Need an answer to an old question?

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Games & Content' started by Friction Baby, May 27, 2008.

May 27, 2008
  1. Friction Baby
    OP

    Member Friction Baby GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Messages:
    329
    Country:
    Canada
    I have an xbox 360 (Modded my self Benq iXtreme v1.41), and a softmodded xbox original.

    With this said I have been doing reading about backwards compatibility form xbox to 360, They say you have to patch the game and burn it to a dual layer DVD. Well this tempted me to play around a bit so I referenced the compatibility list found a game I had in my library and put the backed up game in the 360 and received an error, Fine so I took an original xbox game and the 360 played it? My question is this if the original game plays in the original xbox and it plays in the 360 why won't a backed up version of an original xbox game play on the 360 without it being on a dual layer DVD?

    I am only trying to understand why;)
     
  2. Bob Evil

    Member Bob Evil The Department of Home-Made Insecurity

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3,783
    Location:
    Out of the corner of your eye
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Easiest answer (It doesn't have a real explanation ... sorry) : All copies must be on dual-layers, for the 360 to play them ...

    Sorry it's not a better explanation ... it's just a fact ...


    EDIT : I'm sure someone will come along with a better explanation for you ... I only posted this to let you know that we are paying attention [​IMG]
     
  3. Friction Baby
    OP

    Member Friction Baby GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Messages:
    329
    Country:
    Canada
    LOL, Well thank you for the attempt [​IMG]
     
  4. Friction Baby
    OP

    Member Friction Baby GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Messages:
    329
    Country:
    Canada
    Where is FAST6191 he usually has a real good answer for this type of question lol
     
  5. jalapeno

    Member jalapeno GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    233
    Country:
    Australia
    the hacked firmware you choose was the 'stealth' one,

    so it wont play unstealthed games as a defense.

    and the original backups, have not been stealthed [although i think u can stealth them]


    i never though the xbox originals had to be on dual layer disc/ but i could be wrong.
     
  6. Friction Baby
    OP

    Member Friction Baby GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Messages:
    329
    Country:
    Canada
    Hmmm..... I see so it would appear that it may have to do with the hacked firmware and security on the original xbox games as well how the games are being ripped This is interesting.
     

Share This Page