NAND dump failure

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by gir489, Sep 8, 2009.

Sep 8, 2009

NAND dump failure by gir489 at 3:29 AM (1,666 Views / 0 Likes) 29 replies

  1. gir489
    OP

    Member gir489 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    101
    Country:
    United States
    I tried Wak's NAND dumper 1.0, and it gives me some strange -10(something) error on opening the NAND.

    I tried yet another Wii NAND dumper v.03 (Even though I only found 1 other dumper, this name makes no sense), this one returned error -1, saying it couldn't open the NAND.

    I tried to install BootMii, but loading the HackMii thing, it's just got a big red NO at the bottom of the screen, and it won't let me even get to the bootmii install screen.
     


  2. gir489
    OP

    Member gir489 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    101
    Country:
    United States
    Bump because I'm already 10+ down.
     
  3. pinesal

    Member pinesal GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    146
    Country:
    United States
    What version is your Wii? You probably need to enable trucha.
     
  4. gir489
    OP

    Member gir489 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    101
    Country:
    United States
    It's 4.1U. It was updated from Wak's updater.

    It'd be nice if I could install BootMii. But, would I have to get rid of preloader? If so, does BootMii have hacks.ini loader thing enabled?
     
  5. Tux'

    Member Tux' GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    723
    Location:
    The flat lands.
    Country:
    Canada
    Bootmii is specifically for Brick Protection, not hacks, use boot2 for safest brick protection, bootmii does not interfere with preloader.
     
  6. gir489
    OP

    Member gir489 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    101
    Country:
    United States
    It won't let me install BootMii. When I get to the HackMii page, it says NO in red letters at the bottom of the screen.
     
  7. zektor

    Member zektor GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,325
    Country:
    United States
    A big red "No"? Can you provide a screenshot of this?

    And who is "Wak"?
     
  8. gir489
    OP

    Member gir489 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    101
    Country:
    United States
    Waninkoko.

    I just call him wak. My personal pesudoname for him.

    I'll get a snap, hold on.

    EDIT: http://img198.imageshack.us/i/gfd004.jpg/

    Pretty much, here's what it says:

    There's no known vulnerability in your IOS. Please check for an update. If this is the most up to date software, well suck it.
     
  9. Tux'

    Member Tux' GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    723
    Location:
    The flat lands.
    Country:
    Canada
    ItOUt means that you have either A) cIOSCORP or B) The ios that the installer uses is a custom IOS, I forget which ios it is though...
     
  10. gir489
    OP

    Member gir489 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    101
    Country:
    United States
    OK, well how do I fix that?
     
  11. zektor

    Member zektor GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,325
    Country:
    United States

    Well, that is VERY far from just a "big red no". You have to be specific on errors in the future.

    Apparently you have all the botched IOSes that CIOSCorp provided you with [​IMG] Do a search on how to uninstall CIOSCorp, or at minimum get one sane IOS back onto your system. Perhaps someone can point you in a better direction, but I have never received that error (never installed crap on my Wii) and do not want to point you in a direction that may brick it. If you can't get it going....well....like they said you may have to "suck it".

    I *think* if you use DOP-IOS you can go ahead and re-install something like IOS36 and bootmii will finally see it as a sane IOS, but get a second confirmation on this one.
     
  12. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    But whatever you do, don't uninstall any IOS's with Wad Manager unless you want a brick.
     
  13. gir489
    OP

    Member gir489 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    101
    Country:
    United States
    Which IOS do I have to recover?

    I have a program that downloads the IOS from Nintendo, and replaces it.
     
  14. zektor

    Member zektor GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,325
    Country:
    United States

    AFAIK, you just need one that the installer can understand. I would select IOS36 personally.
     
  15. gir489
    OP

    Member gir489 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    101
    Country:
    United States
    I'm doing a IOS36 fix. I'll let you know what happens.

    DOP-IOS reversion of IOS36 did nothing. It's still saying it can not install.

    EDIT: I did notice something weird. DOP-IOS is reporting that all my IOS3Xs have a version of 65535 (Max shortint) which is the obvious sign of a corrupted data. I'm having DOP-IOS redo all the IOSs with v.65535 in them now.
     
  16. zektor

    Member zektor GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,325
    Country:
    United States

    Yup, keep us informed!
     
  17. gir489
    OP

    Member gir489 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    101
    Country:
    United States
    Reinstalling IOS36 did not allow BootMii to install, but I noticed a lot of the IOSs have v65535 (max shortint) which is possible sign of data corruption. I'm having DOP-IOS reinstall all the IOSs that report v65535.
     
  18. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    no man its because you installed cioscorp, which maxes out all the IOS versions
     
  19. zektor

    Member zektor GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,325
    Country:
    United States

    That's pretty damn damaging.


    Let us know if you get it sorted after using DOP-IOS.
     
  20. gir489
    OP

    Member gir489 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    101
    Country:
    United States
    Oh wow. Well, I'm running through each IOS now, reinstalling every single one that has v65535.
     

Share This Page