Homebrew [NDS] Forwarder CIAs for your HOME Menu

themanuel

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2009
Messages
1,084
Trophies
0
Location
Michigan, USA
XP
562
Country
United States
I don't use a flash cart. The .nds games are in a folder in my N3DS's SD card. They absolutely use and need nds-boostrap to load. I'm just wondering if I can continue to update nds-boostrap as I always have, or if the forwarder CIA's installed by NDSForwarder brought with it a custom version of nds-boostrap when I donwloaded it using Universal Updater.
 

Ingulit

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Oct 26, 2021
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
17
Country
United States
Followed the directions in the OP and forwarded a game. I intended to restore my save from my cartridge, and per many recommendations I was going to use Checkpoint.

I played my forwarded game and made a save which should in theory make it appear in Checkpoint, but it does not. Because of that I cannot restore the save from my cartridge to this forwarded .nds game using Checkpoint as far as I can tell.

I've been doing an inane amount of research on this. Plenty of people recommend checkpoint for doing restoring such saves, yet I've seen others say the very same thing is impossible on forwarded games. Is there any way to get restoring this save to work?

EDIT: I've also tried running the game through Twilight Menu but that also did not appear in Checkpoint so that's moot.
 

themanuel

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2009
Messages
1,084
Trophies
0
Location
Michigan, USA
XP
562
Country
United States
Followed the directions in the OP and forwarded a game. I intended to restore my save from my cartridge, and per many recommendations I was going to use Checkpoint.

I played my forwarded game and made a save which should in theory make it appear in Checkpoint, but it does not. Because of that I cannot restore the save from my cartridge to this forwarded .nds game using Checkpoint as far as I can tell.

I've been doing an inane amount of research on this. Plenty of people recommend checkpoint for doing restoring such saves, yet I've seen others say the very same thing is impossible on forwarded games. Is there any way to get restoring this save to work?

EDIT: I've also tried running the game through Twilight Menu but that also did not appear in Checkpoint so that's moot.
I don't think Checkpoint manages NDS saves. You can easily find your save in your SD card in the same directory where you have your roms stored, inside a sub-directory named "saves". You can place there any native NDS saves you may have from you previous consoles or NDS emulators.
 

Ingulit

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Oct 26, 2021
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
17
Country
United States
I don't think Checkpoint manages NDS saves. You can easily find your save in your SD card in the same directory where you have your roms stored, inside a sub-directory named "saves". You can place there any native NDS saves you may have from you previous consoles or NDS emulators.
That's the vibe I'd been getting but I kept seeing people recommend Checkpoint. Maybe they're mentioning it for putting the save back on the cart? Anyway, thank you, especially since this puts my mind at ease by confirming it isn't because I was using a forwarder.
 

themanuel

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2009
Messages
1,084
Trophies
0
Location
Michigan, USA
XP
562
Country
United States
That's the vibe I'd been getting but I kept seeing people recommend Checkpoint. Maybe they're mentioning it for putting the save back on the cart? Anyway, thank you, especially since this puts my mind at ease by confirming it isn't because I was using a forwarder.
Yeah, as far as I know, Checkpoint is only for native 3DS saves but I may be wrong in this. At least I don't see any of my NDS saves in it. The NDS forwarders may show up in your menu as native 3DS apps, but they are just the middle man that passes info to nds-boostrap so that it knows to launch your game. After that, you will be running your 3DS in "DS mode" as if you had inserted a DS cartridge in it.

I'm no expert but if you have any difficulties with the forwarders post here, and I might be able to help, since I have spent a lot of time on it recently.
 
  • Like
Reactions: thisjustin2001

RocketRobz

Coolest of TWL
OP
Developer
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
14,836
Trophies
2
Age
22
XP
16,937
Country
United States
  • Like
Reactions: ber71

thisjustin2001

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 27, 2019
Messages
34
Trophies
0
Age
20
XP
61
Country
United States
Forgive me if this has been asked/answered before, but I have a question. If I wanted to create 60 DS HOME menu icons using this forwarder, is it possible to do that loading my games with an SD Card? Or would I run into that 40 DSi game limit that's been mentioned? Any answers would be greatly appreciated!
 

RocketRobz

Coolest of TWL
OP
Developer
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
14,836
Trophies
2
Age
22
XP
16,937
Country
United States
Forgive me if this has been asked/answered before, but I have a question. If I wanted to create 60 DS HOME menu icons using this forwarder, is it possible to do that loading my games with an SD Card? Or would I run into that 40 DSi game limit that's been mentioned? Any answers would be greatly appreciated!
You need to install and run TWiLight Menu++ to run more than 40 DSiWare(-type) titles.
 
  • Like
Reactions: thisjustin2001

Baanloh

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Nov 13, 2021
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
2
Country
France
[Edit] I got the solution to my problem : go on github in repo Olmectron/Forwarder3-DS and check issue #1 (I cannot post link)

----
I cannot run Forwarder3-DS because of this error
Code:
Error: Could not find or load main class com.olmectron.forwarder.Forwarder3DS
Caused by: java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: javafx/application/Application

My java version is:
Code:
java 17 2021-09-14 LTS
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 17+35-LTS-2724)
Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM (build 17+35-LTS-2724, mixed mode, sharing)
 
Last edited by Baanloh,

thisjustin2001

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 27, 2019
Messages
34
Trophies
0
Age
20
XP
61
Country
United States
It's me again! I have another question about this forwarder if you don't mind. I told someone that I had planned to create 40 retail DS game forwarders for my 3DS purely from my SD Card, without a flashcard, and I was told that I would run into the 3DS onboard storage limit, and that I couldn't do that. Is that true? As far as I understood, the DS games would be on my SD Card, and all that would be on my 3DS' onboard storage would be the shortcuts to those games. Is that incorrect? Any answers would be greatly appreciated!
 

RocketRobz

Coolest of TWL
OP
Developer
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
14,836
Trophies
2
Age
22
XP
16,937
Country
United States
It's me again! I have another question about this forwarder if you don't mind. I told someone that I had planned to create 40 retail DS game forwarders for my 3DS purely from my SD Card, without a flashcard, and I was told that I would run into the 3DS onboard storage limit, and that I couldn't do that. Is that true? As far as I understood, the DS games would be on my SD Card, and all that would be on my 3DS' onboard storage would be the shortcuts to those games. Is that incorrect? Any answers would be greatly appreciated!
DSiWare titles (counting the forwarders) are installed to System Memory, so yes, you'll (eventually) run into the limit.
 
  • Like
Reactions: thisjustin2001

thisjustin2001

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 27, 2019
Messages
34
Trophies
0
Age
20
XP
61
Country
United States
DSiWare titles (counting the forwarders) are installed to System Memory, so yes, you'll (eventually) run into the limit.

So if I planned to hit the 40 title limit right from the get go, would I be able to do that using the SD Card method? Or do I need a flashcard instead? Thank you for the help!
 

thisjustin2001

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 27, 2019
Messages
34
Trophies
0
Age
20
XP
61
Country
United States
The only issue that would occur is forwarders not installing, when you run out of space on the system memory.

Okay. So if I wanted to hit that 40 title limit, would you recommend that I seek out a DS flashcard instead of using the SD Card method, so I don't run into issues with the 3DS onboard storage being so small?
 

RocketRobz

Coolest of TWL
OP
Developer
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
14,836
Trophies
2
Age
22
XP
16,937
Country
United States
Okay. So if I wanted to hit that 40 title limit, would you recommend that I seek out a DS flashcard instead of using the SD Card method, so I don't run into issues with the 3DS onboard storage being so small?
Flashcard or SD card, you'll run into the storage issue either way, for the reasons stated earlier. There is no difference.
 
  • Like
Reactions: thisjustin2001
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: I have used this seasoning on all kinds of stuff, when combined with garlic it's great for...