NAND Backup

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by That-Guy, Aug 2, 2009.

Aug 2, 2009

NAND Backup by That-Guy at 3:25 PM (1,359 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. That-Guy
    OP

    Newcomer That-Guy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    82
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Im looking at doing a NAND Backup I just have a few questions:

    1) How big is the backup (so I know what size SD card to use)

    2) Is it only BootMii that allows you to do it?

    3) How do I restore it if I brick the Wii?

    4) Is there a detailed quide somewhere?



    Im useing firmare 4.0 if that makes a difference?


    Thanks in advance [​IMG]
     
  2. Tux'

    Member Tux' GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    723
    Location:
    The flat lands.
    Country:
    Canada
    1) 528MB, use a 1GB SD card

    2)There are other applications, but bootmii allows to restore

    3)Right beside the dump option there's the restore option. Follow on screen.

    4) ???
     
  3. That-Guy
    OP

    Newcomer That-Guy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    82
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thank You will get BootMii Installed and see what happens [​IMG]
     
  4. HiBit

    Member HiBit GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    477
    Country:
    Germany
    1. If you use bootmii the NAND backup has a size of 553.649.152 Bytes

    2. No, there are other tools, but bootmii is the only tool that can restore the NAND to your Wii. Also the other backup tools use another format(bootmii stores the NAND and other keys in the backup)

    3. You can only restore it with bootmii or an external NAND programmer

    4. Visit www.bootmii.org
     
  5. Tux'

    Member Tux' GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    723
    Location:
    The flat lands.
    Country:
    Canada
    I already had to use Bootmii restore option quite a few times, reverting and upgrading from 4.0 and 4.1.
     
  6. That-Guy
    OP

    Newcomer That-Guy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    82
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just out of interest I take it BootMii will install fine alongside Preloader?
     
  7. Tux'

    Member Tux' GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    723
    Location:
    The flat lands.
    Country:
    Canada
    Yes, Preloader will be fine, can you install bootmii as boot2?
     
  8. HiBit

    Member HiBit GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    477
    Country:
    Germany
    Bootmii could be installed as IOS and boot2 alongside preloader.

    But if you can't install it as boot2 preloader is the best solution to prevent a brick.
     
  9. That-Guy
    OP

    Newcomer That-Guy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    82
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So when Installing selecting Boot2 is the better option?
     
  10. HiBit

    Member HiBit GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    477
    Country:
    Germany
    Yes, it's the only real brick protection.
     
  11. That-Guy
    OP

    Newcomer That-Guy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    82
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok thanks will let you know how I get on [​IMG]
     
  12. Tux'

    Member Tux' GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    723
    Location:
    The flat lands.
    Country:
    Canada
    Okay, no problem for helping [​IMG]
     

Share This Page