1. thegame386

    thegame386 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    Sry if this is a dumb question, but howdo i know if theres a new version of the forwarder zip file linked in th e OP? If i update the files on thesd card, do i also need to update the fowarder cia's?
    I just want to be up up to date with everything, if that makes any sense^^
    Thank you
     
  2. MetoMeto

    MetoMeto GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2018
    Messages:
    770
    Country:
    Japan
    Just right click on a game and "import banner"
    You can find banners here:

    Banner icon replacements for your forwarders! (Custom ones included).


    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited by MetoMeto, May 3, 2020
  3. Robz8

    OP Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    13,452
    Country:
    United States
    Try shortening the ROM filename.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Just check this thread often.
    Also, remaking the forwarders is optional.
     
    alexander1970 likes this.
  4. MetoMeto

    MetoMeto GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2018
    Messages:
    770
    Country:
    Japan
    DS icons look crappy anyway, especially on 3DS, low resolution picture and all...so...
    Can we make our own banners, and how?

    Also before i implement custom banner from link provided, how can i see how it looks? Maybe i wont like it.
    And in spirit of this second question...is there any way to see banner files in windows as thumbnails so we can see how the banner will look like?
    (just like 3DS cia shell extension where i have nice thumbnail of a game cia)
     
  5. MetoMeto

    MetoMeto GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2018
    Messages:
    770
    Country:
    Japan
    That's an interesting question and good one. I'm just interested about something.

    So if it's optional, does that mean that the CIA's made in forwarder (being generated with older or newer versions of "forwarder3-DS.jar")
    does nothing AT ALL to performance in general when ruing the game like...AT ALL, but only updating "_nds" folder on 3DS it self actually does something and only thing that counts?
    I mean installed forwarders (CIA's) and DS roms inside of an SD card can stay the same, only "_nds" folder is updated...did i got that right?

    Sorry for lengthy question, i just want to be clear on this one. It's interesting what "thegame368" mentioned.

    Also one more question... how would i know "_nds" is being updated, that the new version is uploaded?
    It's just saying "1. Download this." in a tutorial, there's no version of files or date oranything to indicate that it's being updated.

    Cheers! :gba:
     
    Last edited by MetoMeto, May 3, 2020
    Robz8 and thegame386 like this.
  6. Marco789456123

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 3, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    France
    Guy s my games don t launch white bottom screen
    what do i do
     
  7. placebo_yue

    placebo_yue GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2019
    Messages:
    176
    Country:
    Argentina
    I managed to make one for a game im making on Unity, but let me tell you the process is a pain in the ass, and sadly i didn't find a simpler way.

    You need to sign up as a nintendo developer to get the developer kits, these come with a bunch of files and softwares, one of these is like a simple little 3D enviroment where you import your models, set up a bunch of things, and export.
    But to create these 3D models you need a plugin for maya or 3dmax. To texture these models you need a plugin for photoshop that lets you export in Ctex format. And after exporting you need to convert that file to .bin or whatever this software asks for. It's very complicated and not worth the trouble unless you're making your own game i suppose.

    Edit: nintendo dev kit provides the maya/3dmax and photoshop plugins, but to convert from Cwhatever format to bin, or to Cother format, you're kinda on your own, depending on software shared by some people in this forum, which did help me a lot.
     
    Last edited by placebo_yue, May 3, 2020
  8. BigChickenMan

    BigChickenMan Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2020
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Australia
    Thanks for your help with that issue, but I have encountered another one. I played Pokemon Black using the Forwarder, and have finished the main story. Usually after you finish the main game it just goes back to the starting screen and loads your game again. You then have the option to continue playing to play the post-game. After the main game, for me, the game crashed. I tried going back onto the game and there were just two white screens, rather than the nds-bootstrap sequence. I'm pretty confused, considering I also tried to use this save-file to finish the post-game on my laptop using an emulator, but it didn't seem to recognise it as a save file. Help would be appreciated.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Check the FAQ. I had the same problem just about a week ago. The FAQ is in the original post, and should be the last question. You should make sure that you automatically set ROM path in the forwarder.
     
  9. Robz8

    OP Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    13,452
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, that's right.
    Look at the modified date.
     
    Last edited by Robz8, May 4, 2020
  10. BigChickenMan

    BigChickenMan Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2020
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Australia
    @Robz8 Thanks for your help with that issue, but I have encountered another one. I played Pokemon Black using the Forwarder, and have finished the main story. Usually after you finish the main game it just goes back to the starting screen and loads your game again. You then have the option to continue playing to play the post-game. After the main game, for me, the game crashed. I tried going back onto the game and there were just two white screens, rather than the nds-bootstrap sequence. I'm pretty confused, considering I also tried to use this save-file to finish the post-game on my laptop using an emulator, but it didn't seem to recognise it as a save file. Help would be appreciated.
     
  11. Robz8

    OP Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    13,452
    Country:
    United States
    I saw your post earlier, and I didn't reply, because I don't know how to fix this.
     
  12. BigChickenMan

    BigChickenMan Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2020
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Australia
    Oh right. Do you know of anyone that might know how to fix this issue? Or do you have any thoughts on why this might be happening?
     
  13. placebo_yue

    placebo_yue GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2019
    Messages:
    176
    Country:
    Argentina
    Did you patch/trim your rom? try replacing the rom you're using either with a clean one, or a patched/trimmed one. Maybe that would help. Only idea i have. It seems like a pretty specific problem to the pokemon rom you're using and not the fowarder tho.
     
  14. BigChickenMan

    BigChickenMan Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2020
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Australia
    That's pretty weird. I'm not really sure about a trimmed ROM, unless you mean the actual size of the ROM. It was around 70 mb instead of the standard issue 260 mbs or something like that. Other than that I'm not really sure. The ROM I'm using is also supposed to be AP-Patched. Let me know if you can help me with this, or DM me with some files that I can use to fix this.
    I have a regular ROM as well (if you could send me an AP Patch for that, that would be cool).
    My Pokemon HeartGold was also a lot smaller in size so I'll try finishing that and I'll see if I encounter the same problem.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Sorry for double-posting, I was just interested to know if I would have to restart the game using a different save file.
     
  15. BigChickenMan

    BigChickenMan Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2020
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Australia
    @Robz8 The problem has been resolved. I have no idea what happened, probably just a lag of some sort, but now everything is back to normal. I just went onto the game through Twilight Menu++, moved just about 5 steps, and then saved again. Now it's working normally. Thanks for your help.
     
    Robz8 likes this.
  16. gatoula

    gatoula Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2016
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    Greece
    Is there 32-bit version of the programs
     
  17. sil1982

    sil1982 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Brazil
    black top and bottom white screen what should i do solution
     
  18. Robz8

    OP Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    13,452
    Country:
    United States
    There needs to be a 32-bit version of make_cia.
    Forwarder3-DS itself works fine, afaik.
    Check the FAQs in the first post.
     
  19. Daniel72

    Daniel72 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2018
    Messages:
    149
    Country:
    Korea, South
    I'm trying to use an R4i Gold Plus (https://www.nds-card.com/ProShow.asp?ProID=575) for this, is this card not supported?
    I think I followed all the instructions but I keep getting black screens for both when booting the forwarder.

    a) For flashcard users, is the very first SD card step required?
    b) I assumed that R4i Gold Plus is similar to R4i Gold rts and downloaded the file for it. However I'm seeing 3 different files for flashcard sd. Which file should I put into my flashcard sd?
     
  20. Robz8

    OP Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    13,452
    Country:
    United States
    Try the regular R4i Gold one.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Forwarder, [NDS],