Need fast help installing my flip top! D:

Discussion in 'Sony PlayStation 1 & 2' started by War, Nov 30, 2007.

Nov 30, 2007
  1. War
    OP

    Member War Take it easy~

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5,409
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    Japan
    For reasons I cant discuss at the moment, I have to get my flip top installed in the next hour and a half. Ive done everything right up to the step where you remove the eject and power buttons. I dont wanna break em or anything.

    Also, theres a silver strip connecting the top and the PS2... how the heck am I supposed to do that? Can I just cut it? Do I have to re glue it to the flip top?

    Im using a V7 Flip Top on my V7 NTSC PS2 FAT.
     


  2. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,102
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The silver strip is the ribbon cable connecting the power and eject buttons to the ps2 , don't cut it. Just take the the power/eject button off the top half off the case , that will free it. You have to do it anyway , to change the buttons over to the flip top.
     
  3. War
    OP

    Member War Take it easy~

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5,409
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    Japan
    Okay. Do I just yank em off?
     
  4. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,102
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I wouldn't just yank the switch , you might break it . It should just pop out , just be careful not to let the ribbon cable slide out of the switch , can be a right pain to get back in.
     
  5. War
    OP

    Member War Take it easy~

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5,409
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    Japan
    So I push it towards the inside of the machine?

    I think Im doing this wrong... its not popping out, and I really have no idea what I have to take out or how to.
     
  6. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,102
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It should just slide back a bit and then up to get free. If you can't get it off the case the eject button might be catching as it sticks out the front of the case further than the power button.
     
  7. cracker

    Member cracker Nyah!

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,132
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG]

    Take a precision philips screw driver (or anything else that is thin and flat) and pry it away from the lid on the inside. There is a tiny plastic peg holding it on that makes it somewhat hard to get off sometimes.
     
  8. War
    OP

    Member War Take it easy~

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5,409
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    Japan
    So Im only trying to pry OFF the buttons, right? So I just put something thing between the plastic and the hard part and push out?

    Damn, I STILL cant get it off. Im starting to think I should have gone with the slider...
     
  9. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,102
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You're suppose to be taking off the button assembly. You want the whole thing that the silver cable attaches to.
     
  10. War
    OP

    Member War Take it easy~

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5,409
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    Japan
    Can someone post pictures or something? Cause Im honestly not getting this at all.

    What the hell am I trying to get off? Just the buttons? The entire thing? Im looking up guides, but can't understand any of them!
     
  11. amemoryoncelost

    Member amemoryoncelost GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Messages:
    261
    Country:
    United States
    try these instructions:
    wrong link, now I can't find it....

    I can't remember if mine had a screw or a clip...

    post a picture of yours, close up, from the inside...
     
  12. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,102
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    http://www.mod-chip.com/en/ps2_reset_eject_button.php

    That's a pic of the button assembly. That's the whole thing and what is meant to come off.
     
  13. amemoryoncelost

    Member amemoryoncelost GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Messages:
    261
    Country:
    United States
    I swear it should just pop out...

    Okay, I just looked at my original top. There looked to be a little glue holding both buttons in, give it a little more effort and it should pop out...

    I can't remember which version I had though...
     
  14. War
    OP

    Member War Take it easy~

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5,409
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    Japan
    Okay, I finally got it off! But new problem... I cant get it to stay on the Flip Top case. It doesnt "snap" on or anything :\
     
  15. amemoryoncelost

    Member amemoryoncelost GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Messages:
    261
    Country:
    United States
    did the fliptop come with a little screw? That's what it's for.
     
  16. War
    OP

    Member War Take it easy~

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5,409
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    Japan
    No, it didn't, actually.
     
  17. cracker

    Member cracker Nyah!

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,132
    Country:
    United States
    Use some double sided tape, sticky tac, etc.
     
  18. Bob Loblaw

    Member Bob Loblaw Read the Bob Loblaw Law Blog!

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,260
    Country:
    United States
    I know this isn't helping but my curiousity is through the roof right now [​IMG] when you get everything you need assembled and finished proper, could you please please explain why on earth you needed to have a playstation with a fliptop by a certain time?!?!

    As for the screw..perhaps you could take one from elsewhere on the ps2 that it isn't really needed maybe?
     
  19. ZeWarrior

    Member ZeWarrior TheWarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil
    The swap magic she bought requires a flip top Ps2. Really the other one is less of a hassle, you should of when with that sliding one.
     
  20. War
    OP

    Member War Take it easy~

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5,409
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    Japan
    No, I bought a Swap Magic 3.6+ with a flip top for a V7 PS2, which is a chubby PS2. It was specifically designer for the chubby.

    After a while, I finally got it set up. However, I had to tape down the eject and power buttons. Very crappyly, if I may add.

    Also, I'm pretty disappointed in the site where I ordered it. Took over a week to deliver, and when it finally got there, I realized as I was installing it that one of the hinges of the flip top were BROKEN.
     

Share This Page