NCARD DLDI WRITE

Discussion in 'Other Flashing Hardware & Software' started by wilsey, May 18, 2007.

May 18, 2007

NCARD DLDI WRITE by wilsey at 12:57 PM (7,701 Views / 0 Likes) 76 replies

  1. wilsey
    OP

    Newcomer wilsey Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have been testing the latest test builds of the Ncard Firmware, One of the new features is dldi write support, i have been testing with dslinux and dsoginizer all morning all seems to be working well

    Also, no need for a dldi driver as it will auto patch when loading up the homebrew, Excellent!

    LATEST BETA (BUILD 22) 1.43/2.49

    http://www.dsgba.com/down/nand_stable_22.zip


    Easy to install

    1. Plug usb writer into your nds and hook it up till an empty usb slot on pc

    2. HOLD A,B,L,R + Up on your nds to put the card into flash mode
    (Screen will say USB SAFE BLOCK)

    3. Windows will pick up a fireline device, card is ready to be formatted

    4. Extract Contents of downloaded file to a folder

    5. Double click NAND_ALL.BAT will will start the firmware flash

    6. After a few seconds it will be done, switch of nds and switch back on holding A,B,L,R + DOWN to format the card,

    7. Windows will auto recognize the card again as a mass storage device

    8. Copy xmenu.dat from extracted folder to the root of your card.

    9. Card will create DSYSTEM folder at bootup

    10. DONE , Your MK5, Firelinker, Flashpass or whatever other clone you are using now has dldi with write support

    Incase you are wondering what clone card i am on, i use the xpress card 16gb.

    Happy Homebrewin [​IMG] [​IMG]


    ** UPDATE **

    Soft reset is now supported (TEST)

    To use simply HOLD L, R, A, B, X, Y during game to reset
     


  2. miimen

    Newcomer miimen Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Netherlands
    O Yeah [​IMG]
    Thank you so much [​IMG]

    Do I have N-Card Firmware on my DSLinker now?
    Or do I havo my old DSLinker Firmware?
     
  3. DjoeN

    Member DjoeN Captain Haddock!

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,925
    Location:
    Somewhere in this potatoland!
    Country:
    Belgium
    This update works fine on MK5 [​IMG]

    This menu layout is WAY better [​IMG]
     
  4. Xeijin

    Member Xeijin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    495
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I guess this will make DealExtreme's $30 1GB N-Card pretty popular [​IMG]
     
  5. Dirtie

    Former Staff Dirtie :'D

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Messages:
    3,705
    Location:
    Zealer
    Country:
    New Zealand
    I get "Open xmenu.dat error!"
    Yes, it's on the root of the card, and I also tried putting it into DSYSTEM :/

    Using a 16Gbit DS Linker.

    Edit: Never mind, I tried a couple more times and it worked fine :/
     
  6. superkrm

    Member superkrm GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    390
    Location:
    a Rick Rolled Nation
    Country:
    United States
    from my ez 5 to my n-card
    i cant lose

    woohoooo!!!
     
  7. thegame07

    Member thegame07 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,860
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have no sound!!! [​IMG] did everybody else get that.
     
  8. miimen

    Newcomer miimen Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I also don't have sound !! Aaaaah
     
  9. thegame07

    Member thegame07 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,860
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why the fu** did they not check for something like this [​IMG] let's hope the fix it soon [​IMG]
     
  10. miimen

    Newcomer miimen Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I hope so, But you can put your older DSYSTEM and update of your original card. Than the sound will work again, but no dldi write support and the old menu.
     
  11. thegame07

    Member thegame07 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,860
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Does anyone have a link for the N-card orginal firmware (the one it came with). thanks miimen
     
  12. wilsey
    OP

    Newcomer wilsey Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    like i mentioned this is a test (beta) build guys, i dont know why you are getting no sound, i have sound on all my roms, i have the 16gb xpress card, are you getting sound with homebrew?? you could try formatting the card, copying the system folder over again, update the savs file to the latest mk5/ncard one, and copy the xmenu.dat to the root of the card again, see if that helps.
     
  13. thegame07

    Member thegame07 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,860
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i have tried that still nothing:( please help. i also get no sound with homebrew.
     
  14. wilsey
    OP

    Newcomer wilsey Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ok, for those of you that is having problems, it is possible to downgrade back to the old 1.23O firmwares released, (MK5,DSLinker,Flashpass) , i have just downgraded back to the MK5 1.23O firmware, reinstalled 1.33 Stable, once the install is done i did a format (A,B,L,R,Down) , copied over the system folder, updated the sav file to the latest MK5 one, then copied over xmenu.dat to the folder root. Done

    Beup works fine with sound, emoticons etc
    DSOrganize 2.7 Final works, can save edit the config file real time

    I Also checked a bunch of roms for sound and everyone i tried worked

    MarioKart
    New Mario Bros
    Final Fantasy 3
    Castlevainia POR & DOS
    Spiderman3
    Shreak the 3rd


    What games are you all having problems with ?
     
  15. DjoeN

    Member DjoeN Captain Haddock!

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,925
    Location:
    Somewhere in this potatoland!
    Country:
    Belgium
    The update here worked fine, and all games i tested have sound.
     
  16. DjoeN

    Member DjoeN Captain Haddock!

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,925
    Location:
    Somewhere in this potatoland!
    Country:
    Belgium
    Did try the upgrade on another MK5 from my friend, No sound, very wierd.

    Can you explain how you downgraded ?
    ThX
    (Like your Upgrade explenation, that was very good [​IMG]
     
  17. wilsey
    OP

    Newcomer wilsey Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    DjoeNtje , thats good till know, it's not just me lol, wat card are you using btw?? size and make ? the one that worked and the one that didnt ? i will post a guide shortly fully explaining how to downgrade
     
  18. thegame07

    Member thegame07 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,860
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    it still never worked [​IMG] however when i downgraded i had sound again.thanks for the help wilsey
     
  19. wilsey
    OP

    Newcomer wilsey Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ok , Here is how to downgrade

    Grab this file
    http://www.neoflash.com/driver/mk5_1.23O_upgrade.rar

    That is the MK5 1.23O Firmware (latest Non Beta)

    Once downloaded extract it's contents to a folder, you should have these files

    mk5_1.23O_upgrade-CHS.nds
    mk5_1.23O_upgrade-CHT.nds
    mk5_1.23O_upgrade-ENG.nds
    mk5_1.23O_upgrade-JAP.nds
    DSYSTEM Folder
    README.txt

    We will be using the mk5_1.23O_upgrade-ENG.nds English file for the downgrade

    Just copy over that file as you would any rom file, to the root of your card

    start up your nds as normal and select it form the rom selection menu

    You will get black screen with a msg UDISK BIOS UPDATE

    after verifing package you will be presented with to options

    Press A To Continue updating
    Press B To Cancel

    Press A To Continue, after it has formated, (Should be seconds) switch of your nds and hold
    ( A,B,L,R and Down) to format the card, after that you will be presented with a mass storage device in windows again,

    The DSYSTEM folder will already be on the card as it is now built into the firmware

    Done , you can now either try updating to 1.33 again or leave it as is

    Hope that helps some people [​IMG]
     
  20. DjoeN

    Member DjoeN Captain Haddock!

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,925
    Location:
    Somewhere in this potatoland!
    Country:
    Belgium
    Both MK5 8Gbit

    Mine works perfect
    Friend his (neighbour) one has no sound
     

Share This Page