NDStation v1.0

Discussion in 'GBAtemp & Scene News' started by shaunj66, Jul 19, 2007.

Jul 19, 2007

NDStation v1.0 by shaunj66 at 12:06 AM (13,561 Views / 0 Likes) 67 replies

  1. shaunj66
    OP

    Administrator shaunj66 Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    9,830
    Location:
    South England
    Country:
    United Kingdom







    NDStation v1.0

    EZ-Flash 3in1 Flasher tool








    chuckstudios has released NDStation v1.0. This is an alternative EZ-Flash 3in1 flashing tool for DLDI supported slot-1 flash kits.
    [title:NDStation v1.0 readme]----------------------

    NDStation v1.0 |

    ----------------------

    July 18, 2007 |

    ----------------------



    NDStation is a flasher for the EZFlash 3-in-1 Expansion Pack
    which allows you to package a ROM within a .NDS file and therefore
    run it from your Slot 1 flash card's main menu. Its purpose
    is to make things feel more integrated and unified on your flash card.


    ----------------------

    Usage: |

    ----------------------



    To use NDStation, run the NDStation.exe included in this package.
    Some of the functions are self-explanatory, such as choosing the
    GBA ROM image you wish to use and where you want it to be copied.
    Game title defines the embedded title in the ROM. The first line is
    automatically set to the basename of the ROM chosen, although it can
    easily be changed. Clicking "Customize the NDS" will open a menu
    where you can change the icon for the NDS file. A border option is
    also available but is inactive as border support is not yet
    implemented in the DS-side application. "Preview NDS" gives you a
    rough idea of how the NDS will appear on R4DS's menu. "Go..." builds
    your .NDS file, and is finished when a message box pops up and says
    "Complete!" Don't forget to DLDI patch the NDS for your card.


    ----------------------

    Thanks: |

    ----------------------



    cory1492 - My flashing code is based on GBAldr

    Noda - For the EFS library

    olimar - Pointed me to FWNitro for GBA booting code

    dg10050 - Came up with the name, since it is a lot like POPS

    on the PSP (working title was EFSgba)

    ZiNgA BuRgA - The GUI is based off of Simple Popstation GUI 2 beta,

    http://dpgdownloads.com/ndstation/gui.png for proof

    [​IMG] Download
    [​IMG] Source


     


  2. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Is this only for flashing a game to NOR, or does it run games from PSRAM? How are saves managed?
     
  3. chuckstudios

    Member chuckstudios Putting the pro in procrastination

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    896
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Country:
    United States
    It uses NOR. Saves are managed quite flawlessly, and are written to NameOfGame.sav for file NameOfGame.nds. It uses stripped down versions GBAldr's writing and SRAM code, so you know it's reliable [​IMG]
     
  4. Fadakar

    Newcomer Fadakar Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    97
    Location:
    California, USA
    Country:
    United States
    I get a runtime error every time I try to make an .NDS. [​IMG]
     
  5. chuckstudios

    Member chuckstudios Putting the pro in procrastination

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    896
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG]

    What error?
     
  6. Fadakar

    Newcomer Fadakar Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    97
    Location:
    California, USA
    Country:
    United States
    "Runtime error '76':

    Path not found!"

    I specified the output folder, the folder the ROM was in had to have been right since I browsed the file manager to get it, I don't understand what it could be. [​IMG]
     
  7. chuckstudios

    Member chuckstudios Putting the pro in procrastination

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    896
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm... I have absolutely no idea. What's your setup (OS, location of the ROM, location of the EXE)?
     
  8. Fadakar

    Newcomer Fadakar Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    97
    Location:
    California, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Running on Vista(which I hate. >:(), location of the ROM is my desktop, and my exe is in a folder on my desktop called NDStation.
     
  9. chuckstudios

    Member chuckstudios Putting the pro in procrastination

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    896
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Country:
    United States
    It may be the Vista. I am running XP Home and it works fine for me.
     
  10. DjoeN

    Member DjoeN Captain Haddock!

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,925
    Location:
    Somewhere in this potatoland!
    Country:
    Belgium
    Works great [​IMG]

    Maybe it would be nice to let you choose where it flashes to [​IMG]
    "NOR" or "PSRAM"
     
  11. leetdude_007

    Member leetdude_007 Official GBAtemp Assassin That Has Never Killed An

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Country:
    United States
    This is an amazing start!!
     
  12. chuckstudios

    Member chuckstudios Putting the pro in procrastination

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    896
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, that and borders are planned for the next version.
     
  13. Echo1

    Member Echo1 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Wow! It's good. Are the saves err...saved securely? So, I can swap and change without my games loosing anything?
     
  14. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    At what point are the saves actually written to the slot 1 cart?
     
  15. chuckstudios

    Member chuckstudios Putting the pro in procrastination

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    896
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Country:
    United States
    The saves are written to the Slot1 cart when you go to write another game.
     
  16. PikaPika

    Member PikaPika GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    695
    Location:
    AZ
    Country:
    United States
    Can you use it with an EZ-4 like the 2in1?
     
  17. IBNobody

    Member IBNobody I try to keep myself amused.

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,127
    Location:
    Texas, Hang 'Em High
    Country:
    United States
    So it only writes the save file when you switch games in the NOR?

    If so, that's not a good idea. The EZ's derivatives are notorious for losing saves at the most inopportune moment. Their batteries lose their charge, and you're left with a missing save.

    Might I suggest a companion app to dump the save and return back to the slot-1 flashcart?
     
  18. chuckstudios

    Member chuckstudios Putting the pro in procrastination

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    896
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Country:
    United States
    That doesn't really happen with the 3in1. Also, all 3 of the other flashing programs do it pretty much the same way I do.
     
  19. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    I second this.
     
  20. 4saken

    Member 4saken Retired Ace Attorney

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,358
    Country:
    Australia
    Great app [​IMG]
    Looking forward to a PSRAM option later [​IMG]

    EDIT: Wait can somebody sort this out for me. Each NDS is for a separate GBA file, so there will be 1 NDS file for each GBA file you want. What kind of size is each file? I'm guessing it'll be a bit more than the GBA file?
     

Share This Page