MyMenufy 2.2 - Help! Black Screen... of death?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by bfandango, Jun 6, 2009.

Jun 6, 2009
  1. bfandango
    OP

    Newcomer bfandango Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm relatively new to all this and was trying to soup up my Wii tonight, apparently have bitten off more than I can chew.

    I softmodded my wii last week using bannerbomb on a 4.0 system and got the homebrew channel installed. WiiGator's backup loader is amazing! The Homebrew Browser is also pretty great, really saves a lot of time and lets you try out a bunch of the excellent homebrew work people are doing.

    Well. I saw a neato video of a guy with a spawn theme on his Wii and decided this should be the next thing to try, so I searched and found MyMenufy 2.2 and threw the DOL into my apps folder, then downloaded this awesome looking Death Note CSM and threw that on the SD card. Click-click, installed the CSM, returned to the homebrew channel and rebooted.

    Black screen.

    What do I do next? I'm getting the feeling I may have missed a semi-important step here.

    Thanks for any help you can offer me.

    - fandango
     


  2. triassic911

    Member triassic911 Burst Mode

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,743
    Location:
    NYC, USA
    Country:
    United States
    I think you installed a theme for an incorrect region.
     
  3. 2yugimoto

    Member 2yugimoto GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    417
    Location:
    Philidelphia
    Country:
    United States
    does your wii have preloader, boot mii or even turns on without a black screen?
     
  4. FirenXe

    Newcomer FirenXe Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Location:
    Kowloon, Hong Kong
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    Do you have preloader 0.29 installed?
     
  5. 2yugimoto

    Member 2yugimoto GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    417
    Location:
    Philidelphia
    Country:
    United States
    looks like you might have fully bricked your wii if you dont have a way to get to HBC
     
  6. triassic911

    Member triassic911 Burst Mode

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,743
    Location:
    NYC, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Try entering the homebrew channel through preloader and reinstalling preloader. Tell me if that fixes your issue.
     
  7. bfandango
    OP

    Newcomer bfandango Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Canada
    I'll post info here as I read and learn more.

    Looks like I was supposed to install SoftMii before putting on the CSM. Can anybody confirm, was that the error?

    When I did the softmod I installed HackMii which contained BootMii beta 2 (v0.9.) From what I read about BootMii, I should be able to get the wii to skip the system menu and go right to the homebrew channel. Maybe if I can get in there I can restore the out-of-the-box APP file for the system menu, or install SoftMii?

    Thanks for any help you can provide.

    - fandango
     
  8. 2yugimoto

    Member 2yugimoto GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    417
    Location:
    Philidelphia
    Country:
    United States
    first of all you should be following a guide if your doing softmii and make sure not to skip any steps ,
    and second if you do not have preloader or boot mii INSTALLED then you might of lost your wii
     
  9. bfandango
    OP

    Newcomer bfandango Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Canada
    On second look I don't think I have BootMii, I might have skipped that step during the HackMii install [​IMG] Had no idea what it was at the time, and this guide told me to skip it so I did. Ah, the benefits of experience.

    When I hit the power bar I get a little flash and an instant black screen. So, probably bricked.

    Well, I could always try the SaveMii, and if not hey I've probably been playing too many video games since I got this working anyhow. [​IMG] Please let me know if there are any other options, but otherwise thanks for your help guys.

    - fandango

    -> I'll probably email the guy who wrote the guide I used and suggest he not instruct people to leave out the BootMii install... seems like it would have kind of saved my bacon here.
     
  10. FirenXe

    Newcomer FirenXe Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Location:
    Kowloon, Hong Kong
    Country:
    Hong Kong

    Maybe you installed BootMii as IOS....... which is useless if u can't load Homebrew Channel..
     
  11. 2yugimoto

    Member 2yugimoto GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    417
    Location:
    Philidelphia
    Country:
    United States
    but preloader 0.29 is a must becausse every 1 can install it but not all can install bootmii as boot2 , as i on the othere hand installled it successfully
     
  12. WiiBlaster

    Member WiiBlaster GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,189
    Country:
    United States
    Any guide that recommends you not installing Bootmii when you can, I recommend Staying has far away from that guide has possible. Just my two cents
     
  13. bfandango
    OP

    Newcomer bfandango Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Canada
    Agree, it really seems like this problem could have been avoided that way. Caveat Emptor though, I can't really complain as I could have done way more research before I dove into this.
     
  14. muck chucker

    Member muck chucker GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    United States
    check if you have preloader press the on button on the wii and press and hold the reset button in straight after see if anything comes up
     
  15. icefireicefire

    Member icefireicefire GBATemp Fails.

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    961
    Country:
    United States
    just get a savemiifrii and put in a disc with a new update on it (newer than wath was installed). that will fix you (if you are on 4.0 just wait for 4,1)

    READ THE FUCKING WIKI AND INTSALL PRELOADER NEXT TIME!
     
  16. bfandango
    OP

    Newcomer bfandango Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks for the advice icefireicefire.

    When i turn on the Wii I do get one blink of the drive LED. Does that mean I installed BootMii? If so, has anybody got a copy of armboot.bin and ppcboot.elf?
     
  17. WiiThoko

    Member WiiThoko GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    353
    Country:
    United States
    I'm pretty sure that's right, but if bootmii is installed, those files should already be on your SD card...
     
  18. UranusKiller

    Member UranusKiller TranceMaster

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    951
    Location:
    Redcar, England, UK.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    nice and clear, still those stupid people won't ever learn.
    For a start how can one not remember installing bootmii ?
     
  19. supagusti

    Member supagusti GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    287
    Country:
    Austria
    [​IMG] ....agree!
     
  20. bfandango
    OP

    Newcomer bfandango Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Canada
    I did clear the card at one point so I might have deleted the files. This is a 1% chance but I figured I'd give it a try - anybody got the files handy?

    Thanks.
     

Share This Page