N64.. Is there a way to play roms on one?

Discussion in 'Other Consoles & Oldies' started by CorruptJon, Jul 22, 2006.

Jul 22, 2006
  1. CorruptJon
    OP

    Member CorruptJon :)

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    781
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, so I have been to many sites and I see that N64 Roms are very easy to come by. I was just wondering if there was a thing that would let me play them on my real N64. Like a Supercard or something Just for the 64. Thanks
     


  2. yee

    Member yee DOTA 4EVER

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    573
    Location:
    Vancouver
    Country:
    Canada
    Look up Z64 and Doctor 64.

    I have one Doctor 64, but it's like weird, keeps flickering when I boot it up.
     
  3. Hunter

    Former Staff Hunter i'ma stuffup the board

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2003
    Messages:
    614
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
  4. legendofphil

    Member legendofphil Phil no Densetsu

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,214
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    NeoFlash are working on one, but their release speed is very slow so don't expect it for a while.
     
  5. Hunter

    Former Staff Hunter i'ma stuffup the board

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2003
    Messages:
    614
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    and all neoflash products blow donkey's ass
     
  6. armasmike

    Newcomer armasmike Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
  7. legendofphil

    Member legendofphil Phil no Densetsu

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,214
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The Passport III lets you play import titles on you N64.
    Most of the N64 devices are very hard to come by, unless someone re-releases them or a new one.
     
  8. Eternal Myst

    Member Eternal Myst Back from the Myst.

    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,634
    Location:
    I have a bomb alallalallala
    Country:
    United States
    Just play them on your computer or buy some on virtual console its easier,and better.
     
  9. Devante

    Member Devante Crescent fresh at best.

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,212
    Country:
    United States
    That Neoflash one has been "in development" for years now.

    I've got a Z64 that works great.

    This site has a list of more or less every backup copier ever made: http://home.clara.net/robwebb/backup/
     
  10. Harsky

    Member Harsky Madmin

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,263
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have the Dr V64. Course, by the time I got one 2 years ago, I already played the essential N64 games back when the N64 was alive and kicking so the only thing I found myself playing on it was the obscure games that I would never buy.

    And it's a hassle trying to replacing the legit carts with other legit carts to make ONE rom work and even then, it wouldn't save unless I have a different cart used for saving.
     
  11. Hadrian

    Former Staff Hadrian Better than Craigslist

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    16,978
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Mine was fine (until my Mrs stepped on it) though I usually had the odd flickering with certain TV's.
     
  12. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    those V and Z 64's are expensive on ebay, that's why i brought a xbox to play n64 stuff [​IMG]
     
  13. martin88

    Member martin88 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    990
    Country:
    Canada
    With an Xbox controller? Does it play well?
     
  14. science

    Member science science rules

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,695
    Country:
    Canada
    Shit, this topic was bumped after two years? Haha
     
  15. Prime

    Member Prime GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    Not again [​IMG]
     
  16. Hadrian

    Former Staff Hadrian Better than Craigslist

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    16,978
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    lol at Eternal Myst, not only are you a grave digger but wrong in your post [​IMG]

    No way is emulation better than an actual machine!
     
  17. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,191
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    I thought it lags
     
  18. The Teej

    Former Staff The Teej Also known as The Tjalian

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    4,210
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Actually that depends on the Emulator. However, in this case, the N64 is better then the Emulator [​IMG]
     
  19. [Truth]

    Member [Truth] GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Messages:
    765
    Location:
    Mushroom Kingdom
    Country:
    Germany
    sorry, but how stupid is that? why not just buy a original n64 and the games from ebay. you get most of them for around 10 bucks and the console for around 30. a modded xbox with bigger hdd or a doctor v64 or z64 are much more expensive.
     
  20. [Truth]

    Member [Truth] GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Messages:
    765
    Location:
    Mushroom Kingdom
    Country:
    Germany
    sry double-post. [​IMG]
     

Share This Page