Need 2slot card!

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by Shaorin, Jun 21, 2007.

Jun 21, 2007

Need 2slot card! by Shaorin at 9:06 AM (883 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. Shaorin
    OP

    Newcomer Shaorin Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    83
    Country:
    Australia
    I'm looking for a 2-slot card that works with my R4.

    - I want to be able to play any gba roms
    - Real Time Clock
    - To be able to transfer pokemon from any gba game to Diamond/Pearl game
    - Huge storage space to fit many roms in
    - Cheap price if possible
     
  2. 4saken

    Member 4saken Retired Ace Attorney

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,358
    Country:
    Australia
    You're asking for the impossible.

    The following things clash:

    To be able to transfer pokemon from any gba game + huge storage.

    If you want to choose between either, M3 Lite for everything except cheap price and nds-gba linkage,

    OR

    EZ3in1 for everything except storage. AND REAL TIME CLOCK [​IMG]

    Both work with R4 flawlessly.

    EDIT: It's worth to note that only the M3 Perfect has GBA support (Professional has tuned down support)
     
  3. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I'm very content about my M3 Lite Perfect.

    It runs all GBA-games I tried (even hard ones, like NES-classics), Real Time Clock works, you can buy as much memory for it as you like (it uses MicroSD-cards) but it's quite expansive and can't link the GBA Pokémon games with the DS ones...

    You could also try the EZ 3 in 1. AFAIK it plays any GBA-game. I'm not sure about the Real Time Clock, but it should be in there... Linking GBA- and DS-Pokémon-games works with a patch, it's quite cheap but... It has storage for only one rom.

    You could buy both of them. Use a MicroSD-card to put your GBA-roms on it, and play them on the M3 Lite. Whenever you want to link, you put the MicroSD-card in your R4 and flash a GBA-game to the EZ 3 in 1...
     
  4. Shaorin
    OP

    Newcomer Shaorin Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    83
    Country:
    Australia
    Does the EZ 3 in 1 need a memory card?
     
  5. TLSpartan

    Member TLSpartan Kills threads

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,053
    Country:
    Australia
    No it has 256Mb built in Shaorin.
     
  6. Shaorin
    OP

    Newcomer Shaorin Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    83
    Country:
    Australia
    Does the EZ3in1 stick out? 256mb is like 16mb rom size? Does it come with a USB reader/writer?
     
  7. 4saken

    Member 4saken Retired Ace Attorney

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,358
    Country:
    Australia
    Apparently it sticks out a bit (less than half a millimeter), and the finish is not glossy.

    256Mb is equal to 32 megabytes, the largest size for any retail GBA game. You will need to use the slot 1 card (your R4) to write the game onto the NOR or PSRAM memory (you can have one on both at a time - IIRC they don't interfere with one another). You will not need a separate writer - the DS and Rudolphs Tool/GBALdr will do it for you
     
  8. MCTF

    Newcomer MCTF Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Portugal
    I've got a M3 Perfect Lite + 1GB Kingston (JAP) and I'm quite pleased with it. The NDS-GBA transfers only really matter for Pokemon Diamond/Pearl wich I don't play, so I'm perfectly happy with a lot of GBA roms to choose from. 2GB of roms (1GB R4 + 1GB M3 Perfect) makes for a quite entertaining while [​IMG]
     
  9. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    The 3-in-1 does not have an RTC.

    It has the same amount of storage space as your slot 1 cart. All GBA games and saves are stored in the slot 1 cart except for the ones currently on the 3-in-1.
     
  10. Shaorin
    OP

    Newcomer Shaorin Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    83
    Country:
    Australia
    Oh if it doesn't have RTC then wouldn't that make you unable to play pokemon? unless it works without RTC
     
  11. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    I think some of the pokemon games didn't have an RTC, and there are patches for the ones that do use it that allow the games to run on any flashcart.
     
  12. Shaorin
    OP

    Newcomer Shaorin Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    83
    Country:
    Australia
    Is there other 2slot cards that are in the progress of making the ability to link gba-ds?
     
  13. 4saken

    Member 4saken Retired Ace Attorney

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,358
    Country:
    Australia
    Probably not.
     

Share This Page