Need help as to how to set up Action Replay on my R4

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by tragicmat1, Apr 19, 2009.

  1. tragicmat1
    OP

    Newcomer tragicmat1 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Hello! My first post on this forum so hopefully I won't get anybody mad [​IMG]


    Anyhow, I am not a very bright person so I need some help so I can get Action Replay codes to work on my R4.

    I've spent many hours trying to figure out how to do this, but nothing seems to be working :/.

    At the moment, I have downloaded Cheat Code Editor v 1.01 and USRCheat. After download, they came out as .rar files and I do not know what to do with them at this point.

    Thank you in advance to those that help!
     
  2. triassic911

    Member triassic911 Burst Mode

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,743
    Location:
    NYC, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Download winrar here.

    Winrar extracts the files from the rar files you've downloaded. After that, just place the usrcheat.dat in your system folder.
     
  3. tragicmat1
    OP

    Newcomer tragicmat1 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for help! I got the file to open [​IMG] Now I'm trying to figure out how to get the codes to work. At the moment I can see the codes after clicking (Y) but it doesn't work as the game loads.

    Edit: I don't know why, but the file corrupted or something as the cheat code editor won't even bring it up anymore
     
  4. Porkdish

    Member Porkdish GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    335
    Country:
    Australia
    The default R4 firmware has some serious issues with cheating, Certain cheat types won't work at all unless you get an edited _DS_Menu.dat file. And there's a hard coded limit on the number of entries in the database the R4 can support, entries after that number is reached are ignored by the firmware.

    Visit the official cheat thread for more explanation and a link to the edited _ds_menu.dat and a better cheat editor

    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=84991

    I'll try to explain it a little here too...

    The latest cheat.dat OR usercheat.dat file supplied by GBATemp's loveable Narin are too big for the last and final R4 firmware (1.18) to handle.

    Cheats are stored alphabetically in the database. As more games are added to the cheat database, more games will not display the option to cheat (on the R4) and the earlier in the alphabet the cheats will cut off at. I think at the moment, games that start with an S or T or any letter after that will NOT work with the default R4 firmware. They do not show the option to cheat, despite having an entry in the database.

    This is a limitation of the R4's firmware, it can only support a certain number of cheat entries.

    If you DO get the option to cheat displayed for a game (You can press Y to cheat), it will open a small cheat list of blue and black text on a grey background. You have to scroll through and enable the cheats you want. Follow the on screen instructions. You should see an entry that indicates how many of the cheats for a particular game you have enabled.

    Running the game from then on should always use cheats you have turned on. Pay attention to the cheat list page as sometimes certain cheats require you to press activator keys during the game to enable the cheat. These activators are listed on the cheat screen.

    You should only use either of the usercheat or cheat dat files, NOT both.

    The better cheat editor is R4CCE. If you're determined to use the R4 firmware then you can use this to delete entries for games you don't have. Its a long and boring process and is something you will have to do EVERY TIME Narin releases a new cheat database and you decide to update.

    If you're having trouble just cheating, then I wish you luck with this but you might consider trying to use YSMenu on your R4. I recommend using it as a NDS rom that you can load from the R4 menu, so you have both options available. Ysmenu has better cheat support.

    There are loads of confusing threads stickied and not stickied in this forum explaining the many convoluted ways to set up ysmenu. It can be quite confusing. I wish you luck with that and refuse to help any further [​IMG]
     
  5. triassic911

    Member triassic911 Burst Mode

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,743
    Location:
    NYC, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Honestly, just go YSMenu.
     

Share This Page