1. DarthMotzkus

    DarthMotzkus Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Messages:
    51
    Country:
    Brazil
    I readed something about "it drains more battery", that's correct?
     
  2. raxadian

    raxadian GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2018
    Messages:
    2,077
    Country:
    Argentina
    Well, depends. On the DSI there is barely any difference, on the 3DS you are both running a 3DS program and the DS hardware instead of just the DS hardware with the DS os on the 3DS.

    Your card is one of the best for Nintendo DS, equal or perhaps superior to the original R4. But is a bit tricky to get the latest unofficial firmware for your card due to a lawsuit GBAtemp had ages ago.
     
    Last edited by raxadian, Oct 14, 2020
  3. DarthMotzkus

    DarthMotzkus Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Messages:
    51
    Country:
    Brazil
    Right. I tested Black 2, works fine. But Spirit Tracks miss the train controls, Is there any workaround?
     
  4. raxadian

    raxadian GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2018
    Messages:
    2,077
    Country:
    Argentina
    Add cheats to Wood, there is a cheat to get pass that. I think the last version for your card might be Wood R4i V1.63?
     
    Last edited by raxadian, Oct 14, 2020
  5. DarthMotzkus

    DarthMotzkus Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Messages:
    51
    Country:
    Brazil
    It's strange because with the original R4i firmware the problem isn't happens. Is this forwarders only work with YSMenu?
     
  6. raxadian

    raxadian GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2018
    Messages:
    2,077
    Country:
    Argentina
    For most cards? Yes.

    Just boot the card using
    TWiLight Menu++ to boot to the flashcard directly.
     
  7. DarthMotzkus

    DarthMotzkus Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Messages:
    51
    Country:
    Brazil
    I Patched the .nds rom file with the DS Scene Rom-Tool and the AP patch fix, it works.
     
    Last edited by DarthMotzkus, Oct 14, 2020
  8. DarthMotzkus

    DarthMotzkus Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Messages:
    51
    Country:
    Brazil
    I learned here the forwarder method give me the "DSi boost mode on cpu clock" option, guranteed by the Twilight++, and the pretty title icons on my home menu, but at what costs? The more consume of battery, ok, if it's like a 3DS game, i don't care. But, when i use the forwarder titles, with the roms into Flashcart's SD Card, the compatibility is equal than when i play directly from the R4i original firmware via Flashcart? How the console behave in this case, it uses the SD Card from R4i just for open roms (like a storage) or the forwarder utilize the Flashcart to acctually play the roms?
     
    Last edited by DarthMotzkus, Oct 15, 2020
  9. rolenks

    rolenks Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2020
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    United States
    wait, would this work with a rom hack?
     
  10. DarthMotzkus

    DarthMotzkus Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Messages:
    51
    Country:
    Brazil
    Yes, i did it with the Zelda Phantom Hourglass and Spirit Tracks D-Pad hacked roms, work perfectly.
     
  11. rolenks

    rolenks Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2020
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    United States
    ...how? put the forwarder3ds.jar in a folder and make a text document and just rename it run.bat? txt instantly gets added? Screen Shot 2020-10-16 at 9.54.32 PM.png Screen Shot 2020-10-16 at 9.56.36 PM.png
     
  12. dom_751

    dom_751 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    So I've went through all the steps; it took me absolutely forever (had to update my computer, download java, etc), but I finally managed to get the games to show up on the home menu. I tried to start one, but it gave me the "start failed" error mentioned in the FAQ. I did everything that the FAQ said to try but nothing worked... Am I just screwed? I really hope not because I spent so long getting it to work... I'm doing this from an SD card, and I have every file in the right place. Does anyone know what could be wrong?
     
  13. placebo_yue

    placebo_yue GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2019
    Messages:
    299
    Country:
    Argentina
    There must be something you're doing wrong, read the thread and the FAQ carefully, search for posts here with the same issues as yours, triple check everything you already did. I'm pretty sure the answer to your issue was given a dozen times by Robz8 in here.
    I'm a total noob and i made it work (with some help from him, and maybe others) so it's doable. Some parts of the FAQ i did wrong, or didn't fully understand, and that made it fail at the beggining for me.
    Maybe go over the steps you took in here?
     
  14. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    14,089
    Country:
    United States
    see if the location is right by looking at the forwarder in a hex editor:

    upload_2020-10-18_22-21-31.png
     
  15. placebo_yue

    placebo_yue GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2019
    Messages:
    299
    Country:
    Argentina
    or the easier option, don't leave "auto rom path" when creating the fowarder, and make sure to write manually the right path. (been there done that). I never had to do any of that with a hex editor, you're gonna scare him if he doesn't know what he's doing
     
  16. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    14,089
    Country:
    United States
    you don't have to write anything into the hex editor, just search for the rom name.
     
  17. dom_751

    dom_751 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the responses, I'll try working with it some more. Please excuse my cluelessness :^)

    (After going back through the steps more carefully I got it to work :P)
     
    Last edited by dom_751, Oct 20, 2020
    Robz8, placebo_yue and Zense like this.
  18. Pablo_CL

    Pablo_CL Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2020
    Messages:
    89
    Country:
    Chile
    When i open Forwarder3DS.jar it opens for a split second and closes
    (ik thst this is like a 4 year old pos)

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    When i open Forwarder3DS.jar it opens for a split second and closes, is there a way to fix this?
    (i know this is a 4 year old post but he might be answering these still)
     
  19. Robz8

    OP Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    13,859
    Country:
    United States
    Try installing Java 8 Update 251.
     
  20. Pablo_CL

    Pablo_CL Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2020
    Messages:
    89
    Country:
    Chile
    T
    Tysm now it works!
     
    Robz8 likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Forwarder, [NDS],