ROM Hack Need help making one etrian odyssey iii code(ASM code),first test failed lol

demonata

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Hong Kong
When the JP version of Etrian Odysey 3(drowned city) was out,
some jap make a code that allows subclass' special skill to be shown normally on custom menu
020ABEE4 E1A00000

Now I want to make one in US version of game(sine nobody made that), but my first test failed.

Here's what I have done:
Since there's no obvious value to be tracked,
I checked the original DWORD value stored in 020ABEE4 , which is 1A000015 (15 00 00 1A)
and confirmed the change of value to 00 00 A0 E1 and how the ingame effect comes in.

Then I found 40 address in the US version having the same DWORD.
40 trials isn't long, but sadly, none of them is successful.

I start to wonder what else can I try now, since I'm new to this kind of thing.
Please give some suggestions!

FAST6191

Techromancer
Editorial Team
Trophies
XP
Country
United Kingdom
I have to run shortly and do not have the games to hand to test but I will run through what happens and some theory that will hopefully get you looking somewhere that will get it done.

020ABEE4 E1A00000
0XXXXXXX is a write 32 bit value to XXXXXXX (plus any offset if that is part of the cheat but it is not here). The 32 bit value is E1A00000 in this case.

As you say that location is in the memory and most likely within the area that the binary gets copied to when the game is initialised.

Again as you say this means you are changing the binary and in doing so changing an instruction.
E1A00000 translates as a NOP (no operation or if you prefer telling the processor to twiddle its thumbs instead) and is the traditional method for assembly hackers to prevent an instruction from doing anything (deleting things shifts everything out of alignment and quickly breaks a game).