Homebrew [NDS] Yet Another nds-bootstrap Forwarder: more than 40 forwarders are now possible

mullse01

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 24, 2022
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
27
Country
United States
The forwarder3ds site works in a different way (which counts for the 40 dsiware limit). The OP's way of doing forwarders is different so that it doesn't count as a dsiware app.

Anyway, I'll DM you so you help me testing something with the GUI in the following days (maybe tomorrow) if you don't mind.
Sure, no problem! I'll be sure to check my DMs.
 

Brian_Z95

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jan 24, 2022
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
19
XP
18
Country
United States
The generator doesn't like the "&" in Mario & Luigi titles. Easily fixed by changing the names of roms, but might be inconvenient or not obvious for some.
 

lifehackerhansol

i write working(?) code
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2021
Messages
352
Trophies
0
XP
712
Country
Canada
File name, I would assume the are other escape characters that break the python code, but I haven't yet dug into it.
There was already a fix that should be added in the next release. You could grab the `generator.py` from the source code and see if it works for you.

Seems to work on Linux and Windows, at least on my end. (Just the generator.py needs updating. The GUI is fine.)
 

MaiconErick

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2016
Messages
140
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
332
Country
Brazil
Can you add support for custom TID?
I already have a lot of ds forwarders I installed several years ago, I want to start using yours but if I just use the stock TID it would create another entry on my Activity Log because I used that "randomize TID" option on the forwarder generator app I was using.
 

lifehackerhansol

i write working(?) code
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2021
Messages
352
Trophies
0
XP
712
Country
Canada
Can you add support for custom TID?
I already have a lot of ds forwarders I installed several years ago, I want to start using yours but if I just use the stock TID it would create another entry on my Activity Log because I used that "randomize TID" option on the forwarder generator app I was using.
Even if I did, it wouldn't apply to your situation as the 3DS will generate a completely different ID regardless, because it's no longer a DSiWare app it's a 3DS app. So it's straight up impossible to make it detect as a game you've installed in the past.

With that being said I am looking to implement a custom unique ID. Will come soon:tm:
 

MaiconErick

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2016
Messages
140
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
332
Country
Brazil
Even if I did, it wouldn't apply to your situation as the 3DS will generate a completely different ID regardless, because it's no longer a DSiWare app it's a 3DS app. So it's straight up impossible to make it detect as a game you've installed in the past.

With that being said I am looking to implement a custom unique ID. Will come soon:tm:
Oh I see.. I didn't actually play more than 40 dsiware apps, so I'll keep the ones I played and generate new ones using your method for the games I didn't play yet. Thanks.
 

Inno

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 24, 2019
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
151
Country
United States
Forgive me if I seem at all like I'm nagging, but would there happen to be any sort of ETA on the next version of this?
 

lifehackerhansol

i write working(?) code
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2021
Messages
352
Trophies
0
XP
712
Country
Canada
Forgive me if I seem at all like I'm nagging, but would there happen to be any sort of ETA on the next version of this?
I am waiting for @RocketRobz to update the SD forwarder pack, which will likely be updated alongside the next TWiLight Menu++ and nds-bootstrap release. The next release sort of relies on the SD forwarder pack update as it implements widescreen for forwarders which requires both the generator and the SD template to be updated.

I could probably do a interim release which shouldn't break anything but I'd rather line it up with other releases, if that makes sense.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Inno and ber71

lifehackerhansol

i write working(?) code
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2021
Messages
352
Trophies
0
XP
712
Country
Canada
Thanks. The game is working with TWL.
My guess then is that you need to tweak some per-game settings.

Hold Y when booting the forwarder and switch around settings such as card read DMA, async card read, SWI halt hook and others. Perhaps check if anything is already set in TWiLight Menu++ and switch to those settings if so.
 

JMcG26

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 29, 2022
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
19
Country
United States
LOL this looks like it works but I installed like 30 forwarders at once and they just replaced installed 3ds games on the menu. Is this some kind of hex id issue? Anyway of getting those installed 3ds games back without reinstalling?
 

lone_wolf323

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 27, 2011
Messages
4,755
Trophies
1
XP
3,785
Country
Canada
LOL this looks like it works but I installed like 30 forwarders at once and they just replaced installed 3ds games on the menu. Is this some kind of hex id issue? Anyway of getting those installed 3ds games back without reinstalling?
Do you have 300 3ds or badges on your home menu? These do count against those
 
v1.1.1-b1

lifehackerhansol

i write working(?) code
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2021
Messages
352
Trophies
0
XP
712
Country
Canada
YANBF v1.1.1-b(eta)1

https://github.com/lifehackerhansol/YANBF/releases/tag/v1.1.1-b1

The `bootstrap.cia` is a prerelease. The generator, however, is an update you won't want to miss.

What's new?
  • @Pk11: Preliminary widescreen support.
    • This will not work until the SD Forwarder Pack is updated. (Still works normally.)
    • You can optionally compile the SD forwarder pack yourself, but no support will be provided at this time.
Bug fix
  • Fixed an issue where makerom may fail if the ROM path has spaces.
  • Fixed some NDS ROMs only having a handful of languages.
    • Now all languages are checked to make sure an out-of-bounds error doesn't happen.
  • Tried to make the unique ID more... unique.
    • This should fix an issue where same game from different region replaces each other.
 
Last edited by lifehackerhansol,

andot

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 11, 2017
Messages
57
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
493
Country
Switzerland
Is it possible to add an option to use the filename (without extname) as the title.
 

JMcG26

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 29, 2022
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
19
Country
United States
This works great and solves the issue of being able to go over 40 titles so thanks OP for doing this!! The only real feedback I would have is if loading times could maybe be improved in the future? Can't really complain though as this solves my biggest complaint so thanks thanks thanks!!!
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras: Good evening