Need Advice About Upgrading To 4.1U

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Lakerfanalways, Jul 20, 2009.

Jul 20, 2009
  1. Lakerfanalways
    OP

Member Lakerfanalways GBAtemp Advanced Fan

United States
    Hi everyone. I am a newbie as far as upgrading is concerned. I am currently running 3.4U that is soft modded(Which I had help in doing) plus I have a mod chip(The D2Pro one). On my Wii I have the Homebrew channel, the backup launcher, and a few of those game wads. I also have 600 blocks free on my Wii. Today I got one of those update emails sent to my Wii, I have not updated yet(Because I don't know how to do it)
    On my SD Card, the IOS's that I have are as follows:
    IOS16.wad
    IOS38-64-v3609.wad
    IOS53-64-4113
    IOS55-64-4633
    IOS249-r7
    I assume all of these are installed on my Wii, at least the majority of them. I know that a few months ago I had an issue with a game not playing so someone sent me an IOS and I installed it and it worked.
    I was wondering if it is first of all, worth upgrading or should I just stick to 3.4 since I am not having any issues(except for sometimes I put in a game and it doesn't show up in the disk channel, I guess that can happen with any of these firmwares)..if it is worth upgrading, what is the best and easiest way to do it. I have no clue how to downgrade or any of that other stuff since I am so afraid of making a mistake. I was just gonna press the update button on the Wii itself but I was afraid what would happen if I did that. So what is the best advice you guys can give me. I really appreciate it. Thanks so much

2. tanis698

Member tanis698 GBAtemp Regular

United States
    pretty much any firmware can be hacked .i did nintendo's update to get 4.1u and everything works fine.

3. Lakerfanalways
    OP

United States