N64 Emulator?

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Emu, Feb 1, 2007.

Feb 1, 2007

N64 Emulator? by Emu at 5:35 PM (2,960 Views / 0 Likes) 26 replies

  1. Emu
    OP

    Member Emu GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    142
    Location:
    Traverse City, MI
    Country:
    United States
    Graphics wise i'd say the DS is even BETTER than the n64, so why no emulation? I know some will get frustrated as i'm not very knowledgable on emulation and i'm sure this has been asked before but, i'd like to know why. Any answer is appreciated.
     


  2. WeaponXxX

    Member WeaponXxX Too F'in Blonde

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,868
    Location:
    Currently in Chicagoooooooo
    Country:
    United States
    If you really want an answer try using the SEARCH button however if your looking to just bump your post count then your moving in the right direction
     
  3. Hadrian

    Former Staff Hadrian Better than Craigslist

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    16,978
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Another day, another n64 DS emulator. THERE WILL NEVER BE ONE.
     
  4. M3LV1N

    Member M3LV1N GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Messages:
    162
    Country:
    Canada
    I guess the DS just isn't powerful enough for N64. Ports are your only hope.
     
  5. Veho

    Global Moderator Veho The man who cried "Ni".

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,452
    Location:
    Zagreb
    Country:
    Croatia
    NOOOO, YOU'RE SHATTERING MY DREAMS!!! [​IMG]

    n64 DS emulator? Would that mean playing DS on an N64? Are you saying that isn't possible either?

    KHAAAAAAAAN!!!!!! [​IMG]




    [​IMG]
     
  6. thegame07

    Member thegame07 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,860
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    it will never happen.
     
  7. sixb0nes

    Member sixb0nes GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    176
    Country:
    Belgium
    It could happen, if you don't mine rendering at a frame an hour
     
  8. Sick Wario

    Member Sick Wario Club Nintendo

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,209
    Location:
    NNID: godrugal
    Country:
    United Arab Emirates
    the only N64 emu i know if is called 'nintendo wii'
    it runs mario kart 64 perfectly except moo moo farm multi
     
  9. simpson17

    Member simpson17 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    United States
    I believe the rules for emulating another console, is the console your emulating it on has to have about 10x the processing power.
     
  10. decept

    Member decept GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    141
    Location:
    Texas
    Country:
    United States

    What about Surreal on XBOX? I've been playing N64 on my XBOX for years.
     
  11. mikeosoft

    Member mikeosoft GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    210
    Country:
    United States

    rules?? none, sorry. these kinds of answers are bogus, and don't help to stop children from asking. You need to give them the truth, not some thought up answer to shut up pondering minds. that reminds me of the problems with the american public school system. Teachers just feed bullshit to make there jobs as simple as possible, they just don't care about bettering anything other than theyre union contracts.

    simply put, there is no set rules to emulation. that's the benifit of software coding; its all in the hands of the coder(s) how to program, some code faster routines given the coding libraries (for example look at snes GBA emulation), some code very poorly (look at a majority of early emulator releases).
    just to give a living example of why these "rules" are bullshit, look at the xbox emulation on 360. now just for hypethetical purposes i'm going to use 10x as a rule. and say for our purposes, that the xbox gpu doesnt need emulation (hahaha) and so all that needs to be emulated is the intel 733 megahertz processor. now the 360's three core single process 3.0 gighertz processor cannot handle 7.33 gigherts of 32 bit single core code at once... but i enjoy many xbox games on my 360. namely halo2, GTA san andreas, and crimson skies.

    i will say that an n64 runs at 93.75 megahertz. the Nintendo ds runs at 66 megahertz with a seperate 33 megahertz. now im not going into it but you cant add the two together to get 99 megahertz but it doesnt work like that. not to mention the nintendo 64 was exactly that: It is a 64-bit processor, in that it has 64-bit registers, a 64-bit instruction set, and 64-bit internal data paths. The nintendo ds contains no 64 bit processoes, no 64-bit registers, no 64-bit instruction set, and no 64 bit internal data path. If you are old enough to remember, the first n64 emulators on pcs had most of there processing power used to interpret and rehash these 64 bit instuction sets down to 32 for an intel processor which would typically run around 600-755 megahertz. There was slowdown... thats just beginning to rub the surface of why n64 emulation on nds will maybe never happen. please notice i say maybe, that's because anything can happen with software coding, and so as i have learned, never, ever, ever, say never.
     
  12. tjas

    Member tjas The Gbatemp HRManager

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    972
    Location:
    BoZ
    Country:
    Netherlands
    You will just have to wait on ports...
     
  13. Emu
    OP

    Member Emu GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    142
    Location:
    Traverse City, MI
    Country:
    United States
    I post a question, I get some good answers, including an example of an existing nintendo ds N64 emulator. Then 1 IRC MOD who thinks i'm out for post boost..Well thanks to those of you who helped, and no thanks to those who wasted text with their own attempt at a post boost count.
     
  14. jlf278

    Newcomer jlf278 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United States
    I second that! and I'd third it too, but that might be taken the wrong way ;-)
     
  15. mikeosoft

    Member mikeosoft GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    210
    Country:
    United States
    you cant blame the mod he sees this same question alot... after all, we're all just humans. right?
     
  16. Kurai

    Member Kurai GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    171
    Country:
    Australia
    post +1
     
  17. Inbtw33n

    Newcomer Inbtw33n Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United States
    if one made an emulator for n64, how would the buttons work?? ds has two buttons too little to support methinks
     
  18. StuKeeler

    Newcomer StuKeeler Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The N64 was single screen output.

    If emulated on the DS, one screen would be redundant to original gameplay, so the touchscreen could be used to emulate the extra buttons.

    IMO, this would prove a little tricky to control certain button-heavy games, but it would be a solution.
     
  19. nloding

    Member nloding GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    400
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    Country:
    United States
    I agree with whomever said they're won't be one ... the DS simply isn't powerful enough to handle an N64 emulator and ROM. However, someone could port a game over, because the specs are close.

    General rule of thumb (yeah, I know, there are no rules), but generally speaking, you need a system at least 3x as powerful as whatever you're trying to emulate.

    Some 3.5Ghz-4Ghz powerhouse rigs can't even emulate some MAME games properly, like Gauntlet Legends, and that game was out how many years ago?
     
  20. kev3458

    Member kev3458 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Messages:
    214
    Country:
    Canada
    From what I've heard of, the engine of the DS can't support the N64 because it can't to handle it. You need at least (to the very deepest estimation) 2.6 times as powerful. The only way is to port individual games because of the specs. DS can handle 64's graphics no prob.
     

Share This Page