My Xbox 360 won't let me display 1080i...

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Games & Content' started by NiGHtS, Oct 19, 2008.

Oct 19, 2008
  1. NiGHtS
    OP

    Member NiGHtS GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    803
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So here's the story.

    Brand New 360 Elite which I bought yesterday. But I can't display HD 1080i in it. But I can display 480p...

    I have a Samsung TV which is 1080i READY. So I really don't know what the problem is...
     
  2. Salamantis

    Member Salamantis GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,945
    Country:
    Canada
    What cable are you using? I'm pretty sure you'd need HDMI for that, like I have.
     
  3. noONE

    Member noONE ~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    Linköping/Norrköping, Sweden.
    Country:
    Sweden
    I'd recommend 720p over 1080i, as you don't see that much of a difference at the resolution (if your TV ain't bigger than 42" or you're sitting very close to it)
    but you may notice a difference between progressive (p) and interlaced (i) video (and ofcourse progressive scan is much better)..
     
  4. sudeki300

    Member sudeki300 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Messages:
    490
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    go for 720p unless you want to pay out for extra cables...............sudeki300
     
  5. Rehehelly

    Member Rehehelly GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    219
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    720p is good enough= unless your TV is huge. All it does it scale up as most games are 720p.
     
  6. kristijan08

    Member kristijan08 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    373
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    yeah 720P > 1080i as has been mentioned before. unless your TV is massive then you won't even notice the difference!
     
  7. MC DUI

    Member MC DUI GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,916
    Location:
    Newcastle, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    What model TV do you have? 1080i ready can mean that the TV can accept a 1080i signal, but it may simply downgrade it to a SD resolution.
     
  8. 754boy

    Banned 754boy :D

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3,469
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Country:
    United States
    You don't don't have to pay for extra cables. The elite comes with HDMI. Mine is running at full 1080p, no problems.
     
  9. NiGHtS
    OP

    Member NiGHtS GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    803
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    sorry for the trouble guys. turns out i was mis sold this tv buy currys. Its Samsung SP42Q2 and it only supports 420p! I cant do anything since i bought it about 4 years ago...lol...well so much for 1080i ready...[​IMG]
     

Share This Page