N3DS XL only boots with power applied, not battery.

Discussion in '3DS - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by Ricky21Key, Apr 4, 2016.

1. Ricky21Key
    OP

Ricky21Key Newbie

Newcomer
    Apr 3, 2016
    United States
    Hi, guys... I've been reading posts on this site for some time now, but I finally registered and now I'm posting for myself this time. I'd like to thank everyone on this site for the endless knowledge that's shared. I'm an electronics guy by trade and I'm kind of stumped here because of my lack of 3DS experience (I fix avionics systems on planes, which I learned in the Marines and tinker with stuff all the time.). My buddy had a Zelda edition N3DS XL that was bricked. He gave it to me and purchased another N3DS XL. We ordered a new motherboard and power board for this broken console. I transferred the motherboard and power board from his replacement console into the Zelda edition one because I know he's a huge Zelda fan and I didn't like the idea of fixing it and he no longer having it. So, I got it working and gave it back to him. The motherboard and power board replacements came in and I installed them into the broken console I was left with after the organ transplant. lol After cleaning out the ribbon cables with alcohol and swabs, I got it to turn on after a few tries, but only with power applied. The joystick isn't working now, but that's no biggie to replace, nor should it affect boot up, I'd think. It booted up completely and I'm able to navigate without a problem after the first 10 seconds that it goes haywire due to the joystick not being recognized. The cartridge reader works as does everything else. It doesn't boot up on battery power, only with the AC adapter connected. I removed the battery and attempted to turn it on with only the power applied, but it didn't start up. I assume it's recognizing the battery because it didn't boot up without it using only the power adapter. I used another battery that's a known good without