1. NiGHtS

    OP NiGHtS GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    803
    Country:
    So here's the story.

    Brand New 360 Elite which I bought yesterday. But I can't display HD 1080i in it. But I can display 480p...

    I have a Samsung TV which is 1080i READY. So I really don't know what the problem is...
     
  2. Salamantis

    Salamantis GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,945
    Country:
    Canada
    What cable are you using? I'm pretty sure you'd need HDMI for that, like I have.
     
  3. noONE

    noONE ~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    968
    Country:
    Sweden
    I'd recommend 720p over 1080i, as you don't see that much of a difference at the resolution (if your TV ain't bigger than 42" or you're sitting very close to it)
    but you may notice a difference between progressive (p) and interlaced (i) video (and ofcourse progressive scan is much better)..
     
  4. sudeki300

    sudeki300 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Messages:
    566
    Country:
    go for 720p unless you want to pay out for extra cables...............sudeki300
     
  5. Rehehelly

    Rehehelly GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    219
    Country:
    720p is good enough= unless your TV is huge. All it does it scale up as most games are 720p.
     
  6. kristijan08

    kristijan08 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    373
    Country:
    yeah 720P > 1080i as has been mentioned before. unless your TV is massive then you won't even notice the difference!
     
  7. MC DUI

    MC DUI GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,916
    Country:
    What model TV do you have? 1080i ready can mean that the TV can accept a 1080i signal, but it may simply downgrade it to a SD resolution.
     
  8. 754boy

    754boy :D
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3,469
    Country:
    United States
    You don't don't have to pay for extra cables. The elite comes with HDMI. Mine is running at full 1080p, no problems.
     
  9. NiGHtS

    OP NiGHtS GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    803
    Country:
    sorry for the trouble guys. turns out i was mis sold this tv buy currys. Its Samsung SP42Q2 and it only supports 420p! I cant do anything since i bought it about 4 years ago...lol...well so much for 1080i ready...[​IMG]
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - display, 1080i,