[NDS] Forwarder CIAs for your HOME Menu

Robz8 May 11, 2016.

  1. mrbear

    mrbear Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Sep 10, 2019
    United States
    But when I run the .jar file nothing happens.
     
  2. wrettcaughn

    wrettcaughn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Member
    8
    Mar 14, 2009
    United States
    Do you have Java installed?
     
  3. mrbear

    mrbear Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Sep 10, 2019
    United States
    Yes, I have Java installed.
     
  4. AllenTheStupidDude

    AllenTheStupidDude Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Sep 19, 2019
    Portugal
    Matosinhos, Portugal
    For some reason i only get a Dsi logo and then the bottom screen stays white and the top screen turns black (also the warning on the bottom screen doesn't even appear)
     
    Last edited by AllenTheStupidDude, Sep 19, 2019
  5. noctis90210

    noctis90210 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    6
    Dec 24, 2013
    @Robz8 is there any chance that nds forwarder will support the new features of nds bootstrap specifically patching on the fly?
     
  6. Dalkaionyt

    Dalkaionyt Member

    Newcomer
    1
    Sep 26, 2019
    United States
    So I use the newest version of twilight menu ++ and I was wondering if it is possible for the forwarders to be used with that. And if it isnt possible what other NDS emulator would allow me to create CIA Forwarders?
    If it is possible to use TW++ please give me instructions because i'm having a hard time!
     
    Last edited by Dalkaionyt, Sep 26, 2019
  7. Robz8
    OP

    Robz8 Coolest of TWL

    pip Developer
    19
    Oct 1, 2010
    United States
    The SD card forwarder template has been updated!
    • Now checks for AP fix .ips files at "sd:/_nds/TWiLightMenu/apfix/" or "sd:/_nds/ntr-forwarder/apfix/", and writes one to "sd:/_nds/nds-bootstrap.ini".
    • Deletes cheat data .bin files at "sd:/_nds/nds-bootstrap/", due to the forwarders not supporting cheats.
    • The .nds path on TWLNAND side is now passed to the SD card side via argv!
    • Modern homebrew is now properly booted without nds-bootstrap!
    • DS splash screen has been removed.
    Please download and extract the latest forwarder pack from the first post, and update the forwarder template in Forwarder3-DS, and remake your forwarders.
    I know I said before that it was the last time you needed to remake the forwarders, but the argv solution required a change on the TWLNAND side of the forwarder template.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Forwarders can be used without TWiLight Menu++.
     
    Last edited by Robz8, Sep 26, 2019
  8. Dalkaionyt

    Dalkaionyt Member

    Newcomer
    1
    Sep 26, 2019
    United States
    Okay so where do I put the .nds file in my SD card before I put it into the Forwarder and then when it gives me the nds forwarder file where do I put that?
     
  9. Robz8
    OP

    Robz8 Coolest of TWL

    pip Developer
    19
    Oct 1, 2010
    United States
    Anywhere on the SD card.
    Nowhere.
     
  10. Dalkaionyt

    Dalkaionyt Member

    Newcomer
    1
    Sep 26, 2019
    United States
    I had this problem! You have to extract the zipped folder before you try to open the .jar because the computer cant access the files it needs to run the .jar when the folder is zipped.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    I'm definitely missing something here. When I try to run the game on my home menu is says "SD card template not found"
     
  11. Robz8
    OP

    Robz8 Coolest of TWL

    pip Developer
    19
    Oct 1, 2010
    United States
    You didn't download and extract the SD card pack.
     
  12. Auriosh

    Auriosh Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Sep 26, 2019
    Brazil
    Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
    is there still a limit of 40?
     
  13. lone_wolf323

    lone_wolf323 GBAtemp Addict

    Member
    9
    May 27, 2011
    Canada
    there is always going to be the 40 limit. Its not going away any time soon.
     
    Robz8 and Auriosh like this.
  14. Auriosh

    Auriosh Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Sep 26, 2019
    Brazil
    Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
    but can you tell why? Is it a limitation of 3ds?
     
  15. UltraSyko

    UltraSyko Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Aug 14, 2019
    United States
    Sorry if this was already answered, but can you use widescreen patches for the forwarder, if not, can it theoretically be done and is it planned for the future
     
  16. Robz8
    OP

    Robz8 Coolest of TWL

    pip Developer
    19
    Oct 1, 2010
    United States
    It's a limitation of the 3DS HOME Menu.
     
    lone_wolf323 likes this.
  17. Dalkaionyt

    Dalkaionyt Member

    Newcomer
    1
    Sep 26, 2019
    United States
    What do I extract the files into? Do I just add the whole new _nds folder to the root of my sd card or take the files out of the _nds folder and putt them into my already existing _nds folder? Sorry if I am really confusing.
     
  18. Robz8
    OP

    Robz8 Coolest of TWL

    pip Developer
    19
    Oct 1, 2010
    United States
    It can be done, but it's likely hard, and would increase boot time, so it's not planned.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    It says so in the first post.
    How is this avoidable?
    EDIT: Should be more visible now.
     
    Last edited by Robz8, Sep 26, 2019
    Dalkaionyt likes this.
  19. Dalkaionyt

    Dalkaionyt Member

    Newcomer
    1
    Sep 26, 2019
    United States
    Okay so it doesn't say error anymore but when I open it up it has a black screen on the top and white on the bottom.
     
  20. Robz8
    OP

    Robz8 Coolest of TWL

    pip Developer
    19
    Oct 1, 2010
    United States
    Did you make the forwarders before the update?
    If so, remake the forwarders.
     
    Dalkaionyt likes this.
Quick Reply
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...