Hacking NDS Lite Sound Volume

brien

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 7, 2006
Messages
8
Trophies
0
XP
27
Country
United States
i recall the sound on the DS Phat being quite loud..
now on my lite, a lot of the times i can bearly hear it.
certain sounds are louder then others, but for the most part my Lite seems to have a lot lower max volume then my Phat had..
even with headphones (nice headphones), i feel the sound doesn't go loud enough...

anyone else with this problem?
 

Shinji

҉҉ ҉҉
Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2002
Messages
2,372
Trophies
0
Age
37
Location
City of Delusion
Website
www.google.com
XP
305
Country
United States
I dont play with the sound on most of the time unless it calls for it.

It might just be the area that you are playing in. I know when I play in the other room, it sounds fine, but when I play on break at work, there is quite a bit of noise. If I turn on the sound, its not that loud...

But when I hook it up to my computer speakers (5+1 Altec Lansings) it sounds nice
smile.gif
 

biggiec

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 27, 2005
Messages
8
Trophies
0
XP
184
Country
I'm noticing the same thing. I just switched to a DSLite (Onyx), and the second I put in Bleach DS and heard Ichigo say "Sega", I knew something was wacky.
 

raaamesh

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 8, 2005
Messages
46
Trophies
0
XP
530
Country
lol, why dident i think of 5.1 i am sitting right in front of one =D

will use it wen i can find my line in wire ¬_¬
 

CatScam

ScamaRama!
Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2006
Messages
588
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
243
Country
United States
Although it might be a little lower then the Phat, I notice big differences
in loudness depending were I’m at. In the John the Lite is to loud, but
in my room it’s a little on the low side.
 

Moneo

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 9, 2006
Messages
66
Trophies
0
Age
42
Website
Visit site
XP
101
Country
What kind of headphones are you using?

With sennheiser mx500 I find that anything higher than ~60% is too loud.

But when I plug my hd580s (huge studio-ish headphoes, 10x higher impedance) I usually turn it up close to the maximum. Though, I find it pretty amazing that the ds can drive them at all, with my cd player they are unusable (quiet-ish, no bass to speak of).

Finally, don't forget that listening to music/playing on your ds at exteremely high volumes will damage your hearing... if the ds lite still isn't loud enough with 'regular' headphones at the max volume setting, I'd suggest re-thinking your definition of 'loud enough'. 8)
 

x_comp

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2003
Messages
1,054
Trophies
0
Location
UK
Website
Visit site
XP
139
Country
The sound on the DSL does sound lower. Try turning on the DSL without a game inserted and leaving the volume slider midway then, do the same with the DSO (original). You can hear the clock ticking on the DSO but you can't on the DSL.

I think it's the position of the speaker holes... Look at where they're positioned on both DSes. That might be why some of the sound is being blocked off. I noticed that the surround sound effect seems to be better with the DSL, though.
 

brien

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 7, 2006
Messages
8
Trophies
0
XP
27
Country
United States
What kind of headphones are you using?

With sennheiser mx500 I find that anything higher than ~60% is too loud.

But when I plug my hd580s (huge studio-ish headphoes, 10x higher impedance) I usually turn it up close to the maximum. Though, I find it pretty amazing that the ds can drive them at all, with my cd player they are unusable (quiet-ish, no bass to speak of).

Finally, don't forget that listening to music/playing on your ds at exteremely high volumes will damage your hearing... if the ds lite still isn't loud enough with 'regular' headphones at the max volume setting, I'd suggest re-thinking your definition of 'loud enough'. 8)
i go to raves every weekend.. so maybe my definition of loud is a little different them most.
 

omegatr0n

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2006
Messages
145
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
242
Country
DSOrganize just came out with a new version that has a volume multiplier...so it has to be somethign in the ndsl firmware...as teh speakesr are capable of being WAY louder...
 

x_comp

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2003
Messages
1,054
Trophies
0
Location
UK
Website
Visit site
XP
139
Country
DSOrganize just came out with a new version that has a volume multiplier...so it has to be somethign in the ndsl firmware...as teh speakesr are capable of being WAY louder...
Hmmm... Not sure about cranking it higher than what's set officially. Then again, it might be like PCs... Most of them aren't set at 100% by default if you click on the speaker icon in the task tray. Same for when you first install Winamp.
 

leetdude_007

Official GBAtemp Assassin That Has Never Killed An
Member
Joined
Nov 25, 2006
Messages
996
Trophies
0
Age
15
Website
Visit site
XP
147
Country
United States
I noticed that my NDSL has richer sound when I pull the jack a little bit back from complete insertion. The difference is night and day for me. I can feel the bass when the jack is pulled back slightly, but when I push it back in to normal position, I lose all of the detail. Does anybody else have this problem? I'm still under warranty, do you think I can get it fixed?
 

4saken

Retired Ace Attorney
Member
Joined
Nov 28, 2006
Messages
3,357
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
145
Country
Could have something to do with the fact there are less holes for the speakers on the DSL, and the size of the speakers is the same IIRC.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    now you can rep this site wherever you go!
    Gift
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Have been for the past 5+ years ;)
    +1
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    also holy shit i realized you can click the @ next to names in chat to tag users, how did i not notice this before
    Gift
  • Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    me when someone asks me who made the song "Runaway"
    +1
    Gift
  • MightyJAK @ MightyJAK:
    Anybody here got a GDEMU?
    Gift
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I got a (presumed) clone from Aliexpress, but haven't installed yet
    Gift
  • MightyJAK @ MightyJAK:
    I've got a clone, it works fine, but I can't get it to play nice with my SDcard reader.
    Gift
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    like an sd card slot extension thing?
    Gift
  • MightyJAK @ MightyJAK:
    Yeah, to load from (and save data to) an SD card plugged into the serial port.
    Gift
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    You test that extension thing through a regular usb reader on your pc? Could just be a shit one. Bought one for my 3d printer and it just straight up doesn't work
    Gift
  • MightyJAK @ MightyJAK:
    it can't be plugged into a USB reader (it's made from a regular SD card to USB adapter, but with the USB end modded to a Dreamcast serial plug)
    Gift
  • MightyJAK @ MightyJAK:
    It was working fine before I installed the GDEMU, but now the Dreamcast doesn't recognize it when I boot up Dreamshell.
    Gift
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    ahhh I gotcha. yeah haven't looked at it that much so I'm not super familiar with the hardware
    Gift
  • MightyJAK @ MightyJAK:
    Can't find any threads about this particular issue on GBAtemp or the wider intarwebz. Saw one video on YouTube that seemed relevant, but it was some dude with the same issue, no solutions offered in the comments. :/
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    my teacher was showing me something and i noticed they had gbatemp open in another window
    Gift
  • SpazzyShinobi @ SpazzyShinobi:
    when worlds collide
    +1
    Gift
  • MightyJAK @ MightyJAK:
    Your teacher is ONE OF US... ONE OF US...
    +1
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    they could be in this very chat, they could be any one of us
    Gift
  • MightyJAK @ MightyJAK:
    InB4 "Julie, get back to work on your homework, that assignment is due tomorrow."
    +1
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    god damn no one ever wants to talk to me but the MOMENT i start studying everyone got shit to say to me
    Gift
  • Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    (not you guys tho, you guys are cool :)
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    fuck how do i use emoticons within parenthesis
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    i left out the closing bracket but that just looks incomplete
    Gift
    Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim: i left out the closing bracket but that just looks incomplete