Hacking N3DS 8.1 with gateway, need hand holding

PatmanForrever

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Just scored a really nice deal on a Japanese N3DS with firmware 8.1 and a gateway card. I want to be able to use it in English, play my official carts, and maybe put GBA games on it. Any help is appreciated, I've never done anything with the 3DS before.

PatmanForrever

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Been reading through the guides and I feel as though I'm getting a good understanding of terms and why things work the way they do.

Is there a step by step for setting up a new console and new gateway from open box to booting from emunand somewhere?

reiyu

Canadian, eh?
Trophies
XP
Country
Canada
stay with gateway, rxtools n3ds sucks for now. if you're in o3DS, there's absolutely no reason to go gateway.

CrispyYoshi

Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Been reading through the guides and I feel as though I'm getting a good understanding of terms and why things work the way they do.

Is there a step by step for setting up a new console and new gateway from open box to booting from emunand somewhere?
One question: Do you have the web browser on your 8.1?

Tokiopop

Caffeine fiend
Trophies
XP
Country
Honestly I would update to 10.3 before 10.4 comes out and downgrade to 9.2 because it's a lot easier than trying to update to 9.2

But that's just me

reiyu

Canadian, eh?
Trophies
XP
Country
Canada
Honestly I would update to 10.3 before 10.4 comes out and downgrade to 9.2 because it's a lot easier than trying to update to 9.2

i agree with this. more doors to exploits is always good. i'm pretty sure one day rxTools will catch up or if not take over gateway.

zoogie

playing around in the end of life
Developer
Trophies
XP
Country
Micronesia, Federated States of
One question: Do you have the web browser on your 8.1?
new 3ds + 8.1 = no browser always.