My XenoPS chip can´t read Ps1 games

Discussion in 'Sony PlayStation 1 & 2' started by KirbyPink, Nov 16, 2010.

Nov 16, 2010
  1. KirbyPink
    OP

    Member KirbyPink GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Messages:
    391
    Location:
    Gbatemp
    Country:
    Sweden
    Right, i have a Ps2. It has the XenoPS chip installed on it. It can read Ps2 games, burned ones,just fine.
    A normal Ps2 is a no-no. Yes, a original Ps2 DVD it can not read. I even tried the same DVD.
    Ive read that it can play Ps1 games. So i download Resident Evil 2 CD 2, run it trough ePSXe and Psxfin. Works just fine, no error at all.
    Start burnining it on IMGburn with no issues. Then i read it trough the EMU again, instead of ISO file i read it from the CD.
    Works fine , no error.

    So, i insert a Ps2 burned DVD into the Ps2. Run it and it plays. I turn it off and insert the Ps1 CD.
    And.....! Nothing.

    Huh.

    I go into the memory card section and is greeted by:
    This CD can not be read.

    I go over to my friend who has a chipped Ps1 console.
    Put it in.
    And....! Works.

    Okay.

    The cd works fine. The ps2 can not read it.
    Do i need to uptade the Ps2? Is XenoPS not compatible with some Ps1 games? Do i need to hold a button? What am i doing wrong?
     
  2. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Does the game work from your burned disc in the emulators? Many ps1 games had pretty good copy protection and i don't know if any burner with any burning software burns the protection correctly on disc.

    Also, does it read ps2 CD game backups?

    Does it have a funtion to disable the chip? Something like hold reset for 3 seconds on boot. Did you try that?
     
  3. MFDC12

    Member MFDC12 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    761
    Country:
    United States
    my chipped ps2 will only play ps1 games if i set my drive to debug mode (it is somewhere in the options, i cant remember where but you need to press triangle somewhere and switch it). maybe that will work?
     
  4. KirbyPink
    OP

    Member KirbyPink GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Messages:
    391
    Location:
    Gbatemp
    Country:
    Sweden
    Yes, the burned CD works fine on Emulator like i said.

    By Ps2 CD game, you mean burn a Ps2 game on a CD?
    That i don't know. Ive had trouble finding any information about the chip at all.
     
  5. dilav

    Member dilav GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,225
    Country:
    United States
    If I remember correct it was a MI clone, I installed one of those and it had problems, maybe a bad chip tho. Does Triangle + Circle bring up a menu, maybe you can change some settings? Also maybe the SX wire is not soldered correctly.
     

Share This Page