NAND dumping to USB HDD/Flash drive

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Kleiner, Jun 15, 2009.

Jun 15, 2009
  1. Kleiner
    OP

Newcomer Kleiner Member

United States
    Okay, so i'm new to the Wii modding scene, and i've been doing alot of research. my wii has bootMii installed, and the prime power of bootMii is backing up your NAND files in case of a brick, in order to fix your shit.

Now, here's my question; is there any way to dump your NANd files to anything other than a SD card? My SD card is only 512 megs, too small for the NAND files. however i have multiple large USB files, and my USB HDD running a WBFS and a NTFS file system partion. Is there any way to dump the NAND fiels to anything other than an SD card, or am i just boned and forced to go buy a larger SD card?

2. TroyTheZombie

Member TroyTheZombie GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

Canada
    nope. Bootmii only supports SD cards at the moment.

3. zektor

Member zektor GBAtemp Maniac

United States

I do not believe there is a way currently. 512MB sd card eh? Man, I haven't even seen one of those in ages [​IMG]

4. Dteyn

Member Dteyn GBAtemp Fan

Canada
    BootMii is low-level meaning it loads up before the rest of the Wii's internal software. This is why there's no support for Wiimotes or USB Devices, because all that stuff is taken care of by the Wii's internal software.

BootMii would need to have USB support coded into it, then mass storage device support for USB devices before you can do NAND dumps to USB. It's not to say that it can't be done, just that it's a LOT of work that is somewhat unnecessary when you consider that other alternatives are available. 1gb SD cards go for as cheap as $10 these days depending on where you're from.