Homebrew [NDS] Forwarder CIAs for your HOME Menu

KimKong

Game Developer / Graphic Artist / Musician
Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2008
Messages
244
Trophies
0
Website
skrap-klan.itch.io
XP
631
Country
Norway
PROBLEMS: I was just making some forwards of two homebrew apps; "Animanatee" and "NitroTracker". But I just got a white screen (on both) and the software never loads. I am able to use the home button to get back to the 3DS home menu though.

These are homebrew with their own folder settings. As in they make a set of folders and files when you use the software. Is this part of the problem? Any ideas?
 

RocketRobz

Stylish TWiLight Hero
OP
Developer
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
14,890
Trophies
2
Age
22
XP
17,143
Country
United States
PROBLEMS: I was just making some forwards of two homebrew apps; "Animanatee" and "NitroTracker". But I just got a white screen (on both) and the software never loads. I am able to use the home button to get back to the 3DS home menu though.

These are homebrew with their own folder settings. As in they make a set of folders and files when you use the software. Is this part of the problem? Any ideas?
Try launching those homebrew using TWiLight Menu++.
If they don't boot using TWLMenu++ as well, then those homebrew are incompatible with nds-bootstrap.
 
  • Like
Reactions: KimKong

KimKong

Game Developer / Graphic Artist / Musician
Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2008
Messages
244
Trophies
0
Website
skrap-klan.itch.io
XP
631
Country
Norway
You are correct.
Both these apps have issues loading with TWiLightMenu++

Damnit.. These are my favorite DS homebrew apps.. Wish there was a way to load them from the SD card on the 3DS..
 
Last edited by KimKong,
  • Like
Reactions: RocketRobz

Atecain

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 22, 2020
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
30
Country
Poland
I using it on my x32 system. and makecia file not work. someone will be good and help me convert my forwarded .nds files into .cia files. Please.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Please. Someone help me to convert that forwarded nds into cias by make_cia file? Since when i have x32 system. It not work. that files was premaded from my SD card roms.
 

Attachments

  • Forwarded Games.rar
    1.3 MB · Views: 158

Atecain

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 22, 2020
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
30
Country
Poland
The first question is where is makecia file even needed in this? You put in the paths and it spits out the forwarder to install.

Yes. But whatever i try to do it cames out as .nds files. Not cia. And when I try drop yourself prepared by FOrwarder .nds files. It tells me that this program work on x64 not x32 system
 
Last edited by Atecain,

Atecain

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 22, 2020
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
30
Country
Poland
Are you using 3ds sd card or a flashcard to set the forwarders to?
I use 3DS SD Card since i don't have any flashcard. I followed instruction. But as I said. I need to have as I seen x64 not x32 system. so that was Why I ask for help with drop forwarded nds files generatred by program into make_cia.exe for transform them into .cia. I prepare that files from my SDcard roms so it should work.
 

lone_wolf323

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 27, 2011
Messages
4,515
Trophies
1
XP
3,556
Country
Canada
I use 3DS SD Card since i don't have any flashcard. I followed instruction. But as I said. I need to have as I seen x64 not x32 system. so that was Why I ask for help with drop forwarded nds files generatred by program into make_cia.exe for transform them into .cia. I prepare that files from my SDcard roms so it should work.
Have you downloaded the program from the First page? I dont exactly see a place where make cia is even needed
 

Atecain

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 22, 2020
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
30
Country
Poland
Trust me. If i was even insinuating you being stupid, you and every other person here would very much know it. I am simply asking a question to see why this isnt working as it should.
It still creating me .nds files. I move it into other directions. Still that same. I do anything with sugested things here. still no cia. That's why i sending my files and ask for do them by make cia file
 
Last edited by Atecain,
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • phalk @ phalk:
    Assembler is something I always wanted to learn
    Gift
  • phalk @ phalk:
    but.... nah
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    No point really.
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Even the simplest device these days runs some sort of high level language.
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    @Veho all the IT stuff i've learned in school has been extremely basic... i knew most of it already
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    it's better to learn on your own, it goes much faster than the snail pace they teach you at in school
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    assembly is actually great, gets you to run everything about 80% faster than C massaged code
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    assembler syntax is dead easy, but "how to put pieces together" logic requires to have in mind the original idea, and the CPU layout, and that's like double the work of C stuff. It's best to write C first, add some unit tests, then go assembly, then run the unit tests
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    it can run faster than compiled code, but modern compilers are really good at optimization and you need to be even better at assembly to do a better job
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    with that all your assembler base will actually work
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    even on embedded systems, without a damned debugger
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    syntax is easy but the code is hard to read, you can't look at a piece of code and expect to understand it without looking at all the code around it to see how it all works together so it takes much longer to read the code, it takes longer to write it too because what might be 1 line of code in C might be 20 lines of assembly
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    the language is very simple to understand (because it's barely a language at all) understanding how all the instructions work together to form a whole is another matter, in general it's such a pain to work with that i would never recommend it unless you have a need for it. don't listen to this guy and learn assembly just because you want to make your code run faster, you are wasting your time, but if you run into a situation where your code isn't fast enough even after you enabled -Ofast and you NEED it to be faster, then you can consider assembly
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    @Coto have you tried -Ofast btw? ;)
    Gift
  • Gift
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I have o fast before but I suspect we are talking different Os lol
    Gift
  • Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    @The Real Jdbye quite idiotic and frankly, bu
    llshit points as usual you make. Not only because you have no idea what you're talking about, but also because there is proof (both i've seen and maintained) in regards to C and hand-written assembler code, and the speed gain is simply over half the framerate.
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    gbaemu4ds's C ARM and THUMB CPU emulator and GBARunner2's ARM and THUMB handcoded assembly. Just run Yoshi's Island GBA and compare it by yourself.
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    or SnemulDS's C CPU Core vs SnemulDS SnezziDS ARM core. The first running at about 45% (half the speed) vs ~105% (full speed)
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    yeah, keep believing -Ofast will make everything faster.
    Gift
  • mthrnite @ mthrnite:
    Must ambulate quickly! ~Sonic (a hedgehog)
    Gift
  • Gift
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Gotta Go Fast diarrhea makes a horrible sound, blue skin and super sick... Probably food poisoning from bad chili dogs.
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    Huh Betty white was born on mlk day
    Gift
    KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie: Huh Betty white was born on mlk day