TEMPORARY MODE ENABLED  
  1. Takanaka

    OP Takanaka Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    I am unable to get into the System Settings. I installed the mset which forced the System Settings to change into the old version. How do I make it say "GW" again?
    I haven't touched my N3DS since last summer or something, so I am afraid of messing stuff up.

    Oh, I took a NAND back up, as well, however, I did a System/Factory(?) Restore/Reset due to panicking and I am not sure if I should attempt the NAND restoration thing or not.
    I do not have much experience with these things, sorry.

    I am really really sorry. :(
     
  2. Takanaka

    OP Takanaka Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    The System Settings says "Ver. 9.0.0-20E" not GW. ^_^ Is it possible for me to revert back to the old, err, new system settings? If you want a reason, well, I'd like to calibrate the "Super Stabilizer"-thing?
     
  3. tony_2018

    tony_2018 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Messages:
    3,107
    Country:
    United States
    I'm sure it will say GW when you go into emunand.
     
  4. Takanaka

    OP Takanaka Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    That's Gateway Mode? Or Classic Mode? Sorry....

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Okay, it's Gateway Mode and no, that doesn't change anything.
     
  5. tony_2018

    tony_2018 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Messages:
    3,107
    Country:
    United States
    I'm not understanding what the issue is.

    You installed Gw mset and are now able to get into GW mode than all should be fine, right.
     
  6. Takanaka

    OP Takanaka Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    Yeah. It's working but that's not the problem, sorry. I am not good at explaining things. Let me try from the beginning.
    You know the New Nintendo 3DS? Well, I have Gateway installed on it. But I have to use the Ocarina of Time when I want to get into the Gateway Menu, so that I can boot into Gateway Mode, in order to use that. Well, I am kind of the lazy type, so I wanted to see if there was an easier way to get into that menu, without having to constantly having the Ocarina of Time on me.

    Then I found the "mset"-thing which would allow me to boot into the menu, using the Nintendo DS Profile-thing, in the System Settings.
    It worked fine and all that. However, the 3D-effect didn't seem quite right to me, so I went into the System Settings to calibrate it. But I couldn't find it. I could only find the normal 3D calibrator(?). Not the "Super Stabilizer" calibrator(?). I tried to get rid of the exploit by loading a DS game, which worked. But the System Settings were still missing the "Super Stabilizer" calibrator(?) button. After fiddling around with it for some time, I tried to do a "Restore Factory Defaults"-thing however that did not help.

    I had done a NAND back up before doing the "mset"-thing, but that was also before doing the whole "Restore Factory". The thing is, I have no idea how most of this works. I don't know what the NAND back up is, to be honest. If it's actually something that can save me or not. I know that if done incorrectly, it can make your N/3DS unusable.

    The Gateway still works. Gateway Mode works fine, however in the System Settings, whether I am in Gateway Mode or normal, it shows the same settings menu. And the version number is the same, either way.

    I am sorry for "thing"-ing a lot of the words. It's just that I don't know or remember the terms.
    And sorry for the trouble and thank you for taking your time to help, stupid little me, out. ^^
     
  7. tony_2018

    tony_2018 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Messages:
    3,107
    Country:
    United States
    For fuck sake, close the lid and re-open.
     
  8. Takanaka

    OP Takanaka Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    I am sorry, Tony. I think we are having a sort of miscommunication going on here. I know that if the 3D effect is not working, then closing and opening the lid, will make it appear, however, the problem that I am having is that the System Settings appears to be the old version (3DS), instead of the new version (N3DS). No need to swear at me, please.
     
  9. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye *is birb*
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    21,098
    Country:
    Norway
    So you made an emuNAND after you downgraded mset? Or are you not using emuNAND? Or did you install the downgraded mset in emuNAND by mistake?
    You should only have it on sysNAND. You can find the original mset in the update packs on that ISO site.
    Edit: By the way, the easiest way to enter GW mode now is with autoboot menuhax + gw.3dsx, no need for mset anymore.
     
  10. Takanaka

    OP Takanaka Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    I installed it in the SysNAND, just the way it told me to in the manual, on Gateway's site (v3.2.1-New3DS.pdf).
     
  11. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye *is birb*
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    21,098
    Country:
    Norway
    One of those things must be true, so which is it?
     
  12. Takanaka

    OP Takanaka Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    I went into the Gateway Menu, then I did the NVRAM install. Then booted into the SysNAND, installed the mset_eur.cia, after that, I shut the N3DS off and turned it on. The mset exploit worked but the System Settings were forever changed.
     
  13. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye *is birb*
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    21,098
    Country:
    Norway
    Sounds like you don't have emuNAND set up.
     
  14. James310

    James310 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2015
    Messages:
    977
    Country:
    United States
    You downgraded the mset, the new 3ds settings won't be there since the new 3ds never made during 4.5 settings time
     
  15. Takanaka

    OP Takanaka Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    Thank you, Tony, Jdbye an James. I am sorry for troubling you guys. I am not too familiar with the terms but this basically means that there is nothing I can do, right?
     
  16. driverdis

    driverdis I am Justice
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    2,806
    Country:
    United States
    Somebody on that ISO site released a system settings 9.0 for SD card that you install as a CIA to the SD card instead NAND and has access to the super stable 3d settings and NNID settings. Install the CIA for it while in GW mode and you should be set.
     
  17. Takanaka

    OP Takanaka Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    Oh, thank you very much! Sorry for the late reply.

    Though, I am not sure what you mean, sorry. ^^
     
  18. CrispyYoshi

    CrispyYoshi GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,539
    Country:
    United States
    Isn't that the point of EmuNAND, though? Otherwise, FBI can install .cia files to the "SD" Card Destination.
     
  19. Takanaka

    OP Takanaka Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    I think I figured it out..also, I just got the joke.. FBI, CIA. Heh.
     
    CrispyYoshi likes this.
  20. Takanaka

    OP Takanaka Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    I think it failed. It said something like: "Failed....Description already exists. (102)"
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - installed, Settings, Settings