N Card formatting directions

Discussion in 'Other Flashing Hardware & Software' started by deathfisaro, Jun 9, 2007.

Jun 9, 2007
  1. deathfisaro
    OP

    Member deathfisaro Narcistic Deathfisaro Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,053
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    So it appears LRAB+down quickformats and LRAB slowformats.
    When do I press the buttons though? Different people give different directions so is it
    1)
    A) Press them and turn on DS
    B) Turn on DS and press them
    C) Press them and launch Fireline
    D) Launch Fireline and press them

    2) Slot 2 Fireline inserted/removed? And connected/not connected to PC if inserted?
    3) Do I need it hooked up to charger for format/update to work?

    I never formatted NCard before, just ran .nds file updater and it updated. But DSLinker 1.39 seems to require formatting and I can't figure out how, with NCard 2 hours away from me. It's really hard to figure out how to format when you don't have it with you and someone else is asking you for directions that you've never done either.

    Theoretically pressing buttons and launching and launching and pressing things quickly shouldn't matter but tell me whichever has higher rate of success. I suppose slot2 fireline and charger shouldn't matter either.

    Hardware is Ncard, updated from Ncard 1.23 to DSLinker 1.39 and now "Error:Not format" status.
    Maybe I'll just buy another R4

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. wilsey

    Newcomer wilsey Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    doesnt matter if writer is in or not, but for the sake of argument take it out

    switch on your nds, quickly press all keys togeather, L,R,A,B and d-pad down, keep them pressed untill the screen switches to format, it will go to format screen instead of ncard menu
     
  3. deathfisaro
    OP

    Member deathfisaro Narcistic Deathfisaro Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,053
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    Wait I'm really confused, if I switch on my nds and press nothing it will go to DS main menu, not ncard gui. So which one is it?
     
  4. wilsey

    Newcomer wilsey Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hold and keep pressed as soon as you turn on your nds. holding the keys will select the NCARD from the nds menu
     
  5. deathfisaro
    OP

    Member deathfisaro Narcistic Deathfisaro Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,053
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    Finally figured out after 10 tries or so
    With Firelink connected to PC, it worked on first try.
    Man I was thinking "What's so hard about pressing 5 buttons?" The problem was actually somewhere else [​IMG]
     

Share This Page