Need a new slot 1 card

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by ARK6476, Sep 25, 2009.

Sep 25, 2009

Need a new slot 1 card by ARK6476 at 5:28 AM (960 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. ARK6476
    OP

    Newcomer ARK6476 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    So, I haven't really been following the DS scene for quite a while and I need some advice. I've had my M3 simply for a few years now but its age is starting to show. First a lot of games stopped working, which I could deal with, but now I'm having trouble running new Homebrew. Seeing as how there's no longer firmware updates I think it's time for a new card.

    While doing some research the Acekard R.P.G. caught my eye: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nintendo_DS_s...vices#Acekard_2

    Am I onto something here or am I way off? It seems pretty cool, being open sourced and having built in NAND memory. Or is there a better card which I should pick up?
     
  2. wolffangalchemist

    Member wolffangalchemist This is bat country!

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,406
    Location:
    middleofnowhere, AL
    Country:
    United States
    AKRPG is good but it you want dsi compatibility in the future you might want to get a AK2i it's still a acekard so it can use akaio 1.5 witch currently loads all released games.
    since you live in the us order from gamebygame they have free shipping and it's fast to 2 or 3 day for the package to get to you.
     
  3. purplesludge

    Member purplesludge anyone have any ideas for this space

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,047
    Location:
    wv
    Country:
    United States
    That or cyclo ds but its a bit pricier.
     
  4. Leonidas

    Member Leonidas GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    479
    Location:
    sLOVEnia
    Country:
    Slovenia
    Buy Acekard 2i, Acekard RPG is expensive, and no longer in production. The extra NAND memory is pointless, since all games run full speed on Ak2i with AKAIO software.
     
  5. elixirdream

    Member elixirdream GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
    go for ak2i, cycloDS or m3real
    why not you tell us a little more on your preference (besides akrpg)
     
  6. clegion

    Member clegion GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,612
    Country:
    United States
    go get acekard or m3i, my acekard nevers fail me
     
  7. 1ronlung

    Member 1ronlung GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    131
    Country:
    United States
    I'm looking for an ackard i as I type ..
    I currently have an m3 perfect, which hasn't had any firmware updates in like two years, so as for M3, I say boycot the b astards.

    Something that I've just noticed .. The ackard seems to be manafactured by R4. Did I read somewhere that the R4 team has broken up ?
    Don't want to be stuck with another card with no f/w updates ...

    BTW.. Best prices so far:
    http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.18728

    Apparently, shipping times suck, though.
     
  8. Depravo

    Global Moderator Depravo Jaded curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,076
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Some of the R4 clones were based on Acekard hardware but real Acekards were never manufactured by R4.
     

Share This Page