gambia, The
    Hello,
    im quite new to using softmods on Wii. I want to play games with USB Loader GX and got the problem that some games work, bot most of them don't, which means that I either get a black screen or the game game returns to the Wii system screen.
    Warning: Spoilers inside!
    Honestly i don't know much about the whole softmodding topic so I'll try to write all information about the problem that might be relevant from the beginning.

I first installed the homebrew channel after the instructions I found on smashboards, in order to be able to play Project M (a Super Smash Bros Brawl mod). Plus the necessary IOS. Then I simply formatted my 16 GB Kingston USB 3.0 flash drive to WBFS and transfered the Brawl.iso to it (using Wii Backup Manager). (meanwhile I've read that using this format is outdated...) Everything went fine and i could play, even without updating USB Loader.

The problems started when I bought a cheap no name 128 GB USB 2.0 flash drive from china (128gb for 10€ sounded nice to me). At first the usb device wasn't even working with Usb Loader, so i used it's update function and got it working. Then I realised that only a few games are working, and strangely even games, that worked on my 16 GB Kingston flash drive before. So the evidence suggests that it could be the no name flash drive, that causes a problem. But I'm still not quite sure. I found similiar problems on this board, and followed the advice to update cIOS rev 20 to cIOS rev21 d2x v10-alt beta 53. Unfortunately it hasn't solved my problem. So i did a system check, in the hope that someone could tell me whether everything is right about my Wii (updated to 4.3E) or if i did anything wrong.

System check:
    Warning: Spoilers inside!

Offtopic: