^^ndstitle-0993^^

Discussion in 'GBAtemp & Scene News' started by TPi, Apr 9, 2006.

Apr 9, 2006

^^ndstitle-0993^^ by TPi at 4:20 AM (6,168 Views / 0 Likes) 26 replies

  1. TPi
    OP

    Former Staff TPi One Tired Raccoon

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,197
    Country:
    Canada
    ^^ndsrelease-0993^^
     


  2. TPi
    OP

    Former Staff TPi One Tired Raccoon

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,197
    Country:
    Canada
    This is a dump of the cart that dispenses the WiFi demos at your local US gaming stores and at trade shows, etc. No cart scan is available, but you can get screenshots of it in action and pictures of what the console/station looks like here: http://www.kotaku.com/gaming/ds-download-station/

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  3. dafatkid27

    Member dafatkid27 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    486
    Country:
    United States
    Grab the dump of the actual cart as is (@ gbadev), and host your own kiosk. It's quite fun. [​IMG]
     
  4. DarkLink

    Member DarkLink Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    398
    Country:
    United States
    I just used the Uncompressor to run the Demos off of my Supercard as I only got one NDS [​IMG] wonder if some one can hack this and add flashme as one of the downloadable goodies so people can flash their DS's without the need for a passme.... [​IMG]
     
  5. dafatkid27

    Member dafatkid27 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    486
    Country:
    United States
    I believe that wouldn't work. I remember someone saying something about how if you rebuilt the rom and ran it, it would fail the built in RSA check or something. But then again, you never know these days, some things these people do are pretty amazing.
     
  6. DarkLink

    Member DarkLink Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    398
    Country:
    United States
    Well that's why I did say "hack" [​IMG]
     
  7. AshuraZro

    Member AshuraZro Belongs in a museum.

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2,409
    Location:
    Stoney Creek, ON
    Country:
    Canada
    I just tested this out since I have 2 DS right here at the moment and while the program did show up and download in "Download Play", it booted to some good ol' familiar white screens with Nintendo logo on top screen. I assume of course this is because the receiving DS is NOT flashed. Neither was the broadcasting one as well.
     
  8. dafatkid27

    Member dafatkid27 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    486
    Country:
    United States
    Correct, the receiving DS must be flashed.
     
  9. Dirtie

    Former Staff Dirtie :'D

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Messages:
    3,705
    Location:
    Zealer
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Oh what, the station is just a DS [​IMG]
    I didn't even realise.
     
  10. feriol

    Member feriol GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    119
    Country:
    Germany
    Working fine here, uploading from a flashed ds to an unflashed one. I doubt that the sending one being flashed or not has any influence over the outcome, since the receiver does all the RSA checking himself, and both the "loader menu" and the demos themselves aren't modified in any way by a flashme'd DS (so it's exactly as if the data had come from an unflashed one).
     
  11. Ranma13

    Newcomer Ranma13 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United States
    Can anybody confirm if an unflashed DS can run demos downloaded from a flashed DS? There's an anime convention coming up soon and I don't have a costume ready, but I can become "Mobile DS Download Station Man" if it works.
     
  12. Knattabert

    Newcomer Knattabert Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    United States
    I run it from a flashed DS and tried downloading from an unflashed one.
    It didn't work... (freeze at Nintendo logo)

    Anyone know why? Any workaround?

    It only happens when I use M3. When I use a flashcart, download games usually work. But I can't run this demo kiosk server on my flashcart it freezes after the first screen...
     
  13. Glacius0

    Member Glacius0 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    604
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    It's the same reason why download play on normal games never works from M3/SC to unflashed DSes. But yeah, I don't know what the theory is behind that. An interesting thought: maybe you can replace the demo's with other ones like the e3 2005 demos. Perhaps you can even add, but that would probably require some additional hacking.
     
  14. Strider

    Member Strider Next to the mainstream

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    901
    Country:
    Maybe something related to encryption not being used by flashed DS'es?

    (just a guess)
     
  15. Knattabert

    Newcomer Knattabert Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    United States
    But when I run a DS game with LoadMe on a GBA flashcart, Download Play to unflashed DS units works. With the M3 it doesn't. Why is that so?
     
  16. OrR

    Member OrR Rice-megatron Expert

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Location:
    Hildesheim/Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    Holy shit! So can this be used as the legendary WifiMe2?
     
  17. QazzaQY2K

    Member QazzaQY2K GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Messages:
    101
    Location:
    HBG
    Country:
    Sweden
    Hmm interesting.. cuz some games singel multiplayer do work to send to unflashed NDS's like Tetris that works just fine.. and i got a SCSD FlashMe v6 but if i try sending the Metroid Singel MP it also gets stuck at teh Nintendo logo .. maybe this is a SCSD firmware thingy.. just like it got stuck at time to time on the wifi me parts maybe this is the same issue .. is there any report about the G6 or EZ flashcards having issues with Singel pack MP sending to unflashed NDS's ? anyway can't be that long be4 some one makes a homebrew for NDS to actualy send Wifi me with the NDS and then you just send over flashme or something else [​IMG]
     
  18. Filb

    Member Filb GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2003
    Messages:
    183
    Country:
    Germany
    Can't get it working with LoadMe either. [​IMG]
    Please someone make a GBA FlashCart compatible version. [​IMG]
     
  19. tgc_9013

    Member tgc_9013 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    162
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    I tested it with my flashed DS (SC SD), I sent demo's to an unflashed DS, and every demo worked fine [​IMG]
     
  20. DarkLink

    Member DarkLink Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    398
    Country:
    United States
    Reading the first few comments crushed my dreams [​IMG]
    But the last few post brought them back up [​IMG]
     

Share This Page